We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So poor service and poor management...Very bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Provident Doral at The Blue Miami
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Doral
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So poor service and poor management...Very bad experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We are staying at this hotel almost 2 months, because we relocate to Miami from Europe and company is providing us with this accommodation.
So far, we are looking for another accommodation as soon as possible, because this stay in Hyatt is a nightmare!!!
If you stay here for a weekend maybe it will be ok, if longer - I strongly not recommend to stay here!
1. Poor housekeeping service. Most of them don't speak English AT ALL and you can not explain them what you need. The quality of cleaning is very low, and not for the 4 star hotel for sure. They will leave dirty floors, kitchen appliances, unbelievable dirty balconies - you can feel free to clean it yourself. After fighting with management we got a housekeeping lady who knows what she is doing, her name is Roselyn, she is great, but the only one among this number of housekeepers. Housekeeping manager is not doing a great job, as a stuff is completely not trained and not organized.
2 months ago we asked to setup a certain time - 4 pm for cleaning our room, because we have a small baby, who is sleeping in the morning and afternoon. And guess what! After those 2 months they still sometimes knocking at our door early in the morning, waking up my baby and make him cry! And all of them already know, that there is a baby in this room! What a mess!
2. I spoke with rooms director Ryan Hendriks and he assured that all problems will be solved. Till now - we have the same issues and nothing changes. Sometimes it's good for the manager just to go out from his office and look around what's happening with your staff, to check in which condition they leave a room after cleaning, to get a feedback from guests etc.
3. Yesterday I was walking with a stroller by the hotel buildings and saw that housekeeping man was throwing the plastic bags with dirty linen from the second floor on the ground and anyone who was passing by could be hit with those heavy bags on his head. Are you kidding me? Is that a real Hyatt or it's a cheap road motel?
And everything is like this here... Staff doesn't care of anything, they just wait for the salary, management doesn't care and all guest just have to "take it or leave it".
Thanks god, we will leave this hotel soon!! And never again! Even for free! I will not reccomend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    307
    90
    42
    46
See reviews for
320
286
43
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel was awesome. The rooms were HUGE and like an apartment with a kitchen and massive bathroom. We had a living room with a full couch, the most comfortable beds ever and a balcony with no view. The service was weak and many of the employees only spoke Spanish. My broken words from 7th grade Spanish came in handy. Be prepared for slow service if you need something because it takes the staff so long to get around the property. The food was awesome, both room service and 5300 Chophouse.

Room Tip: It's very different with separate buildings on a sprawling property. Your building could be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapricca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argeliers, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Hyatt Miami at the Blue over New Years. The staff were charming and the facility is excellent. Rooms are enormous - we hate crowding into small hotel rooms with 2 ourselves and 2 young children, and this was in no way crowded. The kitchenette is extremely well equipped and although we didn't cook-in, we appreciated the full-sized fridge with icemaker etc. Kids loved being in the heated pool and swimming under its fountains and night (found it plenty warm enough!) as well as in the hot tub. We didn't use spa facilities, but the restaurant was very good and the service there friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InLuxuryTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us with such excellent feedback. We have a great staff that prides themselves on providing exceptional service and comments like these keep us motivated as your feedback is our biggest compliment.
I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt Miami at The Blue in the near future!

Regards
Ryan Hendriks
ryan.hendriks@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had our honeymoon trip planned to Miami for Christmas and chose Hyatt as most other hotels in the city and the beach were completely booked. The rooms are located in condos and these are well within reach of the main building if you have a car. The room was super-spacious with a balcony opening to the golf course. We enjoyed the bath too with massaging jets but the TV in the bathroom did not work. Room service was prompt and we had no regrets. Breakfast was just ok. Buffet has no egg or meat options and not much bread too but just a lot of pastries, so you'd have to go a la carte and this
can be expensive. The pool was relaxing and not very crowded. The main concern was the distance from any of Miami's attractions and the beach. It's so far far away and given the traffic, it takes ages to get to any place even with your car. We couldn't plan more than one attraction per day just because of this. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhuGanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and were able to enjoy our hotel's amenities!

We value your feedback and it will be shared amongst our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time your travel brings you back to Miami!

Regards

Ryan Hendriks
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Yes there are staff, no they don't know what they are doing. Yes there is a pool, no there were not any available pool towels or staff available and the pool was cold?? - staff repeatedly said it was heated?

Yes there is a hot tub, not it is not clean. Yes there are full kitchens, no there are not cooking utensils, soap..etc. disappointing.
Yes there is a TV, no there is not HD or hardly any working channels - useless.
Yes the room is big, but repeatedly had to ask for things like coffee from the staff - poor service.
Yes the resort is big but it's mostly a parking lot, the golf is not accessible nor are there grounds to walk on just a concrete parking lot and rooms. Needed a shuttle to get a ride to the freezing cold pool. We all got sick from the pool water.
Yes there are balconies, no they are not clean. filthy.
Front desk staff were always saying one thing but were incompetent, however they did smile, but unlike here at McDonald's smiles are free.
Stay somewhere else unless you get a deal for less than $120 US a night or you need to do business nearby. Getting around from this place was impossible in the Miami traffic - poorly located.
Don't use the phones, they charge $16 a minute. Yes, $960 an hour. - for local US state to state calls.
The best part was checking out and leaving- although when we got home we were charged for things on our credit card which we didn't even use.
Not sure how this hotel is a Hyatt - they should delist this property from their chain. - but like everyone at the resort kept telling us, "not a problem we will fix that.",....well start fixing because your list of things to do is more than any hotel I've stayed at in years....

Read their responses to complaints. Same template, same false promises, hire actual managers that know how to write, but sure they will say "sorry and this is not the level of service we strive for" well it's a bit late for apologies.
Disappointed

Room Tip: stay close to pool otherwise you have a 15 minute walk through a long parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xtreemtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not what you had expected as our goal is to provide each guests with a wonderful experience.

I had the honor of speaking with you on a few occasions while you were at the property and based on your feedback felt we resolved your concerns. I sincerely regret that despite our efforts we were unable to meet your expectation.

Please contact me at 305-640-6635 if I can be of further assistance.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Huge room, nicely decorated, many amenities, good breakfast. Great value, clean, comfortable, luxurious bathroom. While many people pay much more to be close to the ocean, I think it is worth it to stay in a more luxurious room and drive to the beach. Doral is not glitzy but fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. Your feedback and recommendation are our greatest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time your travel brings you back to Miami!
Ryan Hendriks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I am a Diamond member with
Hyatt and am used to very nice properties. First, the good: all rooms are spacious suites and are very nicely appointed, the bathrooms are excellent, all of the employees are very nice, and the restaurant is excellent. There negatives however:
first, this is not a boutique hotel as advertised by Hyatt, rather it is a condominium resort which has a very small restaurant, a pool which is not staffed with enough attendants to meet the needs of the guests,there is
absolutely ZERO view of the golf course from the hotel(staff told me that Donald Trump recently planted trees between the hotel rooms and the golf course to "block the view."
This results in a feeling of being in a very narrow and confined area from a
resort perspective. The largest annoyance relates to the curtains in virtually every room at the hotel: these curtains do not open and close properly. Every time one tries to open or close the curtains, the panels which comprise the curtains fall down. The maintenance men repair the curtains each day for many guests; they ride around constantly on golf carts with ladders so that they can address this nuisance for each guest. The bottom line: this hotel needs some increased capital investments to be the 4 Diamond hotel it is supposed to be. Also, it needs to be advertised accurately as a condominium, as opposed to a
"boutique hotel." A car here is a MUST, because the hotel is isolated, and there is only one restaurant on site. Final thoughts, the hotel is clean, and the rooms are large. If you read my review carefully, and do not expect a 4-5 star facility and experience, you will probably be very satisfied if you obtain a good price for your stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ncdoctooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyatt123Doral_FL, Manager at Provident Doral at The Blue Miami, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. We take your comments very seriously and highly regret that we were not able to meet your expectation. We are currently working to improve the situation with our curtains and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience

Please be assured that your comments will be shared amongst out team and proper action will be taken to continuously improve the quality of our service.

We hope you will continue to choose Hyatt Hotels for your travel needs.

Regards

Ryan Hendriks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doral
1.6 mi away
InterContinental at Doral Miami
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Villas at Doral
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-Doral/Dolphin Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Miami-Doral/Dolphin Mall
2.9 mi away
Nuvo Suites
Nuvo Suites
#16 of 23 in Doral
318 reviews
4.6 mi away
EB Hotel Miami Airport
EB Hotel Miami Airport
#1 of 16 in Miami Springs
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provident Doral at The Blue Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provident Doral at The Blue Miami

Property: Provident Doral at The Blue Miami
Address: 5300 NW 87th Ave, Doral, FL 33178-2102 (Formerly Hyatt Miami at The Blue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Doral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Doral
#7 Business Hotel in Doral
#8 Family Hotel in Doral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Provident Doral at The Blue Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Doral, just 20 minutes west of downtown Miami. Golf fanatics, spa lovers and foodies alike will find just what they're looking for at Miami's ultimate all-suite property, Provident Doral at The Blue Miami. Overlooking the World-Famous TPC Blue Monster Golf Course, our Miami hotel sits on 17 spacious acres and boasts a free-standing clubhouse and amenities galore. Go ahead, indulge yourself. Sunbathe on the pool deck. Pamper your senses at the private spa and gym. Savor al fresco dining in the Florida sunshine at the pool bar. Retreat back to your room, where all of our spacious suites feature full kitchens. When the sun goes down, head to 5300 Chop House and Lounge, our in-house restaurant and bar. Our Miami luxury hotel is characterized by resort-style living and matched by extraordinary personal service. Provident Doral at The Blue is a once in a lifetime experience. Are you ready? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Provident Doral at The Blue Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Miami At The Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Hotel Doral
Blue Resort Doral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing