We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property and even better hosts!”
Review of Manoir du Quesnay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandeville-en-Bessin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir du Quesnay
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and even better hosts!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After a long day of travel halfway around the globe, we couldn't have asked for a more fantastic place to stay the last couple days of May. We were a group of 10 exhausted travelers welcomed with a fantastic dinner complete with wine and an after dinner calvados. Jacques and Alex were even able to accommodate a gluten allergy without so much as a hitch! If you are looking for a luxurious and authentic French manor in the heart of Normandy with incredible hosts, the Manoir de Quesnay is a fantastic find!

Room Tip: Some of the stairs can be a bit steep, so pick your room wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
paris france
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

OMGOOOOSH!! This place is absolutely fabulous!! We stayed May 10-12. The Manor itself was decorated so fantastically and was in pristine condition. Our room was located in the Moat as we reserved a family room. We have two boys ages 9 and 5. The family room was HUGE with three bedrooms, a bathroom, and a changing room right in front of the bathroom. The room was tastefully decorated and the moat house was spacious and charming. The owners Jacques and Alix were so wonderful, helpful, kind. We arrived on a weekend that was particularly busy, and Jacques ensured we had dining reservations each night at a wonderful restaurant and offered sight seeing suggestions for us as well. We are big history buffs, Jacques was gracious enough to sit with us and give us some history of the area and some of the sights. Our two boys absolutely loved roaming around the property which is basically a farm. Close to the Manor is a wonderful little stream and pond where our munchkins could find snails and bugs (as boys do). In the morning there was an amazing breakfast with homemade yogurt, and fresh fruits, cheeses and croissants. We absolutely loved this place and have recommended it to many of our friends since our visit! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bennett1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Friends recommended Manior du Quesnay to us and we were so glad we followed their advice. It could not have been more perfect! The location is a superb base for touring the Normandy Beaches and Bayeux. As other reviewers have noted, Jacques and Alix are warm and gracious hosts and Jacques in particular a walking encyclopedia of history and lore and wonderful restaurant recommendations. Our room was spacious bordering on huge, comfortably appointed, immaculately clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is in a lovely and gracious room and is superb: breads, croissants, home-made yogurt, cheese, juice, and excellent coffee with steamed milk--bliss. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichiban46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Simply fantastic. Jacques and Alix, your hosts, are wonderful. Jacques delights in being your personal tour designer, answering questions, providing historical context, providing maps, making great suggestions, etc.

And the Normandy beaches and surrounding towns, from St Mer Eglise and Utah, to Pegasus Bridge and Sword, are incredible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PodnPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a great visit to Normandy staying at Manoir du Quesnay, and urge anyone heading there to check out this friendly B&B only a few minutes from Omaha Beach. More importantly than the proximity is the knowledge of the hosts with information, suggestions, arrangements for a car to Bayeux and other considerations. Overall, the stay at the manoir was first class at a reasonable cost. We urge our friends to check this out if visiting the region, especially if in a group of 6 which can be arranged from start to finish by Jacques and Alix at the Manoir...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

run by a charming couple from the French 'haute bourgeoisie' the manoir is near to the Normandy landing beaches but away from the coast in a large park. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts and the whole building is furnished in a mix of modern and antique styles.

A real gem.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building - the annex in the tower is very good but it's nice to be ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairfieldfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found this gem on TripAdvisor and would return in a heart-beat. A quick 10 minute drive to the restaurants and attractions of Bayeux, it is a quiet retreat of warm hospitality. Jacques and Alix Fourcade have lovingly updated and renovated this ancient manoir into a stylish and charming place to stay (it is better than a B&B and smaller than a hotel). Our group of 2 couples and 1 single had the entire "Moat House" to ourselves for the 6 days we were touring Normandy - like our own country villa with an excellent breakfast seved every morning in the main manoir. Jacques speaks excellent English and offered some wonderful suggestions for our exploration of the countryside. He even gave us a tour of all the rooms one morning when we were the only guests! Don't miss Mont-St-Michel, easily reached from this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandeville-en-Bessin
4.7 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
356 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Maison Periot
La Maison Periot
#1 of 3 in Trevieres
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Ferme de Dauval
#5 of 5 in Mandeville-en-Bessin
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Domaine De La Cour Vautier
Domaine De La Cour Vautier
#1 of 5 in Mandeville-en-Bessin
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Manoir du Quesnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Quesnay

Property: Manoir du Quesnay
Address: Lieu Dit le Quesnay, 14710 Mandeville-en-Bessin, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Mandeville-en-Bessin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mandeville-en-Bessin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation near Bayeux and the D-Day Landing Beaches in Normandy The Manoir du Quesnay offers Bed & Breakfast accommodation of a high standard. Set amidst the Normandy meadows and farmland The Manor is a typical fortified Bessin architecture complete with towers and spiral staircases with tapestries adorning the walls. Dating from the 15th Century and comprising of two main sections, the Manor House and the Moat House, both overlook the gardens and a large central courtyard. With a splendid sense of space, authenticity, charm and comfort, Le Manoir du Quesnay offers a true taste of Normandy. Le Manoir du Quesnay is situated ten minutes west of the town of Bayeux which is home to the famous Bayeux Tapestry, the impressive Notre Dame Cathedral and a wonderful array of restaurants and shopping opportunities including the bustling, weekly open market. The D-Day landing beach of Omaha and the US Cemetery is just 6 miles away. Other richly historical and artistic towns and cities such as Caen, St Lo, Mont St Michel, Deauville and Honfleur are all within comfortable driving distances for day trips. All D-Day sites are within easy reach with many interesting museums. Excellent restaurants specializing in seafood are close by at the quaint fishing village of Port-en-Bessin. Perfect for cycling and walking vacations with the central location. To view further information on the Manoir and some of the many diverse activities and cultural interests of the surrounding area please select from the menu on the left. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manoir Du Quesnay Hotel Mandeville-En-Bessin
Manoir Du Quesnay Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing