We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil luxurious cottage with amazing facilities”
other travelers have booked this property
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Shady terrace and private garden includes a herb garden and BBQ, views of the pool. Luxury country house with landscaped gardens, BBQ and immediate access to the pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Shady terrace and private garden includes a herb garden and BBQ, views of the pool.
Luxury country house with landscaped gardens, BBQ and immediate access to the pool.
Lounge dinning room
Spacious living area with stone fireplace and arches.
Cool open living area
Double bedroom with en-suite facilities and views over open countryside
Twin bedroom with en-suite facilities and double doors onto a shady terrace.
Dining area for four persons plus high chair.
Quiet corners to relax and enjoy the local wines.
Large well equip kitchen with a breakfast bar. A back doors leads to rear terrace.
Upper pool terrace with sun loungers, palm trees and amazing views.
Elevated terrace with dappled shade and a stunning Alenejo backdrop
Lower pool terrace with stunning views over the meadows and Alentejo landscape
Relax on this daybed on your covered terrace
Planning something special? we can also provide chocolates and fresh flowers.
Pool terrace and landscaped garden
Welcome hamper with home made treats our farm produce and local wine and cheese
It is the little details that make the difference to your holiday experience.
We have free range poultry, ponies, pigmy goats and pet pigs here.
We have 4.5 hectares of meadows and gardens to explore.
Fields of sun flowers
Everyone enjoys te sun.
Pretty gardens
Rolling landscapes dotted with historic villages and towns.
Adult bicycles for our guests to use
swallow tailed butterflies in our gardens
Castro Verde and its carpets of colour during spring time
Traditional farming
Beautiful walks around local lakes and dams
Explore our stunning unspoilt coastline, within an hour to the west or south
Carriage rides
regional cheeses
Local festivals
explore the local vineyard by horse and carriage.
Many activities available
Pretty towns and villages
festivals all year
Local festivals
ballooning
Amazing landscapes
Amazing birds in this special region, popular for birding
Historical sites to visit
Ancient lands and megalithic sites
Carriage rides to see the sites
Where time stands still
Try the regional food and wines.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castro Verde, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SouthEngl...
SouthEngland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil luxurious cottage with amazing facilities”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having stayed at another Alentejo holiday property the previous week that did not live up to the expectations set in the marketing material, it was a relief to arrive and find everything is the same high quality at Monte da Quinta.
My family has been holidaying at Monte da Quinta for 10 years. We like the fact the property is clean, smells wonderful, is well maintained and immaculate, well stocked and offers lots of little extras. Highly recommend this property to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. So pleased you have chosen to rebooked for 2017. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again. Until then best regards, M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonfin...
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven on earth - a perfect holiday”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Monte Da Quinta is the most beautiful place. We have just returned from a perfect 2 week holiday here, hubby and 2 teenagers and we all absolutely loved it.
The grounds and pool are superb with amazing views of unspoilt countryside - and the house, Casa Oliviera, was spacious, comfortable and exceptionally well equipped. Michaela and Nigel have thought of everything you could possibly need and are so warm, welcoming, helpful and generous without ever being intrusive. Great information provided for local amenities, attractions and days out with clear directions to get there. The "savoury suppers' were delicious.
It is the perfect spot to undwind in and we managed the right balance of relaxing by the pool and sight seeing. A brilliant holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to go back there if they could fit us in with all their returning guests!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the terrace and endless blue skies
Liked least: Having to come home!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieCori...
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
“Wonderful family friendly accommodation, excellent basis to explore Alentejo and enjoy Portugese beaches”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Monte da Quinta remains our favorite place to enjoy our holidays with our 2 daughters (8 and 10). Comfortable, clean and spacious house, pleasant pool, beautiful gardens and wonderful view and surroundings. We regular visited the various beaches at the Atlantic Ocean and Algarve, but also day trips to Evora and Mertola are easy to do. You will find various excellent restaurants relatively close to Monte da Quinta and also Castro Verde offers a pleasant variety of places to have a pizza or typical regional food. But ending a warm sunny day at Monte da Quinta with a home made bbq, a dip in the pool, a good glass wine and enjoying the stunning view remains our favorite.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miapernil...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“It's only place in the world we keep returning to.”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We love the ruralness, yet close to everything. Monte da Quinta has everything we look for in a holiday the villa is super comfortable and has everything you need Michaela and Nigel is at hand to help if you need help with reservations to excursions or vinyard visits. Castro Verde has many restaurant which are all excellent, what more can one want. Our kids love feeding the animals, the pool and going for bike rides in the stunning surroundings.Monte da Quinta is the perfect place to relax and recharge I can highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Søren S
2 reviews
“Oasis in Alentejo”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Monte da Quinta is an oasis in Alentejo. Located within easy walking distance from Castro Verde, a nice small town with good restaurants, it overlooks the beautiful landscape. Everything is fully renovated and extremely well kept. We lived in Casa Oliveira - it is spacious and was perfect for a family of four. Michaela and Nigel are excellent hosts, dropping by from time to time with fresh vegetables from their own garden, fresh towels and knowledge about the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirlanda...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birdwatcher's paradise in an ideal location.”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our 5th visit and it was as wonderful as always. Michaela and Nigel keep the spacious cottages in immaculate condition, equipped with everything you need. Their information book tells you about all the local restaurants which you can walk to. We really enjoyed Villa Italia and Market Verde. There's great birdwatching from the veranda, and good walks straight out of the gate.
The cottages are surrounded by peace and quiet, even though they're on the edge of the town. There are lovely views from the veranda of the beautiful Alentejan countryside, and we saw storks, booted eagles, bee eaters, hoopoes, and heard nightingales. We enjoyed it so much we've booked to go again!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian G
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rest and relaxation in a beautiful property”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a lovely place to visit, off the beaten track and away from the busy beaches of the Algarve. Castro Verde is a typical Portugese town, with a few restaurants serving delicious local cuisine. Monte da Quinta is not typical, beautifully renovated and exeeded all our expectaitons. Thank you Michaela and Nigel for a lovely week.
Dewi and Sian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing