We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best race course restaurant experiences” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempton Park Racecourse

Kempton Park Racecourse
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Sunbury
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best race course restaurant experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have visited many race course restaurants over the years but I have to say this is definitely one of my favourites. I've had two excellent experiences and even managed to win some money too!
The facilities are very comfortable and the at table services mean you never have to leave your table at all.
I must give top marks to the chef and his team who prepare great tasting and well presented meals with the package prices being very competitively priced.
I last took some business clients who although stay local to the course had never experienced the restaurant - I certainly think they will be going back as will I.
One slight niggle on the last visit was the heating packed up for a short while - although it hardly spoilt the evening, the next day I was called and offered complimentary tickets for a future date. I was pleasantly surprised and this well exceeded my expectations.
Overall, I can only think of one or possibly two experiences that could rival Kempton so well done to the team there and I look forward to going back again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norfolk-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“One of the best racecourse restaurants I've experienced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I love going here: fantastic views of the racecourse in a large and airy restaurant which, at the same time, manages to feel quite intimate. You also get a TV on your table for when the horses are too far away!

Food - delicious. I especially enjoyed the cod wrapped in Parma ham with fennel, chorizo and tarragon sauce.

Good wines on offer - a particularly fine New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc (at about £43).

Good service, including the Tote betting ladies.

What more could you want?!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“race in the memory of my father and sister”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

had a very special day at Kempton park 20 dec 2012 .had a race run in the memory of my father and sister was joined with my family for a lovely time many thanks to all at Kempton park the restaurant was very good . food nice .service very good thanks to all at Kempton who made this day very special thanks to jack for all his help Paul fettel

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great lunch at a great price !!!!!!. £4.95 for a hot lunch, £1.80 for tea and coffee means that there was no rip off here with the captive crowd, so much nicer than a burger van.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyandAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

the food at the restaurant was excellant, the table service of the staff and the tote ladies was great. what made the eveing was the winnings we all had at our table, eight guests

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lance_macklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kempton Park Racecourse also viewed

Sunbury, Greater London
Sunbury, Greater London
 
Sunbury, Greater London
 

Been to Kempton Park Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing