We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute highlight”
Review of Sunayama Beach

Sunayama Beach
Ranked #4 of 135 things to do in Miyakojima
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Absolute highlight”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This beach is beyond beautiful! The fine sand, clear waters and beautiful rock formations adding to its landscape. Be warned, as the name suggests, the entrance to this beach is a mountain of sand. you have to walk uphill before being greeted by the majestic view at the "peak". We spend an hour soaking in the clear waters. Small groups of tourists here and there but not overwhelming or crowded. Some areas in the water is deceivingly shallow but can reach up to chest level. Be very careful if you cannot swim. With the unique rock formations in the water, it creates pockets of water which is shielded from the open waters and is pretty safe to take a dip in. Toilet and shower facilities are available. A small truck selling drinks and ice-cream parks in front of the carpark. Please be informed that it would be best to have a rental car to get around the island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Simplyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    257
    82
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Tiny beach, enormous peace”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The smallest beach I went to on Miyakojima, Sunayama is ideal for couples looking to while away the entire afternoon with nothing more than each other's company. I enjoyed the slightly steep, uphill trek (slope + sand = good workout) from the car park to the beachfront. The slope made for some awesome photos, especially since it was a downhill sand dune towards the sea. Lovely little place for a sunset.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The most fun we had in Miyako!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This beach is tiny and not particularly impressive, but it's where we had the most fun! The rock formatations are beautiful as is the sand dune you have to walk over to get here.

There is a rental shop for beach items but was closed on the day we came here. Most of the time, there were hardly any other people on the beach, so it felt like our own private beach! The sand is coarser here compared to Maehama beach, and the waves are huge as is crashes into the rocks. Not great for swiiming as the sea is rough, but this is where we sat on the sand bed and waited for waves to crash into us and take us to shore!

It was very overcast when we arrived and didn't look like a great beach, but when the sun eventually came out, it was a whole different story - what a beautiful sight!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulula17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful & quiet beach! Paradise.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This beach is small and picturesque, a perfect photo opportunity and great snorkeling. We were there in the middle of August and it wasn't busy at all. A must see on Miyakojima.

Bring your own snorkeling gear because the booth that rents it doesn't open until 10am and it costs about ¥1000/item! AND you have to rent the beach table and chairs- it added up to ¥6000 pretty fast!

Definitely worth the trip up island!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank msjadelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A small beach with excellent views”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

It is a very small beach, but it has beautiful views from the top of the sand dune. There are beach umbrellas and other water activity rentals. We saw an amazing sunset there! I liked this beach more than Yonaha-Maehama beach, because it had a very intimate feeling and mush less people there. Too bad we didn't try snorkeling there. I bet it would have been even more fun. However we did see these sandy white color fish (all white with little bit of black dots) which were quiet cool. Those fish became a bit creepy later, because they would follow you around, surround you and get really close to you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCFairchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunayama Beach also viewed

Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Sunayama Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing