We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid & Luxury Camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wolfkop Camping Villages
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid & Luxury Camping”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is surely a hidden gem of the Cederberg, nestled next to the mighty Olifants river, this is a great place to relax and have a good time with family or friends. Tents are well kitted & bathrooms nice & clean. I'd recommend this for anyone who wants a weekend away without packing a thing. Just buy food & rock-up.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nungerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is such a great place especially when its hot and you can just lie on a lilo in the river all day, swim, relax and enjoy spending time with special people. I've been to Wolfkop Camping Villages twice and stayed in one of the caravans, and loved it both times. Such a chilled vibe especially with a group of mates!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My first encounter with Wolfkop was for the purpose of an end year function which I had to pick but could not attend.

When planning a trip for our 4 year anniversary Wolfkop came up as a must, the fact that everything is provided makes the whole camping idea easy and fun plus you don't have the hassles of packing everything up again. Let me make it clear that you are provided with all the needed items such as beds with blankets and pillows, coffee and tea, fridge, microwave, cutlery, pots and pans etc.

Simple things impressed me such as a complimentary canoe (normally extra daily charge) for the weekend being thrown in which meant we enjoyed time on the beautiful river and all the facilities available. The view of the mountains and landscape in the morning truly takes your breath away.

Already planning our next trip to Wolfkop. Thank you Werner and your team

Rico

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've spent two wonderful weekends at Wolfkop! Both are filled with very happy memories and were a fantastic experience. The camp site is beautiful, it's situated right on the edge of the river (perfect for all day swimming) and surrounded by mountains. The accommodation is top quality, it's so good you hardly feel like you're camping. I went with a large group of friends and we hired out the whole space which I can recommend for a special birthday weekend or other event. It's very private and intimate without ever feeling like you're in each others space. There are many activities to do (hiking, mountain biking, swimming, canoeing, lazing on the lilo, etc.), a large braai area with hammocks set up in the trees, bathrooms and a kitchen. It lends itself to the perfect weekend away with friends or if you're just looking for a quiet getaway. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful and I really appreciated how much care has gone into creating a great space. I am going back next month!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

You really feel like you are out of the city, surrounded by majestic mountains, crystal clear clean river pool for floating around on lilos, feeling life's stress drain out of your shoulders. Great place for a relaxed social event with a big group of family&friends, convenient, safe and so many outdoor activities! Hiking, trail running, mountain biking, bird-watching, swimming in the river, paddling in the boat, or just lying on a lilo reading a book, or catching up with friends around the braai. Its got it all!

Room Tip: The dome tent under a Bedouin tent concept is incredibly comfortable and stylish! They even put rose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want to visit a spot that exceptionally beautiful and close enough to CT for a weekend away - this is your spot! Its simple, well organised and really good looking. The river is literally on the property so when we visit the camping site in summer u will spend a fair amount of your time lounging in the river and on the grass of the river banks.
Would definitely recommend this camping spot for families, friends or a romantic get away :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomyChev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

So much care has been put into a unique experience amidst the most awesome natural beauty. I left inspired and will definitely go back. Apparently it is brilliant to visit the area at the end of August as the flowers are in bloom

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gveadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
11.3 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
8.1 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
134 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Wolfkop Guest House
Wolfkop Guest House
#8 of 21 in Citrusdal
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
46 reviews
12.1 mi away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#2 of 7 in Citrusdal
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfkop Camping Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfkop Camping Villages

Property: Wolfkop Camping Villages
Address: Grootfontein Farm, Keerom Rd, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you think that having no tent should stop you from actually going camping, think again. This is longer the case with the arrival of Wolfkop Camping Villages. The hassle and logistics of a camping weekend in the Citrusdal Valley is now a thing of the past. The slogan, "You only bring food and clothes," shakes up any preconceived idea you have about camping - leaking tents, missing poles and pegs.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Wolfkop Camping Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing