We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place Full of History and Charm”
Review of Manoir du Quesnay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandeville-en-Bessin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir du Quesnay
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Place Full of History and Charm”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

If you want to feel like you are going back in history, Manoir du Quesnay would be a good choice for your stay in Normandie. It has a long history. After D-Day it was the HQ for General Dwight Eisenhower. It is close to Omaha Beach, Bayeaux and other D-Day sites. Jacques and Alix Fourcade are very friendly and excellent hosts. They are a wealth of information about the area, its history and are eager to help you make the most of your stay. Manoir du Quesnay is full of antiques including the very soft (sometimes uncomfortable) beds. The connecting bedrooms on the second level are huge. Be prepared to climb a very narrow circular stairway to get to rooms. Breakfast was your typical French offering - cheese, pastries, rolls, meats and juice. Coffee was excellent! This place is very quiet and reasonably priced. You would not be disapointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank infiniti0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Truly authentic Manoir convenient to all Normandy sites but a very quiet retreat for the end of the day. About 10 minutes drive to Bayeaux, Omaha Beach, and other important sites. Easy off the main highway with a few turns onto country roads.

Home owners were very knowledgeable for restaurant recommendations and also the incredible history of the area. A very beautiful, serene setting at the end of a country road.

We were travelling as a family and had two adjoining rooms in one of the turrets of the manoir, built in the 1300s! No lifts here, and original 4 flights of stairs (about 2' wide!) are required to reach the rooms, but if you're travelling with teenagers or college age its great with two very large rooms and a shared bath.

No food options here except breakfast offered for 10e. A perfect place for those that just need a place to sleep and get organized.

Room Tip: Prepare to use steps; no rooms available on first floor. Great separate guest house for large group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myannew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Three of us stayed one night at Manoir du Quesnay whilst on a four day cycling trip around Normandy.

We were given the moat house to ourselves, which comprised of our own sitting room, kithen and a suite of three enormous and beautiful bedrooms.

The 15th century Manoir and Moat House and surrounding land is absolutely stunning. The rooms are filled with beautiful period furniture and family relics - so that you can fully experience what it must be like to live there...

The rooms are private, but you are made to feel very at home. The hosts could not be more welcoming or gracious. We were on bikes and couldn't face another cycle that evening to a restaurant, so Jacques drove us all the way to Bayeaux. He also booked us a fantastic restaurant and taxi home.

The breakfast was fantastic. The information for the local area - both in the form of lots of interesting books and guides, and in the verbal knowledge imparted by Jaques - was incredibly impressive. He could not have been more helpful or generous with his knowledge and time.

Had we not had miles to cover, I would have happily stayed at the Manoir for days on end and explored the area from there.

Absolutely the best bed and breakfast I have stayed in.


Leaving was

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahB023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Manoir du Quesnay during our stay in Normandy. Our family of 6 stayed in the moat house where we had tons of space for all of us (if only one bathroom and one small trash can). It was beautifully decorated, and cleaned and organized every day. We were served the most lovely and delicious breakfasts each morning, including homemade preserves and homemade yogurt! We loved the tranquility of the countryside they live in. We appreciated the Fourcade's fine recommendations of restaurants. They were even kind enough to let us use their laundry while we were there, saving us lots of time at a laundromat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorothyB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Manoir du Quesnay is a delight. Its superbe location is bested only by its congenial hosts. From here you are perfectly situated to visit the Normandy Landing sights and those related to the ensuing WW2 campaign. Warning though: if you prefer a firm bed, you will be "sorely" disappointed.

Pro's:
1. Location: You cannot beat the Manoir du Quesnay for its location. You have ready access to the D-Day beaches and also the highway to Caen to the East and Cherbourg to the West. Best of all you are in the quiet countryside amid the cows and the corn - nice place to relax after a long day.

2. The Building, Accommodations: This 15th century building is authentic in many ways. The thick stone walls, the towers with the archers' slits, and stone or wooden floors. Nicely decorated and also "homey", your hosts make you feel welcome into their home. Note that arriving at your suite CAN involve a treacherous (but authentic) 15th century spiral staircase - not for the faint of heart or the mobility-challenged. Not problem for us though.

Our suite was enormous. Nice furniture, decent bathroom.

The beds were a problem though (more below).

Very good, free wifi.

3. The Hosts, Service: Wow - when you come here, you have arrived at the home of a wonderful, interesting couple, the Fourcade's, who are eager to ensure that your stay in the manoir and the area is perfect. For anglophones, you will not find better English spoken in France. But what the overwhelming objective of the Fourcade's is for you to enjoy your stay. I mean, what "stranger" has ever out of the blue played soccer with my 9 year old son? Well Mr Fourcade did (twice) and showed my son their horses, and they hosted us to watch the World Cup final on TV... Indeed, it is because your hosts do not see themselves as "strangers", but as friendly hosts! Bravo!

4. Breakfast: the 10euro breakfast is excellent. Served professionally, you enjoy croissants, breads, fruits, yogurts, etc... Very nice.

Con's:
1. Beds: Our bed was extremely, extremely soft, a chiropractic nightmare! If soft beds are your thing, you will be fine. We were not.

Hints:
1. Visit the Caen Memorial museum - an excellent, in-depth multi-media (aka not dreary) presentation of the events before, during and after WW2, including a focus on the Normandy campaign. Child-friendly audio guide available. Allow 3-6 hours.

2. La Sapiniere Restaurant: On Mr Fourcade's list of restaurants is this gem that is not to be missed. Excellent food in a casual, fun, open, relaxed atmosphere. Exactly what we needed. I recommend you follow Mr Fourcade's restaurant list!

3. Do not miss the Tapisserie de Bayeux, a fascinating 11th century embroidery telling the events up to and during the 1066 Battle of Hastings. Magnificent.

Conclusion: Le Manoir du Quesnay is the perfect address for your Normand wanderings. If they instal new beds, it is unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canucdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

First time visitors to the normandy beaches, extended family, 3 generations of males, father, sons, grandson. Concerned with stairs for father, but we had a ground floor bedroom and the moat house to ourselves.

If you dont want the hastle of hotel rooms, then this is ideal.
Quiet, off the beaten track, ancient rooms, architecture and surroundings but open log fires, comfortable accomodation, and such a warm, friendly welcome from the owners.

we intend revisiting with other family members in due course

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2009

- Lovely large rooms with interesting antique pieces.

- Lush grounds and surrounding scenery, I went for a great early morning run through little quiet lanes.

-1 hr drive from Caen.

- The owners are very helpful with directions and suggestions.

- Nice continental breakfast.

- Nothing is walking distance though so you'll have to drive to find an evening meal.

- Only 20 - 30 min drive to D-day Landings area.

- The B&B have a great collection of reading material about the history of the local area.

- We went on the motorbike and felt very welcome, they even let us park in the barn

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Travels_4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandeville-en-Bessin
3.2 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Domaine de Maspa
Domaine de Maspa
#1 of 1 in Saonnet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Maison Periot
La Maison Periot
#1 of 3 in Trevieres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Domaine De La Cour Vautier
Domaine De La Cour Vautier
#1 of 5 in Mandeville-en-Bessin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Ferme de Dauval
#5 of 5 in Mandeville-en-Bessin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir du Quesnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Quesnay

Property: Manoir du Quesnay
Address: Lieu Dit le Quesnay, 14710 Mandeville-en-Bessin, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Mandeville-en-Bessin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mandeville-en-Bessin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation near Bayeux and the D-Day Landing Beaches in Normandy The Manoir du Quesnay offers Bed & Breakfast accommodation of a high standard. Set amidst the Normandy meadows and farmland The Manor is a typical fortified Bessin architecture complete with towers and spiral staircases with tapestries adorning the walls. Dating from the 15th Century and comprising of two main sections, the Manor House and the Moat House, both overlook the gardens and a large central courtyard. With a splendid sense of space, authenticity, charm and comfort, Le Manoir du Quesnay offers a true taste of Normandy. Le Manoir du Quesnay is situated ten minutes west of the town of Bayeux which is home to the famous Bayeux Tapestry, the impressive Notre Dame Cathedral and a wonderful array of restaurants and shopping opportunities including the bustling, weekly open market. The D-Day landing beach of Omaha and the US Cemetery is just 6 miles away. Other richly historical and artistic towns and cities such as Caen, St Lo, Mont St Michel, Deauville and Honfleur are all within comfortable driving distances for day trips. All D-Day sites are within easy reach with many interesting museums. Excellent restaurants specializing in seafood are close by at the quaint fishing village of Port-en-Bessin. Perfect for cycling and walking vacations with the central location. To view further information on the Manoir and some of the many diverse activities and cultural interests of the surrounding area please select from the menu on the left. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manoir Du Quesnay Hotel Mandeville-En-Bessin
Manoir Du Quesnay Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing