We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Red Lake ON
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Lake
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a group of 12 staying at the Super 8 in Red Lake on a business trip. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our group and it was greatly appreciated. The rooms were wonderfully decorated with mining photos and very comfortable. Looking forward to next visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TetraTech_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Red Lake ON, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Mike,

I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are returning to stay with us.

Our staff is always happy to accommodate any special requests guests might have.

I'm glad out new style of headboards have made an impression on you.

Kind Regards,

Carol McPherson
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    63
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
7
8
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed there last evening and can't say enough about this new hotel. Upon check in the staff were great, knowledgeable and very friendly and most helpful.


The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Great value for the price.

If your travelling to the Red Lake area I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful new building a stone's throw from the only Tim Horton's in town. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with knowledge of attractions in the area. The whole building was clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed at this hotel during a power failure. It was dark and the elevator was not working at the time, but the front desk had flashlights to hand out to guests and even offered to help bring luggage up to the room. Everybody on staff that night went above and beyond to make the best of an uncomfortable situation. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank libbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Mud from one end to the other. Very spartan to begin with, but level of dirt made it feel like i was walking into a bush camp. Staff friendly, but obviously untrained. Rooms noisy typical of wood frame hotel; you could hear every footstep. Unfortunately, not many choices in town. Message to manager...make miners leave their boots elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klondike2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Red Lake ON, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your response on Trip advisor. Every review is important to us at the Super 8. I have taken note of your concerns regarding the mud being brought into the hotel from contractors.We are currently looking at ways to solve the issue. I hope that this has not discourage you from staying with us. If you have any other concerns, please feel free to call me directly at the hotel.

Once again we do appologize and look forward to seeing you along the way.......

Carol McPherson
General Manager
Super 8 Red Lake
807-727-8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been travelling all over Northern Ontario for the past six weeks. I have to stay, the Super 8 in Red Lake was one of the better stays. The staff is very friendly and nice. For some reason while checking in, randomly, I got upgraded to a suite! It was amazing. The hotel is BRAND new - I could smell the fresh rennovations, and my suite still did not have a fridge, which was not a problem for me, but you can tell its new, which is very nice. Its modern. The bed was a bit hard but I cannot complain about anything. I ended up getting the suite for the price of a regular room! It was very nice. I like the fact that it is brand new too. Definitely the only nice place to stay in Red Lake. The continental breakfast was a little plain - same old everywhere - but also nice. Great hotel. I would definitely reccommend it and would go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite! Worth the extra money if you have to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tayler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Red Lake ON, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time out to do a review on trip advisor. We take our reviews on trip advisor very seriously, as do our guests. Once again, thank you for choosing the Super 8 and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Carol McPherson
General Manager
Red Lake, ON
807-727-8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When staying in Red Lake, the best overnight option is the Super8. By far the friendliest and most helpful staff I have seen in a while. Rooms and lobby area kept extremely clean,amenities all there for a comfortable overnight stay. Cannot think of any negative points at all. Clean, comfortable and wonderful staff. Well done Super8!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny71_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Red Lake ON, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to compose a review on trip advisor regarding your stay at the Super 8 in Red lake ON.The staff at the Super 8 take the reviews very seriously and so do our guest. We are much appreciated with your response.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon....

Carol McPherson
General Manager
Super 8 Red Lake
807-727-8888
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Everyone was extremely helpful and attentive. Nice new facility with clean rooms and convenient breakfast bar. The location is conveniently close to Tim Hortons and just a short drive from the town cent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#2 of 4 in Red Lake
8 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nature's Inn Red Lake
Nature's Inn Red Lake
#1 of 4 in Red Lake
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howey Bay Motel
Howey Bay Motel
#4 of 4 in Red Lake
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Balmer Hotel
#3 of 4 in Red Lake
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Red Lake ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Red Lake ON

Property: Super 8 Red Lake ON
Address: 11 Hughes Cresent | Box 346, Red Lake, Ontario P0V 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Red Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Red Lake ON 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Red Lake was built new in 2012 and is the only franchise Hotel in Red Lake Ontario. The hotel consists of 65 rooms plus a conference and banquet facility, that can accommodate up to 110 people for conferences, banquets, meetings and gatherings. Red Lake is situated where some of the riches Gold Mines in the world are located, Gold Corp being the riches of them all. The beautiful town of Red lake is also the Norseman Floatplane capital of the World. Every year in July the Township puts on a festival in July to celebrate the Norsman Float Planes. Plus, if you love the outdoors the Red lake area is a great place to come and enjoy fishing or hunting. We are 5 minutes away from Gold Corp Mine and one minute from the Red lake downtown area. Super 8 Red Lake.........See you along the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Red Lake ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Red Lake ON Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing