We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the top Brazilian Winery!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Valduga Winery

Casa Valduga Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A pioneer in the introduction of Wine tourism to Vale dos Vinhedos, Casa Valduga started the Wine tourism complex in 1992, enabling tourists to explore the world of wine and all the customs associated with the culture of the first Italian immigrants to the region. In addition to the rich natural wonders and a dimly-lit visit to the underground wine cellars, a fascinating dining experience awaits visitors at the Maria Valduga restaurant, which features typical dished blended with the most emblematic wines of Brazil. In an inspiring atmosphere, Casa Valduga welcomes its visitors with an amazing landscape, framed by the centuries old vineyards of one of the most award-winning wineries of Brazil.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the top Brazilian Winery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We visited this winery which is one of the top in Brazil. The lunch in their restaurant is very good and I recomend it. Regarding the visit itself is very good, but the caves are not that fancy like those in Napa or in France. Anyway is worth the time and money. The wines they give you during the tasting experience are far from the best they have, but the price is also low. If you wish something better you have to ask for it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank duduweizmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    610
    106
    38
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Delicious Wine and Amazing Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I went on a tour of the Vale dos Vinhedos during our trip to the south of Brazil for our honeymoon. We decided to visit some small wineries and a big one. The larger one we chose was Valduga based on the suggestion of the owner of a wine shop in Canela. We arrived in the late afternoon and so had the option of eating lunch at the restaurant or going on the tour. Well, since we had been out all morning tasting wine, we opted for the lunch since the person who recommended Valduga to us specifically mentioned the lunch. Well, we were not disappointed. The lunch is very reasonably priced and delicious: an all-you-can eat rodizio from soup, salad, meat, several different kinds of pastas all the way to dessert. We enjoyed a bottle of 2008 Cabernet Sauvignon (which we tried to buy after at the store and they were out of!). The service was friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately, we stayed long enough at lunch that we missed the last winery tour of the day. So, I cannot speak to that. But, if the service and quality at the restaurant were any indication of the rest of the place then I would suggest it. And, we liked it enough that we would definitely return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hirschee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a fantastic place to visit and to learn! You visit and taste and smell and buy good products. Staff is good, but two of the girls were really in a bad mood, something that can not be good once they work with tourists. But, anyhow, you must go!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luizasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wine learning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went to a tasting tour at Valduga that took one hour and a half. The guide is a enologist and gave us lots of interesting information on wine production as well as local culture. We tasted several kinds of wines (reds, whites and sparklings). The facilites are amazing and, at the end, we went to the winery shop which is very nice. The whole staff is very kind and helpful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lmvi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Prices have increased a lot in 7 years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

The first time we attended this winery we stayed at the B&B offered onsite. The price was reasonable back in 2005 but is very expensive, at least for us, now in 2012. The prices of their wines have increased a lot since then also. They have a nice assortment of wines. We like their espumante brut which we had with our picnic lunch. The facilities at the winery are very beautiful and they have obviously had a lot of success over the last few years. The people working the store are very nice and helpful.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank klynnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Valduga Winery also viewed

 
Bento Goncalves, RS
 

Been to Casa Valduga Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing