We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many visits over many years”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Rainbow Hotel
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The rainbow offers very clean rooms, ice cold A/Cs, and a great staff. The cable is minimal and the wi-fi is expensive due to the fact the Telcom co charges by dwnld. vol not time. I didn't even bother with it on my last visit. Food is pretty good, the pizza is the best.

I never had a problem with the hot water or bugs. Yes there are alot of geckos but we are on a tropical island.

Not much to do at night so i can say that is a drawback. There is a store at the bottom of the hill, 2 min walk. I usually get snacks and rum there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was ok. The sheets were dirty, and thin. The air conditioner was difficult to work and smelled. There were dead cockroaches all over the room and resturant. The hot water was non existant for the three days I stayed there. The TV had no remote. The hallway leading to the room was like something from a horror movie. Obviously there was no internet in the room.. I know that the people there try very hard, but I think that a little extra effort in cleaning the rooms and removing the dead bugs would have gone a long way.

Pros
Cable Tv
Internet in lobby
The Japanese Breakfast was good.
The staff was friendly
Quiet
Decent menu at resturant

Cons
Lack of water pressure and hot water
Bugs
No personality.

Overall this would not be my first choice when traveling to Pohenpei again, but in a pinch I would stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at the Cliff Rainbow hotel in Kolonia while on TDY to Pohnpei. Bottom line - it's primitive but on a par for this part of the world, short of a resort. Not easy to find unless you know the area - no sign out on the street. Located in a quiet, residential area. Ask directions at the airport. Room was clean and adequate, and had AC. A little musty though and don't be surprised by the geckos everywhere! Very small TV, but worked. Wifi internet available, but it is very slow. Some of your apps may not work. Decent restaurant on-site, good breakfasts, especially. You can also rent a car from the hotel office, and these are relatively new, clean and serviceable. Good location if you have business with the Pohnpei State or FSM federal government. No amenities. No pool, spa or gym.

Room Tip: main building, 2d floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rooms are nice sized, have great air conditioning, and have hot water (a plus!) and power! The hotel is fairly close to the town so it is pretty convenient. If you are driving, the roads can be a little confusing as nothing is marked and there are a number of dogs and people walking in the middle of the road - drive slowly and also avoid the potholes.

Lower your standards when staying at any hotel in Micronesia - sheets will smell clean but have some stains as well. Towels are spotless - a plus, but the showers have cracks and rust stains in the tub which don't look nice at all. The cracks may also let in some bugs -- found several roaches in the room, but bring along a slipper to kill them and again, just lower your standards if you expect these hotels to be even a one star at US standards.

Rooms have a small TV, bedside lamps and nightstand, and a small table with two chairs. There is also a refrigerator in the room and GREAT A/C unit on the wall. The air vents blow directly onto the bed however, so that may be good or bad depending on what you prefer. There is a coffee maker in the room, but no coffee is provided nor any mugs or takeout cups. You can make hot water, but I always travel with my instant Starbucks -- which is good enough if you only take your coffee black.

Two bars of soap were provided - more than most hotels in Micronesia - so bring your own amenities like shampoo, soap, shower cap if needed. Little wash cloths are also not provided so keep that in mind for bathing.

Food is good at the hotel - they say breakfast starts at 6 am but we've waited a couple of days and someone might show up around 6:45 - 7am. Don't get upset - this is just the way it is on island! Pancakes, fried rice, and fresh fruit were great at the hotel. Fruit was papaya or melon - about $4.25. Fried rice was $6.50 and tasty. No wheat toast or brown rice -- all white only! They have a great cappuchino/espresso machine that takes a few minutes to get going - roughly $3.25 per drink and you can get it hot or cold, and these always come in a takeout cup.The tuna omelet was also very tasty at $7 for breakfast - comes with white rice or white toast.

Internet access is not free unless you sit in the lobby. If you want access from your room, buy their $20 phone card to be able to get access to their local internet provider. Just logoff from the service when you are not using it so as to save the mb/minute usage.

Parking is free and easy at the hotel. Expect to see a lot of dogs roaming around not just at the hotel, but on the island. Drive slowly on the island - lots of folks walk the sides of the roads or cars swerve a lot to avoid the numerous potholes - again, this is just the way it is.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank rainb0wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Cliff Rainbow hotel is a top choice among Kolonia's small hotel market. Its first impressions are not particularly positive. Many of its rooms seem unused, and give a sense that the place has seen better days. But I have stayed here two times now, and have slowly warmed to it. Rooms are equipped with good AC, and free internet and cable TV, although the latter are very small TVs. It was convenient to rent a car from the hotel, and they let me leave it at the airport when I departed. Airport pick-up upon arrival was also very easy. The hotel's restaurant is reasonable. Let me single out their pizzas. In my opinion, there are no pizzas this good in all of the Pacific Islands region, and have maintained their quality over the past year since I last stayed here. Obviously a personal judgement, any your judgement may vary.

Staff are friendly.

These positives said, let's be clear that Kolonia does not have many choices. The Cliff Rainbow is one choice out of very few. It is not a fabulous hotel with elegant appointments, but a functional hotel that is "fine". Their pizza's are an unexpected bright spot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuvaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent 5 days in this hotel which was recommended by a dear friend. The owners are very friendly and the hotel offers a variety of services including island tours, airport pick up (complimentary), scuba diving tours, etc. From the hotel you have amazing views of the Sokehs rock. What you lose for not being exactly in the Kolonia city center, you gain 1000X with serenity and natural beauty. I have visited most countries in the Micronesia area and this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in. Keep in mind that in this part of the globe you won't find most hotel chains and that almost every property is a family business.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dulcinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

You really don't have many choices if you want to be close to the main town area and if you are on business travel. I hear there are some good hotel like 'the Village' which is fantastic if you are on holiday. This is very basic hotel and looks bit old, probably no proper attention made on maintenance and making it attractive even from outside. Rooms are okay with big beds, so of cousre good for family. Bathroom aminity limited to a soap only. Room has a TV, coffe maker (but no coffee suply), frezee with no mini bar etc. Though, I liked the lighting of the room as I needed it for work. The restaurant is just okay with limited choice of food and I had to repeat same menu knowing I am not eating all types of meat items. Not good location if you want to walk around and find other redstaurants. However, you can have a taxi for $1 per person to take you to other restaurants and town etc.

Staff are nice though and friendly. In general okay with given price range (95 $).

Room Tip: Nothing that make sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Rainbow Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 96, Kolonia, Pohnpei 96941-0096, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Pohnpei > Kolonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kolonia
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Cliff Rainbow Hotel Pohnpei/Kolonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing