We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Citrusdal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fantastic midweek break, stunning views, Chalets have excellent finishes are well maintained and the linen was great. such a peaceful place to relax, pools are great, restaurant and food was fantastic, with great value for money. there are also fun activities at the resort, zip lining, Hiking and paint ball.
all in all an awesome week

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Piekenierskloof. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 232 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is built on the side of a mountain. It overlooks the town of citrusdal.

Rooms are spacious and comfy, the staff are friendly and efficient. There is also an indoor and outdoor pool that kept the kids entertained all day.

I found the restaurant a great suprise. The food is fresh and tasty. They haven't made the mistake of big menu where all the food is mediocre. They have a small menu but the food is fresh and cooked well.

I would highly recommend this spot to anyone. Really doesn't have any drawbacks......

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Cautiousglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Piekenierskloof. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hi All,

Where to start ?! well we took a chance and all I can say is SHOT ! this place is simply stunning. From the moment we arrived GET YA FREE WELCOME DRINK! to the moment we left CHECKOUT AT 10am BUT!!! WE ASKED IF WE COULD LEAVE LATER AND THEY MANAGER HAPPILY ALLOWED US TO STAY TILL 3pm !!! its been nothing but fun,sun,happiness,love, kindness and many more memories! We arrived I was shown 3 different rooms to choose from to suit the comfort of the 4 of us staying for the weekend. We stuck with our initial choice of a 2 bedroom 4 sleeper , the rooms are all clean, modern, comfortable and spacious enough. Bathrooms are also up to standard with a lovely shower and bath. flat screen tvs all round 32'' and up ;) ! air-con and fans are the saviour in the heat of the mountains. You get your own little bar fridge, kettle, microwave and cutt/crock/cups etc.

Once you step out of the room the fun begins! full house is the ideal description. Namely:

Rates include B&B - awesome breakfast from fruit salad, cereals, flapjacks, muffins, yoghurt, juices, croissant, eggs, meat and so forth....

A wide variety for lunch / supper and the quality is great !

For the drinker the bar looked stocked up with your normal varieties ?! go check for yourself

Games room for kiddies
walk downstairs and let the fun begin...........

An activity room with a table tennis board, snooker table, air hockey makes for some competition with your friend - build up that sweat before running out to the well sized cold pool :) jump in it and feel how refreshing it is !! your body will be rejuvenated after a few days at this place.

if its a bit too chilly for you then walk a few step into the INDOOR HEATED POOL ! note its not a solar heated pool but closer to body temp (32 - 39 degrees) and its devine !!!! relaxation, comfort, peace and cleansing :D

Both pools are 1.5m so if ya guy just bend em knees or sit on the steps located around sides of the pools !

there are 2 kiddie pools attached to the main outdoor cold pool .

Done swimming well then what next ?! if you a chess enthusiast then head over to the outdoor chess board or for a mini thrill go an jump around from trampoline to trampoline ! Kids will enjoy the jungle gym and some ball sports on the grass area besides the pool.

Tired now ! well theres lots more - go for a massage for 30mins or an hour be it full body, legs, back and neck or whatever tickles your fancy . get the details to make bookings at reception . again it was an AWESOME massage from a very friendly lady.

tomorrow why not do this .....hike in the am as the path starts just above the hotel and the views are amazzzzing !!!

Done with the hike well then do what we did ; head over to SA FOREST ADVENTURES and go enjoy the ZIPLINES on the premises YES! so now you have a resort with all theses activities already mentioned and add to it ZIPLINE and still more to come....

Zipline was about 1h30mins and was great fun with an awesome guide filled with smiles and humour ! you zipline down 7 different sections and its for all ages and adventurers ! take ya phone with for some pics its safe ;)

come to the end of the ZIPLINE then you can head up to the TARGET SHOOTING area for some shooting ;) yes the place has it all hey !! hit em bottles / balloons etc and enjoy some aim, fire !

Rest in your queen / king or single bed and just enjoy the calmness of the Piekenierskloof Resort !

We stayed in the hotel and the service we received was great ! all the staff have smiles on their faces, offer to help all the time and just want to talk to you a little just so they feel like us guests care about them too ! TIP them ! they deserve it :) they all awesome and so friendly.

I have NO complaints about this place and to the WHOLE FAMILY thanks for making our first time NOT OUR LAST TIME :)

We will definitely be back and so will our family as your resort caters HALAAL ! so we can enjoy our stay and eat well which is such a rarity at such top class hotel in our local travelling experiences !

Thank You !

EIERS ;) Thabit

Room Tip: TIP! go for the 2nd floor room but pool facing if you can if you only couples to wakeup with a VIEWt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThabitEiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Piekenierskloof. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week at the Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge - and we cannot rate it high enough... Such a short distance from Cape Town and you arrive in a paradise on top of the mountain pass. The welcome we received was absolutely wonderful and we could not single out a particular member of staff, as everyone was so willing and attentive to our needs. What we also noticed is that the staff are all so very happy!!! A wonderful atmosphere all round. Our room in the hotel was exceptionally large and very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The menu is excellent - well prepared and well presented - and exceptionally well priced. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in amongst the most awesome scenery we've ever encountered - then this is the place for you... Next time we shall go with friends and stay in one of the chalets. Can't wait to return!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a valley view room - the view down the valley to Citrusdal is just totally mind-blowing! All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenemaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkresort, General Manager at Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Piekenierskloof. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of our hospitality.
Kind regards
Estelle & Jan Horn
GM Couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My friend and I spent 4 wonderful, leisurely days at Piekenierskloof. The views are stunning and the peaceful atmosphere was conducive to relaxation. The two of us are both photograph crazy and we had so many opportunities. The staff were absolutely marvelous from domestic upward, friendly, caring. The one waiter when chatting as we were feeling disappointed after visiting an attraction in the area asked "what are you doing to make up for it". My response was Zip Line at 4:30pm and boy it more than made up for the morning. Zip line here I come again. Piekernierskloof will see me again.

Room Tip: View from main window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed in the self catering chalets. What a fantastic little treasure. Well appointed, neat, clean and a magnificent view. The hotel staff are friendly and obliging. The meals, reasonably priced although we self catered. Would recommend this as a shortish vacation spot for anyone or any family.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Friendly staff, good food, good vibe, excellent facilities...simply stunning. I highly recommend this venue. Had the pleasure of staying there several times including taking the catalogue photos and will return there soon for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazzWorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
5.5 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
109 reviews
3.7 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Citrusdal
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#12 of 21 in Citrusdal
5 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#2 of 7 in Citrusdal
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort

Address: N 7 National Road | Piekenierskloof Pass, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Citrusdal
Price Range: $72 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the breathtaking Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge, situated in the Cederberg mountains and a mere two hours' drive from Cape Town. The lodge boasts 22 hotel rooms, 16 self-catering chalets, 2 quality conference rooms, the Kloof restaurant, ladies bar and guest lounge. Wakeup to the state of absolute relaxation, personalised service and elegance. Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge is the ideal destination for business executive, the weary traveler or a family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing