We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine hotel under the right conditions.”
Review of Corbie Geel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corbie Geel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Geel
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Spent 5 days here as part of a conference trip. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast has a good selection, whether you want European or American style. The fresh orange juice squeezer machine is awesome. Beds slept good and I think most of the rooms are actually finished efficiencies. The room had free wine & bottled water! Internet was fine in my room. I didn't try the TV out, it seemed a little complicated. Noise could be an issue. The rooms and hallways do not have carpet, but painted concrete floors. Therefore there is no mechanism to attenuate sound. If you are here as part of a conference or meeting, where everyone else is your friend and colleague, it's not really a problem. If you were hear during a festival or in another 'wild and crazy' situation, I could quickly become irritating. It's on the square so there is access to several restaurants. Hotel has it's own parking garage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeRaVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel features modern, well equiped bathrooms, wifi throughout that worked well, lots of different seating areas for working and a warm, cosy atmsophere. I believe its an old mance or rectory but has been well preserved and updated. This beautiful old brick building with gorgeous old interior woodwork has its own moat and gardens. The breakfast offering was excellent as was the choice of local beers. The staff tops the list as warm, friendly and very helpful people. I loved it. As a business traveller who spends over 100 nights per year travelling around the world, this place has been bookmarked for a return trip. I loved it. Thanks to the owners and their staff for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The suit was big, comfortable and an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very strange experience. Not quite sure what this hotel is trying to be but whatever it is it failed in my book.. TV did not work for two days and I could not get onTV internet to work on second day BUT I did not ask for assistance so it could have been something really simple. Reception - on 1st floor) is only open short hours and when I did see the receptionist she was far too casually dressed for this type of hotel. Breakfast is only served for 2 hours and apart from that you only have a chocolate machine. I extended my stay for one day but they forget to update my room card so I was locked out. Fortunately it was when reception was open. So, a few niggles.

Plus side - very clean, modern and the room was fine. Quiet. Located in the very church square. Lots of lovely cafes, bars, restaurants within 100 meters.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisisspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've been there at the end of June with my son for a music festival. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Geel, the rooms are modern, clean and very convenient. Breakfast is excellent, very well-served and fresh. On top of that, the team is friendly and efficient. We look forward to our next visit in June 2014.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jerome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Corbie one night while traveling to Brugges. The room was large with very basic furniture. It has an unusual system for using lights or electricity--your room key must be inserted in the appropriate receptacle for any electricity use in the room. As mentioned earlier, the walls are thin and one can hear people talking in the next room. The bed was adequately comfortable and the shower was functional. There is secure, indoor parking and there is a fine restaurant next door, The Flore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitehawk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here during Groezrock. The hotel is quite agreeable for what you need it for: a place to lay your head after a long day at the fest. The rooms are sparcely furnished but comfortable. Complimentary bottled water was provided.There was a very nice balcony on our room with a view of the city. The reviews of the hotel being a bit loud is true, the walls are thin. The hotel provided complimentary breakfast which was great. The friendly hotel staff knew most of their guests were attending Groezrock and provided information on transportation. Note that the hotel is about 20 minutes from the fest site and the last bus is way before the last band leaving a taxi as the only transportation back to the hotel. Its about a 40 euro ride.

Room Tip: Top floor on the back side had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3shibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed overnight, the hotel is fairly simple, decoration is quite basic and in the rooms, non-existing (everything is painted just white or black). There is a strange system in the room to watch TV or access internet, but I couldn't try it so don't know how it works; bathroom was quite small, but well equiped.
Breakfast buffet was quite complete, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruits, sweets, some sausages...one thing I liked was that the hotel used sweets from Intermon Oxfam.
Price was average, and attention quite good

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_iq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verlooy
Hotel Verlooy
#1 of 2 in Geel
39 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel
11.2 mi away
Corsendonk Viane
Corsendonk Viane
#3 of 4 in Turnhout
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Appart Hotel Corbie
15.7 mi away
Center Parcs de Vossemeren
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roosendaelhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbie Geel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbie Geel

Address: Markt 54/G, Geel 2440, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Geel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Geel
Price Range: $151 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbie Geel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corbie Geel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing