We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”
Review of Hebron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hebron
Ranked #1 of 7 Citrusdal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend in peaceful Hebron and it comes highly recommended. Rooms quaint. We stayed in the honeymoon suite with Victorian bath, which was really nice, but be sure to ask for rooms 1-3 if you want a view of the Citrusdal valley. Steve and Caro are wonderful hosts, we enjoyed fabulous breakfasts and were even fortunate enough to eat Steve's homemade pizzas on our first night.
Be sure to hike the Wolfberg Cracks-one of the most amazing hikes we've ever done. It is about an hour and a half drive from Hebron (but well worth the trip-incredible views), stop at Cederberg winery for a permit and continue to Sanddrif camp to start your walk. It took us about 3h20, and was exhilarating, quite difficult at times, but so much fun! Steve and Caro kindly packed us a great lunch for our day hike.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaCapeTown35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

Rustic accomodation in a stunning location. Arrived for Sunday and Monday stay to be told by Steve that the restaurant was closed, on hearing that my wife was vegetarian he said there was nowhere about that could cater so he would do "veggie" for both of us. It was better than ok, this devout carnivore was very nearly converted!! It was so good Steve offered to do us a meal for Monday as well so "veggie" it was again, it may even have been better than Sunday. Test Steve, go and tell him you're vegetarian and his eyes will light up as he dreams up ideas.
Lovely welcome in a lovely area.
No licence, so if like us you need your wine with dinner make sure you pick up a bottle beforehand.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very quiet and peaceful (most of the time), just what you need to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city. Breakfast menu very limited.
Just a few gripes, we had a bath in our room with no hand shower. Not very friendly for my long hair which was a mission to wash and rinse. We were also unfortunately disturbed by a rather loud mouthed woman having conversations till the early hours of the morning right outside our room. Not very romantic for our romantic getaway. The owners also have 3 dogs which were not to our liking, at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Pearched at the summit of the Piekenierskloof Pass, Hebron provides pleasant rustic accommodation, wonderful views and fantastic hosts. Steve, Caro and their staff could not have provided us with anything more! We stayed for 2 nights, but wished we could have stayed longer. We intended to eat in for one night and somewhere in Citrusdal the following night. However, Steve did a braai for us on the first night and he cooked a wonderful 3 course meal for us and other guests on the second night. The establishment is not license, but Steve is happy to purchase wine etc on your behalf. It was a wonderful relaxing place to stay. The accommodation is more than adequate and provides you the chance to relax in wonderful surroundings. This is certainly a place to unwind and enjoy what is on offer. No negatives really, but if you want to eat out it is a little restrictive, with only Citrusdal in close proximity. Day time activities are a plenty, although you will need to travel to particpate in your interests. For those who like to walk/hike and see place of interest then Cederberg has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, however, rooms 1, 2 and 3, have a seating area outside under a verandah, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

When we arrived we had no idea what we will get, as it was a recommendation of a hotel in Capetown, and without having a look at the internet we asked her to book three nights there. It turned out to be one of the most charming and welcoming places we have every been. outstanding nice room, very good food and excellant recommendations for trips in the cerderberg region. many thanks to steven and his wife!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We (including our 6 & 3 year old + pooch) stayed at Hebron for 3 nights and agreed it was outstanding. The owner Steve and his wife have created something very special and it was great to experience someone genuinely loving what they do. If you want TV's and ultra modern - don't go to Hebron. If you want a guest house/restaurant that is run with love, attention to detail and passion go to Hebron. It is well located at the top of Piekenierskloof Pass and therefore easy to explore Cederberg where there is plenty to do, especially if you enjoy the outdoors. Hebron is effectively a small holding where Steve has installed very comforatble rooms with everything you would need - it is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are fantastic, kids love it and it is so relaxing. The only downside is the traffic noise from the N7 but you sort of get used to it. I would highly recommend it (certainly as a stopping off point on the route in to Cederberg) but do as we did and stay for a few days and you can't fail to be won over with what Steve is trying to do - just read the visitors book to appreciate how much people love it. If only there were more like him who really cared about simple things done extremely well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoleyStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had a super stay at Hebron recently. Good quality accommodation and personal hospitality...a variety of accommodation to suit everyone, fantastic food, and super to get to know our hosts Steve and Caro.

The rooms are all decorated differently, some with a country provencale feel to them, and some lavishly decorated (reminded us of time spent in Eastern Europe), all with authentic fittings, and down feather duvets to snuggle under in the winter months!......Our advice when you do book a room is mention your requests (ie if you need catering facilities (room 1), the room with a cot for a baby (room 3), if you prefer French style country simplicity with a Victorian bath go for room 6, if you would prefer a different Turkish feel with a shower and views onto the verandah go for room 2...)

The food was fresh and excellently prepared by Steve - most of the produce from the valley and well accompanied by the excellent Cederberg wine that we were allowed to bring in with no corkage.

We look forward to returning...next time we'll bring our friends to share in the pleasure of staying in Citrusdal...and we look forward to seeing all the new developments being planned at Hebron (including wine tasting, Noah's Park playground for kids)

All in all a great last evening spent in the area...our holiday would have been incomplete without it! Thank you Steve and Caro

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twyksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
0.2 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
5.7 mi away
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
#4 of 21 in Citrusdal
144 reviews
3.8 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Citrusdal
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
48 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#2 of 7 in Citrusdal
12 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wolfkop Guest House
Wolfkop Guest House
#10 of 21 in Citrusdal
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hebron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebron

Address: Piekenierskloof Pass, N7 Motorway, Citrusdal, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Citrusdal
Price Range: $67 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hebron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing