We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Hebron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hebron
Ranked #1 of 7 Citrusdal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Rustic mountain retreat, I felt lost from the world. But the highlight for me was: the best vegetarian meal I ever had and it was completely unplanned! Our "secret" masterchef host happened to be planning a vegetarian dinner for other guests and we decided to have what they're having, only to be very pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: On the small side, but not lacking in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kissaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the ideal place to spend a night if you looking for peace. Tranquillity, good accommodation and good home cooked food and a very welcoming host, Steve !
This working farm is set in a picturesque location with wonderful mountain views ( the tops of which were covered in snow in late August ( and the B&B rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We had the novelty of a 4 poster bed on our room , plus wonderful antique furniture. It was a very cold night but the room was warm with a wall panel heater as well as an oil fin heater and a hot water bottle was also provided !
We had a wonderful evening meal prepared by the owner , Steve, whom you tell is passionate about his cooking. A tip regarding dinner here – you must follow what the owners advise when booking , ie : - dinner is only served by request/ arrangement and they like you to tell them your food preferences and likes/dislikes beforehand so you can be assured of them making you a meal that you will enjoy. This we did and the meal was perfect !! Also remember to take your own alcohol as they are not licensed.
Breakfast was also excellent !!
It was great to be able to experience the hospitality and lifestyle here – so different from a big city – and an excellent choice for a stop over and look forward to visiting here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billdelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently travelled to Kamieskroon for a weekend to catch a glimpse of the Namaqua flower season. My husband booked us in at Hebron Guesthouse as a stay-over. He also made a reservation for dinner as they clearly stated upfront this needed to be booked in advance (we were also advised to bring wine as they are not licensed for which they charged no corkage fee). Caro informed us about everything we needed to know and were very friendly and professional. Well were we glad about this decision to stay over at Hebron! What a pleasant surprise! We arrived fairly late on a very cold evening and were promptly met and directed to our rooms by Steve, our host, and his friendly dogs. Our room was beautifully furnished and they took the trouble to organise an extra bed for my daughter who accompanied us. As discerning diners, we were delighted to find that the dinner excellently matched and exceeded some of the best dinners we’ve had anywhere! Steve is an interesting and relaxed host - knowledgeable about a lot of things. He sources his ingredients carefully and consciously, he bakes his own bread - in short he serves food with integrity and style. Oh and not to mention most of the veggies are from their own gardens which they fertilise with their own compost. You do not have to worry about what you eat and where it comes from! He is a great barista as well and the coffee did not disappoint either! Steve also offered to show us their flowers the next morning – they grow and export Geraldton Wax and Pincushions - which he duly did and explained to us about the different cultivars etc. There is truly nothing as exhilarating as people who are enthusiastic about what they do! We returned on the Sunday for coffee and something light because the offering was just SO GOOD. Wow the coffee shop was packed - other people have obviously also discovered this gem! Thanks Steve and Caro – in days like these where people are so negative about South Africa, it is so uplifting to come across people like you and a place like yours - we will be back! This time just to visit and enjoy Hebron and the food!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked in here for a weekend and it felt like we had fallen down a tunnel to the Middle Ages! Where to start? The floors are pure cement, not even tiled, the bathroom had no door (!) and when we asked for a room with a bathroom door we were told in quite a rude tone that no one had ever complained about not having bathroom doors! There was NO TV in the room and NO mini fridge. There were also no glasses. When we asked for ice, we got only a few cubes and were told that we could use the outside fridge at the braai area (quite far from our room) to cool our drinks.

On the Friday evening my husband asked them for their menu and was told that they don't serve dinner unless previously arranged. Then the next morning the owner asked us why we never pitched for the pizza dinner which was included in our voucher!

Breakfast took very long to prepare and was served in a room with the most ancient furniture I had ever seen (not in a nice antique fashion) - nothing matching one another and rather off putting. The waitress also just disappeared and it was impossible to get any service.

The only saving grace was that in our search for a decent restaurant/bar we discovered the absolutely stunning Piekenierskloof Mountain Lodge directly across the road from Hebron. As it happens they had a opening function to celebrate their reopening after their recent renovation. They invited us in with open arms, gave us free snacks and even invited us to take a swim in their lovely indoors heated pool. We went to visit them again in March and will go back there for sure!

Room Tip: Don't waste your time and money staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnekeBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HebronCitrusdal, Owner at Hebron, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Sincere apologies that your stay with us was not what you'd expected. We cannot be everything to everybody - and to make matters worse for you, our food offer was not available that weekend as we were very busy catering for a wedding off-site. We do not like any of our customers to have a bad experience and it is not at all how we usually do things here - please stop in when next passing so we can make it up to you!
Warm regards, Caro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A really quaint safe haven on Piekernierskloof with an excellent personal touch.

I thouroughly enjoyed my stay due to it's peaceful surroundings, a comfortable room with all creature comforts catered for and not to mention the lunch - a simple and delicious meal. I had not stayed long enough to try the entire menue :-( as their Pizza was absolutely yum as well.

If you are looking to just get away, relax and enjoy nature - then I strongly recommend this little gem.

It is quite close to the N7 highway, so occationally you do hear the sound of cars and trucks passing by, however it did not affect how I felt about staying at Hebron.

Room Tip: room 1, overlooking the pool and citrus valley - great to view sunrise from the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manisha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hebron House in Citrusdal. What a gem. Wonderful location, relaxed atmosphere, wonderfull staf and Steves food ! If you are in the area, this is the place to stay for a day or two. Explore the area, have some sun at the fantastic pool, read o good book and relax.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are in need of a weekend away from it all - this definitely does the trick. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and the very good food provided by Steve. Very homely and welcoming. Steve also can provide excellent vegetarian and vegan foods for those of you who prefer.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite dark as they are converted stables so if you intend doing some reading take a book l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
0.2 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
11.8 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 22 in Citrusdal
154 reviews
3.8 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Citrusdal
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#8 of 22 in Citrusdal
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#2 of 7 in Citrusdal
14 reviews
23.3 mi away
Wolfkop Camping Villages
Wolfkop Camping Villages
#7 of 22 in Citrusdal
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebron

Address: Piekenierskloof Pass, N7 Motorway, Citrusdal, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Citrusdal
Price Range: $76 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hebron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing