We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Gourmet

Le Gourmet
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Gargas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $87 - $147
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: vous connaissez déjà le restaurant "le bistrot" j'aimerais commenter l'autre restaurant - le gourmet
RI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was a special treat and another recommendation from the folks who owned our place in Joucas. It's part of a hotel and is considered their gourmet restaurant. Several tasting menus to chose from. We chose the one with 3 appetizers, 2 entrees, and 3 desserts. Every item was perfect from a delicious beet app (1 of the 3); lamb prepared 3 ways (1 of the entrees) and a lemon verbena ice cream (1 of the desserts) that was outstanding. After dinner we were invited to tour the wine cellar, see the kitchen, and speak with the chef. One of the best meals we've had in a long time. We usually don't eat this way, so we were stuffed at the end. But worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikalecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    30
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the mid-priced menu degustation at 78 Euros. It was worth it. Thoroughly professional service, properly spaced tables, and a much more fairly priced wine list than the Chateau Eza where we had dined the night before. Lovely gougere with our drinks on the wide open terrace with a beautiful view of the valley. Three entrees each -- courgettes, salmon, (and I can't remember the third). Two mains: perfectly cooked filet of bar and a rosy roast lamb. Two desserts -- profiteroles-like balls with caramel and that gold ribbon of sugar, and a chocolate bombe. Really good, all around. The chef does like his foam, which he seemed to manufacture from most of the main ingredients in the three entrees -- but no matter; it tasted just fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wbf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucluse
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“restaurant good, service also, but it becomes a small disneyland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

as usual dinner good, beautiful view on Saignon and the surroundings but...we came two times with 7 days in between and...the menu was nearly the same! this makes it for people living here not so good!...fully booked, the service stays good also with so many people, but it becomes a little bit a small disney land! surely if you pass at the new terrace near the bistro, ''megolomane'' and what I have said before, thrown in a lot of furniture without any taste!....and the gerant who passes at every table is completely rediculous! if it was the chef, ok, but what to say to this man! It is 2014! not 1975...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrwunderli, Directeur général at Le Gourmet, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment and loyalty. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal at “Le Gourmet”. Our Chef changes the menu every day during the season so that our guests (some of our guests stay at the hotel for several days) can benefit from the best diversity we can provide them. However, since our Chef cooks only fresh, seasonal, local products, mainly organic and partly from our own garden (no strawberry at La Coquillade in December!) you can find the same vegetables in our daily menus depending on what our producers can deliver. We depend on Nature! Sorry that you did not like the decoration of our new Bistrot… that’s a matter of taste. Some other guests love it and are also absolutely delighted when the Director passes to their table… again a matter of taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food was excellent, the view is beautiful, the service was good and we had a fantastic experience..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrwunderli, Directeur général at Le Gourmet, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your comment. We hope to see you again at La Coquillade soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hit and miss, expected better from a Michelin star.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

After discovering there was a Michelin starred restaurant in the area I was eager to visit. I was surprised to be able to book a table for Saturday night on the day when all the top restaurants in the surrounding villages (Saignon, Caseneuve etc) were all fully booked well in advance. Feeling lucky, and having had my booking accepted for 7pm we arrived only to be told the restaurant doesn't open until 7:30. Alright, so we were ushered to the adjacent terraced bar which was I have to say, lovely. With cocktails averaging 15 - 18 euros each we decided to order a couple of house rosés, a medium bodied sweet little number with a dry finish, not bad. We were given a table different to the veranda edge one we had asked for earlier, less desirable as it overlooked the car park below but were happy to be seated at this stage so didn't mind too much. The prix fixe menu we chose offered 3 entrees, a main course and a "trilogy" of desserts. The pre-entree was a shot glass of blended courgette with a straw, the accompanying cereal bread being more memorable. The first entree I'm sorry to say resembled a small bowl of frothy saliva with an accompanying crispy vegetable, the taste of this dish was instantly forgettable. My wife asked for a different 2nd entree as she unfortunately doesn't eat salmon and so was served...3 more vegetable blended juices! I had the salmon which was a touch too soggy for my liking but was enjoying the aforementioned bread so much my palette gave way to volume. So far our liquid heavy starters were firmly in the bland. After a waiter unceremoniously mixed my house rosé with wine from another bottle I'd chosen, we were onto our main courses. These I must say were pretty good, lamb and beef limousine respectively, cooked for just the right length of time for a medium rare, served with an assortment of...more courgettes!(and other legumes presented in a kind of vegetable club sandwich). There really ought to be less fat served on lamb at a Michelin starred restaurant but nevertheless I was quite enjoying this dish. B+ I'd say, further points knocked off for slightly too high salt content in the sauce. The desserts were where this restaurant really came into it's own: profiteroles glazed in a delicious caramel sauce served with an edible gold ribbon-like confection, quite scrumptious. The second was a heavenly coterie of assorted white chocolate. The third wasn't really a dish at all more a couple of small biscuits/sweets served with your coffee of choice. The service was good and attentive, but no more. Overall 3 stars as the starters weren't at all up to par for a Michelin star. For 230 euros + for a couple and a child's menu with half a bottle of wine you expect outstanding all round and this regrettably was not, it pales in comparison to say Galvin at Windows or Le Gavroche in London. I would have been disappointed were the evening not just about rescued by the desserts. I'm willing to assume I caught the chef on an uninspired day. Lovely grounds, though...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlyfoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Le Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing