We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a perfect set up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gecko Creek Wildnerness Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Citrusdal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gecko Creek Wildnerness Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Citrusdal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a perfect set up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is just awesome. The staff are really friendly and the house trained wolf (yes proper formerly wild wolf) that can keep any intruders away is a great value add. The fire Pitt is so well set up to just chill and watch the stars. The dining area and cooking facilities are so well set up with everything you need. We pitched our tent so can't comment on any rooms, but the site for this was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at gecko creek in the cederberg region. Other comments are true, the cabin has no electricity, but who cares if you can almost read by the light of the brightest stars i have ever seen?! Ww where lucky enough to stay during a time that the owner was also around and had a great talk in the huge Lapa and felt more than welcome. Definitely a place to recommend! Cheers, m&t

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying three nights in Gecko Creek. The cabin was basic but comfortable en had a truly amazing view over the mountains. The atmosphere at Gecko Creek is very relaxing, the lapa is a great place to spend the night and the starry sky is just uh well... heavenly! We absolutely recommend this place for people who want to escape citylife and enjoy the silence, beauty and darkness of the mountains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaC1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am a South African by birth and it was with the greatest pride that I took Aussie guests to Gecko Creek as the starting point of our 15 000 km road trip through Southern Africa. They were knocked out! Cape Town and surrounds were already overwhelming but this...Paradise found. We also met 4 young Italian men there who were equally overwhelmed by the natural beauty of the Cederberge and we quickly bonded over a couple of bottles of Cape reds enjoyed around the fire in the boma. Gecko Creek and the beautiful and totally unspoilt setting of the tents and huts is the perfect setting for clearing the mind and spirit. Don't be put off by the fact that ablutions are communal: they are very attractive and kept perfectly clean. Only 3 cabins and 3 tents so never crowded.

Room Tip: All perfect. Tents and cabins equally astounding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caoe Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

If the idea of rugged hiking makes you want to grab your walking shoes and your backpack and head for the hills then look no further than this fascianting destination!

Now that I've wet your hiking apetite let me allow you into the secret of what makes Gecko Creek the remarkable place that it is.

Upon arrival you will be warmly welcomed by your hosts Linton, Lisa, Ingrid and Hoka the resident Timber Wolf. Your first stop will be in the beautiful thatched Lapa which serves as the communial dining and cooking area, so bring your own food and set your gourmet skills to the test in the open plan fully fitted kitchen area.

At night time a roaring fire will welcomes you into the open air Boma where you can join in on a social drumming session or just laze back in a comfortable beanbag and enjoy being part of an authentic African experience.

There is something magical about walking along the lodge's sandy roads and pathways to your cabin or taking a swim in the salt water pool when the sun has long gone to sleep. Millions of bright stars light up the night sky and transforms this dramatic landscape into something mystical - linger quietly for long enough in one place and you could be lucky enough to witness the nocturnal animals come out to play ... Red Rock Rabbits, C
Cape Foxes and the Cape Eagle Owl are but a few of the species indigenous to this area.

The rustic, yet comfortable and spacious log cabins have uninterrupted views overlooking the valley and mountains and there is nothing in this world that beats sleeping with your doors wide open, inviting the fresh Cederberg air to come along and whisk you off to dreamland.

Working in the luxury travel industry I've had the privelage of staying at some of the most opulent lodge's our beautiful country has to offer, but its very rare that one comes across a place that touches your soul and changes your life ....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0n_j0ur_m0n_ami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I spent 3 weeks in South Africa over the holidays and this was by far the best place I stayed. I felt like I was in a remote mountain lodge in the middle of nowhere yet it only took us a little over 2 hours to get there from Cape Town. So quiet and peaceful, just what I was looking for. Great hiking trails, awesome pool, and friendly hosts. I highly recommend Gecko Creek!

Room Tip: The cabins have incredible views over the valley and hammocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

There is Gecko Creek...
Wonderfull beautifull place in Cederbergen. I've traveled through South Africa for about 7 times already, but the beauty and tranquility of Gecko's Creek just blew me away. Make sure you bring enough groceries but once you have that settled, just sit back and relax.
The cabins are specious and offer the best views. Please stay for at least 3 nights and take the time to do some hikes and explore the beauty of Cederbergen by car or horse.
There is a wulf as a pet, but he is harmless.
Words can not describe the feeling you get here, so please, just go...
Sylvie

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Citrusdal
15.4 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
16.1 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 22 in Clanwilliam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
16.4 mi away
Saint du Barrys
Saint du Barrys
#1 of 10 in Clanwilliam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Creek Wildnerness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Creek Wildnerness Lodge

Property: Gecko Creek Wildnerness Lodge
Address: 7 Off N | Cederberg Remhoogte, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Citrusdal
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing