We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fun course, outstanding service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course

Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Doral
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the Doral Resort's five championship golf courses.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun course, outstanding service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We played the course 2 days before it was closed for renovations. When we booked the tee times, we weren't told that it had been sprayed with Roundup to kill all the grass (except the greens) before the renovations, and there was no discount for the conditions. We still had a good time playing a famous track, and the greens were in great shape and the service from the staff at the Doral Resort is among the best anywhere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John48162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    11
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice course but annoying location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The course is nice and lots of fun, but also very difficult and kind of annoying with all of the planes constantly flying overhead as the Miami airport is within a few miles.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“windy !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I went there a couple of week ago with my brother one and a half week before the BMW Champoinship.
The scenery isn't spectacular but the overall experience is great. One of the most difficult I have played... for an amateur. Hole # 18 is really a monster but the rest of the course isn't that bad.
Great condition!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joghst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“average course, not sure what the hype is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The clubhouse/restaurants etc was a nice entry. But where is all the water for the 'blue' monster? It was a nice course but certainly not the nicest we have played, although it was the most expensive we have ever played. We were all a bit disappointed, thought it was going to be this big challenging beautiful day, but it was just okay, even the 'signature' hole left a lot to the imagination compared to some courses. And yes, the jets from the nearby airport is a bit distracting at times. Hopefully trump makes it amazing, although I do hope he leaves the old trees and adds in some new gardens, colour and definitely more water to live up to its name.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveMySpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great golf course...very difficult for an amateur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have always had a great time while playing at the blue monster golf course. Service from valet, to clubhouse, to starter, to restaurants has always been superb!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adjtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Doral Resort - Blue Monster Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing