We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sushi and ceviche”
Review of Kamiko Sushi Bar

Kamiko Sushi Bar
Ranked #24 of 266 Restaurants in Doral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: new sushi bar in Doral
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi and ceviche”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I visited here while in Miami on business. The location is a small strip mall that wouldn't garner a second look. But, the interior of this restaurant is clean and contemporary. We started with tuna tataki and hamachi jalepeno. Both were the most amazing thin slices of fish that melted in our mouths. We also ordered the lobster ceviche and pronounced it so good we fought over the last bits. The sauce it was in good have been slurped with a straw it was so good. I asked for a recommendation among the sushi rolls, as they have many unusual ones. Our waitress recommended the Catalina roll, shrimp tempura, goat cheese, sundried tomatoes inside with tuna, avocado, almond slices outside and drizzled with warm honey. All we could say was, wow. No soy sauce required! Our last bites were several pieces of different sushi nigiri. The fish was the best over ever had, melting in my mouth. While our waitress was good at recommendations, she wasn't good at refilling our water glasses and we were two of the six diners present. Our bill with a bowl of standard miso soup came to $103.00.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Punkin2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    36
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, yet overpriced”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been to Kamiko more than a dozen times, and have ALWAYS been satisfied with the service and quality of the food. Lately, it seems to me that the prices have been increasing, to a point where it has become too expensive, compared to all other sushi restaurants in the area.

The atmosphere is good, and due to its location and not being a luxurious restaurant, I believe it shouldn't be so expensive.

That being said, I will continue going there, albeit with a much lesser frequency than before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Armando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi restaurant in Miami!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are in Miami and you are looking for excellent sushi, go to this restaurant, Kamiko. Their rolls are fantastic and they are very creative in their use of ingredients in their rolls. I highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and visitors in the Miami area. It also helped to have a great discount using a coupon from Hometown Magazine.

I can't wait to go again soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Sushi i ever ate!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have eaten in some of the best places in the US. and I can honestly say that this is the BEST sushi I have ever eaten. Their choice of ingredients and their sauces are beyond delicious! I have been there multiple times and they have never disappointed. Service, ambiance, flavors & freshness are always exemplary! Whenever my kids are back home, the first place they want to eat is at Kamiko! PLUS they give a great discount in the Hometown Magazine! What more could you ask for?!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best sushi places!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The food is really good here, the sushi, the appetizers, the desserts, everything is top quality. And the service is very good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamiko Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing