We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“starry starry night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfkop Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“starry starry night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent our New Years on this amazing reserve. Breathtaking views and gorgeous accommodation. We enjoyed the quiet solitude and felt like we were the only people around. We spent our evenings in the jacuzzi star gazing, it was wonderful. We truly enjoyed ourselves and will not hesitate to recommend our friends and family. Its exactly what we needed to kickstart our 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
36
46
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you*re looking for a place to stay in the Cederberg area look no further-we had the best time at Botterboom Cottage!!
Located in a tranquil area with stunning views over Cederberg Mountains we stayed there for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
Rooms are done very tastefully, beds were extremely comfy, very neat and the open living room and kitchen with the indoor fireplace creates a very warm and cozy atmosphere.
Having sundowners in the jacuzzi overlooking Cederberg Mountains and enjoying a good glass of wine at fireplace afterwards is something we'll never forget.
There was nothing missing, owner and staff were always available and very caring, nothing was too much to ask.Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Wolfkop is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature! Beautiful landscape, perfect setting. Everything was perfectly managed. Werner was always helpful and reachable. Thank you for the great time. We will come back :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vroni265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

When we came, we had to do everything over the telephone, a good thing we HAD a local telephone, because normally when you come from Europe you don't have a local chip!
The owner/manager or whatever, never came, never showed his face, never explained anything about the house. Never send somebody.
Apparently he had put the jacuzzi on, without telling us, and that became so hot, that at night, after that the electricity broke down 3 times and my husband tried to put the main fuse up again, we by chance looked outside and saw that the jaccuzi's motor and wooden motorhouse was on fire!! We telephoned again this Werner, in a panic ofcourse, who send somebody to help and who fortunately came rushing with the car. In the meantime we were in the putchdark, were trying to put down the fire with whatever we happened to find, glasses of water, the dustbin that had a hole in it.....!!! The fire was eventually put out, the house stank to high heaven and kitchen and bathroom were drenched. Later we saw that a meter from the fire a propane gas cylinder bottle was standing, we could have been blown up!! This Werner never came himself!!
The shower had milddew on the walls, water always stood 10 cm high on the floor. The hammock was fitted onto the pillars of the terrace, with a freefall under it of at list 2 to 3 meters! Enough for children or even adults, to break your bones or neck!
Our agent had made out with this Werner that he should give us a voucher for our two breakfasts (we were staying two nights), only one he paid for (to reimburse us for the fire!!!) and that not even in the full, we had to pay a part ourselves and the next day we had to pay everything ourselves, eventhough he had already charged our agent!!!
I would not go back even if I was paid for it.
Fortunately the area was beautiful, otherwise our whole stay would have been one catastrophy!!
Werner NEVER came or called to ask us how we were doing, as a matter of fact, on the last day my husband called to ask him how to return the key, he seemed to have forgotten who we were!!!!!
It might be a good place for families with children, for us it was just poor and terrible, and that one checks in without ANYBODY showing you around or nobody around whom you can ask, is someing we NEVER had in all our 40 years of travelling!
We could have been burned to death, if this had happened when we were already asleep and hadn't noticed the electricit going off!
And I don't know what people who have no local telephone would do when they arrive, because telephoning with this guy can cost you a fortune if you have only an international telephone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hi Meitie,

Firstly i would like to apologize again for the Jacuzzi heating element that burned out, but as i told you on the day there is nothing I can do about that. It is exactly as a geazer element and in my 8 years of having 4 jacuzzis on site this is first time it happened - these things does happen unfortunately at it is the reality of life. The biggest thing is that i had Frans there within 10 minutes to switch it of. I also picked up the phone at 10 o clock at night when your call did come through as I am there as back up, but I was in Cape Town as I also told you and that is why my manager Frans was there in a split second.

The cottages are self Catering and we do put the people in over the phone as the office of our business is in town and most of our guests do want privacy. Our phones is on 24/7 for any problems, questions etc.

YOU SHOULD PLEASE MAKE CONTACT WITH YOUR TRAVEL AGENT AS I NEVER INVOICED THEM FOR THE BREAKFASTS THAT I TOLD YOU IS ON THE HOUSE DUE TO THE ELEMENT THAT BURNED OUT SO PLEASE DO MAKE CONTACT WITH THEM AND ASK FOR A REFUND.


Once again sorry about this experience Meitie as it was not intentionally done.

Kind Regards,
Werner

For everyone that is reading this mail please do realize that we do want our guests to have a lovely stay at Wolfkop, and i did phone her the next day with apologies again and the free breakfast which I told her is a sign of apologizing for something that happened which we did not have any control what so ever over. She never responded and now this is first time i see this review. I did phone the the next day and spoke to her and explained and then everything was fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Wolfkop and will definitely visit again. O yes and a big thank you for the homemade bread and orange juice it just added that little bit extra to make our stay even more special!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleasantly surprised with Harpuis Huis in Wolfkop! We had the most memorable honeymoon there and we are looking forward to revisiting the place with friends! It is spacious, comfortable and ideal! It felt like home! Thank you for the fond memories! We will be back - lots!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNicoleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey's Bay, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wow ....What a nice place to stay. The place is very cleverly designed. A+ all around! Safe and secluded for a wonderfully relaxing break.We enjoyed our stay and will return in the near future for another visit
Jeanette & Ockie Esterhuyse
Jeffreys Bay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ockie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
5.5 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
5.7 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#11 of 21 in Citrusdal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.6 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#4 of 7 in Citrusdal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#3 of 7 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfkop Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfkop Nature Reserve

Property: Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Address: Keerom Road, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wolfkop Nature Reserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying 5km from Citrusdal, at the foothills of the Cederberg, Wolfkop is a 450ha reserve featuring privately-appointed cottages and a platter of outdoor activities. There are four cottages, all private and blending neatly into the setting, and all four spilling panoramic views across the Oliphants River valley. Each Cottage has a private, jacuzzi and Fire place, Eco sauna and Jungle Gym for kids. There is a beautiful hiking trail with canoes to hire for swimming or fishing. Bird watching is of the highest quality due to setting of each Mountain Cottage in middle of the Fynbos.Individually decorated in African art and colours, two bedrooms feature in each, accommodating four guests, with extra space in the lounge for two more. The main bedroom features a Queen-size bed, with two single beds in the second bedroom. Comfortable mattress and cotton percale bedding are common to all, as is both an indoor and outdoor hot shower. The kitchen is open-plan and well equipped, including fresh orange juice in season and fresh coffee beans and grinder for the perfect cuppa.Stepping into the lounge area, this boasts high ceilings, deep sofas for that obligatory afternoon siesta, and an open fireplace to accompany a fine glass of plonk in winter. Double doors open to a terrace fitted with hammocks and lantern-lit Jacuzzi, while to to the back there's a dedicated jungle-gym for the kid in you. While us hedonist types at Budget Getaways will be hard pressed to leave the hammock there's a lot to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Wolfkop Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing