We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOLFKOP is THE BEST!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
south-africa
1 review
“WOLFKOP is THE BEST!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have visit Wolfkop Nature Reserve more than 5 times in the past 2 years! Every visit is more unforgetable!!
The Cottages is very neat, clean, spacious and well equipped!
The Jacuzzi is a winner!!
The Manager, Bernice, is always friendly and willing to help us, even with something stupid!
Thank you Bernice and the team for the best holidays ever!
See you soon!!
xxx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelface3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    25
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
36
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay was the best vacation ever! We enjoyed every moment!
The Jacuzzi, The coffee, The Sauna, The Fireplaces, The outside bush shower, The herb garden, The Hammocks!
Bernice(manager) is THE BEST! We had a nice chat to her, she let as feel so welcome, thank you!!
We will definately return!
xxx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Wolfkop recently and we enjoyed ourselves so much.

The cottage we stayed in really was fully equiped with everything, the bedlinen crisp and fresh and then there are the personal touches that make you feel so welcome. The view was amazing and to sit on the stoep or even in the bubbly jacuzzi with a glass of wine and look out over the valley was a real treat.

We made use of a canoe down by their dam and did the hiking trail - we didn't even have to go anywhere else do do these things.

We will definately be back to this little peace of heaven. Keep it up!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Harpuishuis at Wolfkop during the last weekend of July 2012. What was almost a relaxing weekend turned out very unfortunate: we were robbed late on the Saturday night - while four of us were in bed and two of us in the jacuzzi - frightening how vulnerable we all were. Though only petty crime (two cellphones and a wallet was taken), the response from management was simply shocking. After the police was called out, the detective and constable shared with us how ours was not the first incident on the farm, and even not the first at Harpuishuis. Constable Coetzee from Citrusdal police station stated that ours was the 17th incident on the farm. Bernice, our contact person, was present and she herself also mentioned how it wasn't the first incident on the property. She, right there and then, committed to refunding us for the weekend. However, after contacting the owner, Werner, with news of our unfortunate experience, he managed to find enough reason not to believe and implicating that we were lying, saying there had never been robberies at Wolkop and that the police report states that no fingerprints of footprints were found. I subsequently phoned the detective Coetzee (Citrusdal Police station) and constable Valentyn (Vredendal police station) on Monday morning and to confirm what they told us the Saturday night, which they did. Still this wasn't enough for Werner. This is the first time in my history that I have heard of the manager of a hospitality establishment washing his hands clean from his clients' loss by calling them liars. I shared with Werner that I will convey all as it happened, including his reaction, by posting them as they were on all necessary travel websites. His reaction was that he would respond on my posts by stating that I was lying. Even Bernice now denies to have said that we would be refunded.

Wolfkop is a lovely farm with spectacular scenery. If you do go, keep those doors and windows locked tight and best leave your valuables at home. You will be the only one living with the unsavoury aftertaste and having the bear out the loss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We can unfortunately not refund a guest when they claim they had theft taking the following points in concideration:

we have never had a break in
We have a 90% ocuppancy rate - why first time now if cottages are far up in the mountains?
police got no force entry
police got no finger prints
police got no foot prints
Police stated this case looks suspicious as they could find nothing and on there recommendation they told us we should not take this claim serious.

This guest then threatens us by saying we should fully refund them and if not he will post on every traveller site. i can unfortunatly not let guests like these threaten me in this way with these suspicious points as mentioned above.

Kind Regards,

Werner Rontgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a lovely family time at the Boegoe house in June. The outside warm jacuzzi was ideal to be warm while enjoying the blue sky full of stars at night or when it was pouring rain outside. Highly recommended and we hope to spend other holidays there again. I don't want to say much because I think this is a place to discover, get surprise and enjoy. If do you visit this wonderful place which sink you in the quietness of nature, don't miss to eat or have a coffee at the Grapevine coffee shop in town.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OhDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently stayed in Hartpuishuis at Wolfkop. The unit was not on standard at all. I will not recommend anyone to stay at Hartpuisbhuis! Hope the other units are in a better condition!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tkcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamdreamy, Owner at Wolfkop Nature Reserve, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Tk,

Thanks so much for your review. I believe we did correspond to your personal mail to me with regards to the problems regarding the leaking shower floor which have been fixed. I had the TGCSA in and the reviewer told us we are definitely 3 star, but he did point out minor things that we need to fix like for instance the repair area at the shower that you also mentioned. It was difficult for us to fix it at the moment as the tiles are no long available so we would have to redo the whole shower

Please visit us again for a free nights accommodation to see how Harpuis house is up to standard as the other units are also.

Kind Regards,

Werner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here in July last year and loved it. All the appliances were brand new, the coffee grinder scored them a few brownie points and the free jacuzzi with views was def a highlight. It is private, child-friendly (even though we don't have kids), nice beds and bedding.
I've stayed in other places in the area and this is def the best in that price class - especially if you are after a jacuzzi!
Will definitely go back and have recommended it ever since.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Citrusdal hotels
5.5 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
3.1 mi away
Elephant Leisure Resort
Elephant Leisure Resort
#2 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hebron
Hebron
#1 of 7 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Die Vlei Citrusdal
Die Vlei Citrusdal
#13 of 21 in Citrusdal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
4.6 mi away
Citrusdal Country Lodge
Citrusdal Country Lodge
#4 of 7 in Citrusdal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfkop Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfkop Nature Reserve

Property: Wolfkop Nature Reserve
Address: Keerom Road, Citrusdal 7340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Citrusdal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Citrusdal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wolfkop Nature Reserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying 5km from Citrusdal, at the foothills of the Cederberg, Wolfkop is a 450ha reserve featuring privately-appointed cottages and a platter of outdoor activities. There are four cottages, all private and blending neatly into the setting, and all four spilling panoramic views across the Oliphants River valley. Each Cottage has a private, jacuzzi and Fire place, Eco sauna and Jungle Gym for kids. There is a beautiful hiking trail with canoes to hire for swimming or fishing. Bird watching is of the highest quality due to setting of each Mountain Cottage in middle of the Fynbos.Individually decorated in African art and colours, two bedrooms feature in each, accommodating four guests, with extra space in the lounge for two more. The main bedroom features a Queen-size bed, with two single beds in the second bedroom. Comfortable mattress and cotton percale bedding are common to all, as is both an indoor and outdoor hot shower. The kitchen is open-plan and well equipped, including fresh orange juice in season and fresh coffee beans and grinder for the perfect cuppa.Stepping into the lounge area, this boasts high ceilings, deep sofas for that obligatory afternoon siesta, and an open fireplace to accompany a fine glass of plonk in winter. Double doors open to a terrace fitted with hammocks and lantern-lit Jacuzzi, while to to the back there's a dedicated jungle-gym for the kid in you. While us hedonist types at Budget Getaways will be hard pressed to leave the hammock there's a lot to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Wolfkop Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing