We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Provence”
Review of Coquillade Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coquillade Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gargas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed for two nights at La Coquillade during a five day stay in Provence. (Unfortunatly we elected to stay at Les Borries for two of the five nights which was much a disappointment) . The site is entrancing. Everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming and the facilities are first rate all the way. Our room had its own patio. We had a suite with a living room, outdoor area and spacious bathroom. The two meals that we had at the restaurant were superb. The owner came over to see how we were doing. The maitre'd was so charming. The first night we had an amazing dinner ....after a starter of an amazing beet and salmon offering from the kitchen we had as our first course an assortment of three appetizers including fois gras, followed by a delectable guinea hen in a salt crust and then cheese and dessert.. For 57 E it was a tremendous meal... The second might we expected that the restaurant might not live up to our expectations. We were not disappointed.We sat on the patio overlooking the Provence landscape. We had two warm evenings to enjoy the landscape and the food. (The dining room is beautiful so if we had been i not think we would have been disappointed) But of you go please try to be there on a Wednesday morning for the wine tour. Although we feared we might get rain the day the tour was scheduled we were lucky. We gathered at the meeting spot to meet Pierre. It was a story book tour. We love wine and grow grapes so we have been on many many wine tours in California, New Zealand, Argentina etc... This far surpassed any of those. For two hours we walked the property, exploring the hills and the vines with someone who was as enthusiastic as a child in a candy store. Pierre alternated between French and English easily.. We ended up at the winery which is on the site tasting the wines. We explored the vines but also the countryside. This aspect also distinguished this site. There are many walks and bicycle rides which you can do in the Luberon. Unlike any other hotel we have stayed at in provence we were presented with a walking map as we checked in . Next time I will bring my sneakers.
There is no doubt that we will return to this hotel and restaurant. Our only hope is that it maintains the same spirit and welcome as we experienced....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 583 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

Overall a lovely place to stay, set in its own vineyards and with a cycling centre, large swimming pool and lots of hills for the energetic. The restaurant caters for serious diners with large budgets - food very good, wine list extensive but over priced. Poolside snacks really second rate. Staff mainly very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardreynolds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We did not stay at the hotel. Having been in the Luberon for 10 days, we came across this hotel / restaurant on the ipod Michelin guide and, having read a little about it on their website, decided to take a chance and book lunch. That was the best decision of our holiday so far. For 39 Euro you get an absolutely superb three course meal and for 16 Euro 37.5cl of their own wine (grown around the hotel). The staff are helpful, the veranda has an excellent view of the area and everything is clean, tidy and well maintained. I especially loved the taps in the rest rooms! I don't think they have a Michelin star but both the food and service deserve one.

The total bill was 121 Euro with coffee, wine, soft drinks and water (the only thing you should avoid at 7 Euro). Having paid 119 Euro the night before for an average meal in a reputable Bonnieux establishment I would eat here every time.

Don't be put off Bonnieux though, it's a lovely village and L'Arome is well worth a visit (we ate there three times) and the Pork and Fillet steak dishes are fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuwJxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had lunch in the Michelin starred Gourmet restaurant and spend the afternoon at La Coquillade. First I would like to mention that the setting, design, and service of this place are an absolute benchmark. The lunch was perfectly served, original, tasty and light based on local and seasonal products, for a very attractive price. After lunch we visited their winery Aureto, which was very impressive, I have never seen such a clean and high-tech winery. We had a wonderful time, and I would therefore like to thank M.Wunderli and his team.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

As I did in my recent review of the Hotel de Vigniamont, let me first set the scene!
My wife is French, but lived in London for 26 years before moving to Spain. However, neither her heart nor her soul have ever left Provence, nor will it ever; so there we were, spending Christmas 2010 at la Coquillade, and so much looking forward to it!
La Coquillade is a Relais & Chateaux hotel which means it does not come cheap! However, we took advantage of a great winter deal that was offered to us by Carmen and Werner Wunderli; so, in terms of value for money, it was absolutely superb. I am not sure I would have been equally impressed if we had had to pay the €360 per night mentioned in an earlier review!! Suffice to say that we paid much less than half that rate.
However, a word of caution to the Wunderli's. The rack rate for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day went up considerably, which probably accounted for the fact that the hotel was nearly empty. The special dinner on Christmas Eve was well attended, and the Christmas Day lunch (same menu) was apparently full to the brim (we had Christmas Eve dinner and went sightseeing on Christmas Day). Perhaps a more sensible approach would be to price your festive food high (which they did, but still excellent value) and persuade your diners to stay overnight by reducing, not increasing, the accommodation rate!
However, I digress. We were booked into a junior suite which was impressive. As I am sure that most readers of this review will realise, a junior suite in most hotels can mean a largish room with the addition of a table, a couple of easy chairs and a settee if you are lucky. And in London you are often not lucky!!
Not so at la Coquillade. The bedroom was a very good size, very comfortable bed with super quality bed linen. From the bedroom there was a tasteful passageway, with the bathroom off to the right (with a shower to die for), then leading on to a separate sitting room which, apart from the comfortable furnishings, had a fridge and a splendid selection of teas to choose from, plus a cafetière for those preferring a cup of coffee.
For those interested, there were wide screen televisions in both the bedroom and the sitting room, but, frankly, apart from watching the occasional news programme while getting ready in the morning, TV on holiday is of no importance to us!
The views over the vineyards, the Luberon and Mont Ventoux are superb, and I can only imagine how much more beautiful they would be in Spring and Autumn. The Mistral kept us in woollies, warm coats and gloves throughout our stay, but, by the time we had reached this leg of our holiday, the rain had stopped, so it was great.
All the accommodation at the Coquillade is away from the main hotel building, but this does not in any way detract from the ambiance or the service it offers. The main hotel building houses the reception area, their two restaurants and a very splendid bar/lounge. Before dinner each evening we sat with an aperatif in front of a blazing log fire - genuine, wooden logs, I should add, and not one of the gas fired imitations!
The hotel is situated away from the main road and the surrounding small towns and villages, so we ate dinner at the hotel each evening and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the dining room staff were friendly, attentive, but not over the top. Perhaps the best service came from the guy who seemed to do everything, from attending on reception, to parking up cars, helping with cases, taking coffee orders in the morning and frankly, never seeming to be off duty. I could give myself a good telling off for forgetting his name, but I am sure that Carmen and Werner will know exactly who I am talking about should they read Tripadvisor reviews.
To sum it up, our visit was every bit as good as we had hoped for. We had a superbly comfortable and relaxed Christmas, pampered from the time we arrived to the time we left; so, if you go, just enjoy being pampered before getting back to the harsh reality of everyday living.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EuropeBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The hotel is plainly outstanding
- rooms are flawless with great materials and design. Stereo for your ipod, dvd- player with movie library in reception for a rainy day, free nespresso coffe.
- the pool is great with amazing views of luberon landscape
- food is impeccable, close enough to michelin standards but half the price. Great bistro for more affordable lunches
- possibility to rent great bikes at the hotel
- they have organised walk around their vineyards which you can do yourself. We went barefoot in the evening and it was just like had dreamed of
- close to Arles, but that town is not so special to be honest.
- the staff is outstanding, service and warmth is one of the highest we have experienced
- occitane products in your bathroom
- free wifi in room

Go there!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Bjorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Service people were great. Food was nice. Not *** but in two dinners and a lunch, we had some really special dishes. A terrific breakfast also. Rooms were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanCigogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargas
4.3 mi away
Le Domaine des Andeols
Le Domaine des Andeols
#1 of 2 in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
261 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
8.2 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
284 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#8 of 24 in Gordes
498 reviews
4.1 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquillade Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquillade Village

Address: Hameau de la Coquillade | Le Perrotet, 84400 Gargas, Apt, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Apt > Gargas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gargas
Price Range: $196 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coquillade Village 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coquillade Village, Hotel Relais & Chateaux, Gastronomy, Spa, Vineyard, Cycling. Situated in the Natural Park of the Luberon in Provence, near Gordes and Roussillon, our domain will offer you a unique experience. Exceptional rooms and suites, 3 restaurants (Gourmet, Bistrot and Ristorante), a luxury 1500 m2 Coquillade Spa, wine-tourism activities, and a unique BMC cycling center. For an unforgettable stay and total bliss... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Coquillade Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Coquillade - Demeure De Prestige Hotel Gargas
Coquillade Village Gargas, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing