We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kool Jazz, Hot Food”

Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great Jazz groups play on the weekends
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Kool Jazz, Hot Food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

First visit here last Wednesday night. Made reservations for 6 people for the 6pm seating to see the Pat Prouty Quartet. The valet was very polite and outgoing. Interior of Dirty Dog is very warm and inviting. Hostess was very friendly and gave us a number of choices for seating arrangements. Krista was our server and she was excellent. Knew the wine menu inside and out, knew the dinner menu and had plenty of suggestions for all of us. Wine list is impressive and varied. Between the six of us we ordered soups, salads and entrees. Celery soup and smoked tomato soup were very good. Both had tons of flavor and were firsts for us. Loved them. Wedge salad was good and big enough to share. Our entrees included scallops, salmon, veal scallopini, veal meatloaf and braised short ribs. Not a bad dish in the bunch The veal meatloaf was the most unique entree and it was fantastic, Very tasty and not too dense. Salmon was done perfectly. Scallops were warm and tender. Tried the chocolate souffle for dessert and it was also a delight. Only downside is pricing. You have to be prepared to pay between $20 and $30 a entree and then additional for soup and/or salad. If that is reasonable to you, and you like live jazz, I would highly recommend the Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe for a evening out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinGault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent jazz, food and service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We attended the 8:30 pm show for my sister's birthday. The Alvin Waddles Trio performed...they are excellent. Our waiter was very good..attentive to our needs. The food was excellent..a nice variety on the menu. I was also able to order a birthday cake in advance from Morning Glory, their pastry shop on Kercheval. The waiter served the cake and all went well. I highly recommend this venue for a great meal and wonderful jazz!

Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

There isn't a bad seat in the house! You're always up close & personal with the musicians. The service is excellent & inobtrusive. Food fun & interesting. Tapas. Even with the music, there's time & space for intimate conversation. And conversation with the musicians too!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginia37062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a great evening out with great food and music in a quant spot. We had reservations in advance which were $10. I had a wonderful red Pinot Noir and the cocktails were pretty good as well. The music was a small 3 piece band that performed for approximately 45 minutes. Our entire party of 4 had a wonderful time. Our Host was David and he went over and beyond customer service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brightsmile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Yes the music is great, but the food is first class!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was so surprised, I thought this was just a jazz place (and everyone said it was fantastic music). But we came for lunch and the food, the decor, and the service were awesome!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe also viewed

 
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
 
Grosse Pointe, MI
 

Been to Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing