We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed at Wolfkop several times and it still takes my breath away everytime i go there. It is only a short drive from Cape town which makes it perfect for a weekend getaway !! The owner and staff are always welcoming, friendly and helpfull. Facilities are clean,fresh and a home away from home. If you looking for a weekend away with friends or a romantic getaway, Wolfkop delivers everytime !!! The views from the stoep is breathtaking, cape mongoose and several other species of wildlife are seen roaming around, the mountain walks start right from the house and the stone formations are magnificent. It boasts all the modern facilities a cityslicker would want, yet a nature lovers dream too. I can't say enough great things about Wolfkop. When i need to get away...this is where i go everytime !!! Well done to Wolfkop...you never disapoint !!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms a clean,comfortable and peacefull !!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Wolfkop Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were looking for a venue to celebrate my fortieth birthday with friends and we could not have picked a better venue. From the interior of Botterboom cottage to the breathtaking view from the cottage, the jacuzzi, the lay-out of the cottage, the bread and orange juice provided! Everything made us feel extremely welcome and at home! We will most definately be back!

Room Tip: Botterboom Cottage up there!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved the views from our veranda with our Braai area and jacuzzi on veranda. We did the hiking trail which had the most amazing rock formations. The cottages are also very private and we were not once bothered. Thanks Werner and crew. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wlr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Ive stayed at Wolkop Nature Reserve a few times, spanning a few years. I can honestly say that its one of my favourite retreats. Everything i love to do outdoors, i can do here. These include activities as: mountain-biking, hiking through amazing rock formations, bouldering, and swimming and lazing at the dam.
The newest cottage (Botterboom) i stayed in recently is just my favourite, with all the expected spoils the others offer. Inside braai, outside braai, outside jacuzzi with beautiful view towards Orange river, and styled with unique reclaimed oak furniture throughout the cottage. New features to this cottage however makes it my favourite. I love the many decks the cottage offers, with decks at the kitchen, living room, each bedroom, and even the showers open-up to the beautify nature reserve looking towards Wolfkop.

Botterboom cottage will definitely see me again!
thanx for a great stay

Room Tip: Botterboom is perfect for two couples to share. That also said for a family with small kids, seeing...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InvaderKiewiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Boegoe cottage in Wolfkop Nature Reserve and at first glance everything seems ideal. The setting is beautiful, the jacuzzi is warm and inviting, the fireplace and huge wooden table outside looks just perfect, decor in the main bedroom is pretty...But then the finer detail started bugging me one after the after.
The lights in the bedroom did not work, other light fittings were missing, the glass shower door was loose and ready to fall over, the water leaks from the shower into the wall and onto the kitchen floor behind it (we had to use bedsheets to dry it up), when switching on the stove plate an electrical fault caused a power outage, some of the kitchen utensils in the drawer was so dirty with old food stuck to it that I rather opted not to use it at all. Wolfkop asks that guests not just complain afterwards, but to advise them of any problems while you are there. I emailed them during our stay and provided feedback afterwards, but its been 3 weeks and they have not yet responded - which is perhaps the biggest let down. The lady I dealt with during reservation was very friendly, but an acknowledgment of the issues mentioned would have been the professional thing to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omnitravelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. We have had a big problem with Boegoe cottage shower and the leak behind the cupboard and trying to get a builder there while there is no one in the cottage has been very difficult. Luckily we have found a builder that are helping us solve the problem. Regarding the no response and standard of cleanliness of Boegoe. The person responsible for cleaning and maintaining Boegoe have been spoken to and Bernice i believe have been in contact to clarify the miscommunication - once again sorry about that - my crew are learning from their mistakes and this is one that i have help them focus on.

Truly hope to have you with us again so you can experience the cottages as all our other guests experience them as clean, neat and all in working order.

All cottages are in the state of been upgraded.

Kind Regards,

Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a fantastic time. A really amazing view from the porch and absolute comfort in the cottage. As an American traveling South Africa, I am very glad I went out of my way to visit the Cedarbergs - memorable time and hope to make it back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lagos_NigeriaLexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a blast at Wolfkop Nature Reserve! While Hubby and I sat in the Jacuzzi, the kids was playing at the Jungle gym. While we light a fire, kids was playing in the Jacuzzi.

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend Wolfkop. We enjoyed EVERYthing, from the coffee to the hammock.

We will definately be back soon.

Take care.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PottieJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
5.5 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
5.7 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#13 of 21 in Citrusdal
5 reviews
4.3 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#4 of 7 in Citrusdal
43 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aan d' Oewer
Aan d' Oewer
#2 of 7 in Citrusdal
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfkop Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfkop Nature Reserve

Address: Keerom Road, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range: $53 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wolfkop Nature Reserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying 5km from Citrusdal, at the foothills of the Cederberg, Wolfkop is a 450ha reserve featuring privately-appointed cottages and a platter of outdoor activities. There are four cottages, all private and blending neatly into the setting, and all four spilling panoramic views across the Oliphants River valley. Each Cottage has a private, jacuzzi and Fire place, Eco sauna and Jungle Gym for kids. There is a beautiful hiking trail with canoes to hire for swimming or fishing. Bird watching is of the highest quality due to setting of each Mountain Cottage in middle of the Fynbos.Individually decorated in African art and colours, two bedrooms feature in each, accommodating four guests, with extra space in the lounge for two more. The main bedroom features a Queen-size bed, with two single beds in the second bedroom. Comfortable mattress and cotton percale bedding are common to all, as is both an indoor and outdoor hot shower. The kitchen is open-plan and well equipped, including fresh orange juice in season and fresh coffee beans and grinder for the perfect cuppa.Stepping into the lounge area, this boasts high ceilings, deep sofas for that obligatory afternoon siesta, and an open fireplace to accompany a fine glass of plonk in winter. Double doors open to a terrace fitted with hammocks and lantern-lit Jacuzzi, while to to the back there's a dedicated jungle-gym for the kid in you. While us hedonist types at Budget Getaways will be hard pressed to leave the hammock there's a lot to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wolfkop Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing