We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of The Baths

The Baths
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Citrusdal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We received a very prompt reply both to our booking inquiries and subsequent booking. Although we had to postpone our arrival due to a funeral and arrived late at night the manager waited for us and helped us in a very friendly way. The amenities were a pleasure to use especially the rock pool at night. We shall definitely come again and can recommend "The Baths" to others. It was a worthwhile stay away from the usual noise of the city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siggi980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Much appreciated and many thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    65
    19
    9
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“management botches booking and refuses to take responsibility.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our booking was totally botched. We requested a luxury unit with fireplace, jacuzzi and spare room for our daughter 6 weeks in advance. What we got instead was a one "bedroom" cottage with a shower and no fireplace. One would think that we would at the very least gotten an apology but instead we were accused of not making the correct booking. By implication we were also accused of lying when we were informed that the person who took our booking hadn't in fact taken it but said booking had been made by the manager. How the did we know the person who actually took out reservation's name. Such a pity that this place has deteriorated to this extent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
According to the receptionist , no booking , but only enquiries were made with her.
I personally took the booking , and I certainly will not give you an orange if you requested an apple. I allways try to satisfy a client's needs. The only 2 chalets with 2 seperate bedrooms, fireplace and private bath(jacuzzi) is 1 km out the resort ( Jimmy + Willy,) and most people want to be close to all the facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mislead”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

When you view the pictures on the website you really get caught by the apparent ambience, but the arrival reveals something completely different. Management do not know how to handle guests. they treat you like an intruder. The management of the restaurant and "tuck shop" facility however duly made up for the shortcomings of the rest. They tried their utmost to make you feel at home. The facility in its entirety needs serious attention. The room we occupied was smelly (like fire smoke) and the only great plus for it was the indoor spa bath, WOW, probably the only feature to go back for. if you like having your holidays in a dusty caravan park - this is your next destination. although we were booked for 4 nights, my wife begged me to stay for 2 and eventually we left prematurely and management could not even care, it almost appeared as if they wanted us to leave, O no!!! Not for me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very relaxing break”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The baths is 18km south of the rural town of Citrusdal and is at the end of a newly tarred road. This is a remote location, due to the position of the hot springs.

We were in a chalet for 4 people, which was clean but very basic - don't expect TV or wi-fi!

The two main pools were very clean and sparkling. One was at 43C, and the other at about 23C. These are open 24 hours per day, so you can swim at any time, making this a very relaxing and enjoyable experience.

The on-site restaurant MacGregors had excellent food at reasonable prices - we ate there on each of our 3 nights at The Baths. We also took advantage of the hot rock massages which are available at additional cost. This really added to the utter relaxation of this break.

Recommended if you just want to get away from it all and chill out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Many thanks , much appreciated , and thank you for the support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our visit to the baths was like we walked through a time machine to pre 1996
Upon arrival we were met by an unfriendly en unwelcome face of a person I can only assume was the manager.......spoke to us like he was unhappy to have us visiting a lack of respect like we were talked down to.
That same evening he came to our room told us that we were noisy even though we were just sitting having a chat inside our room with closed door about the the next days events........to put it blunlty he came forth as a racist.
The following day a rubbish from a bin was all over the grass just outside our room by baboons, when we asked him if he could have it taken care of we were told he has no one the clean it and that it will only be cleaned the monday which was 2 days away. We liked the facilities but the manager spoilt our weekend.
If they want an exclusive white resort they should mention on the website if not get better staff that actually have management skills and knows how to talk to people irrespective of his personal views.
I will not recommend the baths to anyone dare I say of colour because in my experience I could see a big difference in service dependent on race.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gurshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George G, Manager at The Baths, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
The Baths is situated in a beutiful and quiet kloof with plenty of hot water. Guests of all races, have come here over the years to lap up the peace and tranquility of the resort and the area.
We have implemented rules to ensure this.
Guests who break these rules and spoil it for others, will never feel welcome here.
The refuse gets cleaned every morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Citrusdal, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing