We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decade with Viking”
Review of Viking Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A decade with Viking”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've been going to the Viking Outposts for over ten years now and have never had a less that great time; the Carlson's and their crew are truly wonderful people committed to making our stay a pleasurable one no matter what it takes. Great fishing, great people, great accomodations and great service keeps me coming back year after year...what more could a fisherman ask for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

From the first time I meet Hugh at the dock, the annual trip to Viking Island has always been too long in coming and the shortest week of the year. Will be returning for my 4 th trip in 5 years. Hospitality, stories, and laughter have permeated the great fishing. With all that goes on the rest of the year, Viking Island offers the optimum retreat.

Room Tip: Just tell Enid what you are looking for and she will accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This family owned business is just a great place to escape and find beautiful surroundings with friendly and helpful hosts. The history of the cabins and lodge along with the many tales of days past only add to the wonder of this location. On my first visit with my two young sons not only was the staff there to help and assist us but also the guests in camp were there to guide us through our adventure. Many of those guests from years ago are now friends who we look forward to seeing each trip. As to the fishing I can only say that it has consistently provided us with all the walleye, northern, and lake trout catches anyone could look for. The Carlsons believe in safety first when it comes to flying providing only the very best pilots who place their passengers well being first.

Room Tip: Choose a rustic cabin for the real feel of the Canadian north or a more modern cabin with all the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The terrific fishing has become secondary to the breathtaking beauty of just being there. You will never forget the choice of coming to Viking. The Carlsons have become family and the dozens of friendships made will be lasting. I have fished alot over the years- this is #1. Terry Desmond

Room Tip: Accomodations are exactly what you hope for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This August will be my seventh visit to Viking. Began as more of just a reunion with old friends, but has gotten me back into fishing. Without repeating other's great comment, I'll mainly just add that Viking offers truly "Gentlemen's Fishing!" When returning to the lodge, you just leave all your gear in the boat, and head to your cabin, or the lodge. There sure isn't any work involved, even when making the portages to the other nearby lakes. (Actually, Douglas Lake offers great fishing, especially with seven years experience. With "catch and release," getting a trophy fish isn't all that important - but the numbers, and sizes, beat most any lakes in the U.S.)

I probably shouldn't report this, but for what is offered, Viking Island appears to be the best value for a quality fishing experience! We could alternatively go to one of their "Outpost Cabins," but having their staff doing all the work, except landing the fish, and the limited number of total guests, makes the Lodge the obvious choice for us!

I have yet to accomplish a "100 fish day," but I'd rather not forego my after lunch nap!

Room Tip: Try to go with friends that DON'T snore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohausser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Viking Island, a family tradition, is an adventure filled and comforting experience for the novice and experienced fisherperson. The Carlsons have owned this island and their outposts for 50 years and will not disappoint. Hugh and Craigs attention to detail will transport you to the days of when men and women lived by their wits and strong backs. Enid, the lodge hostess, has a staff of attentive individuals that meet your outdoor needs. Fresh home cooked meals, comfortable beds, showers, and the most relaxing panoramic views that nature can provide. The walleye are plentiful, hitting on live bait , spoons, Rapalas, and other lures/ Northerns are small but you are encouraged strongly to portage to Embryo or Telescope Lake. Np pther place like this, anywhere.

Room Tip: Make it a point to use the outhouse!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pezkdor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Midwest
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We returned in 2012 to Viking Island for our third visit. As before, the scenery, the fishing and the camaraderie were second to none. The Carlson's have set up an amazing experience where you can bring your family or friends to experience some of Canada's wilderness and get far away from your daily routine. Every time we have visited we've met wonderful people who have continued to return for many visits (12+ in some cases). I think people returning when they could try different places speaks volumes about the experience you get at Viking Island. Overall, there may be other, more expensive outfitters, but I would say the value you get for your travel dollar is absolutely exceptional. I would highly recommend it to anyone and look forward to visiting again someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKSdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Lake hotels
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Red Lake ON
Super 8 Red Lake ON
#1 of 1 in Red Lake
200 reviews
23.0 mi away
Nature's Inn Red Lake
Nature's Inn Red Lake
#1 of 4 in Red Lake
22 reviews
19.4 mi away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#2 of 4 in Red Lake
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Howey Bay Motel
Howey Bay Motel
#3 of 4 in Red Lake
7 reviews
23.0 mi away
No photo provided
Balmer Hotel
#4 of 4 in Red Lake
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Island

Property: Viking Island
Address: 67 Hwy 105 | Douglas Lake, Red Lake, Ontario P0V 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Red Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Red Lake
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Island is a small fly-in fishing lodge in Woodland Caribou Wilderness Park, 25 miles west of Red Lake, Ontario, Canada. Stay in modern cabins; drive your own boat; take a day trip up the river or hike over a portage. We are a small island, and the only Lodge in the whole area, which means you can relax in the quiet of the Canadian wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viking Island Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing