We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Saxmundham
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
138
33
16
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
138
33
16
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment team indoor pool gold plus caravan platinum lodge pottery painting play area great facilities entertainment complex pool staff excellent park amazing holiday couldn t special thanks school holidays bouncy castle bedroom caravan recycling facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a three night break here via Hoseasons, very reasonable price.
Our Gold three bedroom caravan was immaculate and even had the heating on when we arrived Friday night, so it was lovely and cosy.

Great facilities and entertainment, club room was perfect for little ones. Also we felt it wasn’t too in your face like some holiday parks.

Food was tasty such great value for money. Karen at the bar was great when my two year old wanted more sausages with his dinner!!

Pool staff were good fun and interacted well with our older kids too. Very clean pool and gym.

We would definitely go back for another weekend break, only 10 minutes from the coast too!!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 222elliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroncann12345, Front Office Manager at Carlton Meres Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We really do listen to all feedback and learn from it all.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our amazing team looked after you and your family so well,

we really look forward to seeing you again

Thank you again.

Arron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Carlton Meres for a short break.
Upon arrival fairly impressed by the modern reception/bar area.
The check-in went smoothly at the agreed time, got our keys & off to the caravan.
Impressed with the van. Clean (mostly) & well appointed (F68).
A few gripes however! The bed had some sort of plastic mattress protector on it which was so thick it was like sleeping on a board. Very uncomfortable & we used the spare single quilts to pad the bed out in the end, which helped a bit.
Dirty crockery - we didn’t use much but found unwashed plates in the cupboard & the microwave was disgusting!
We were only there for 4 nights. On the Tuesday thought we’d wander over for a drink to the club house. Nope - closed!!
As we’d invested in ‘entertainment passes’ this was a bit annoying. Lots of people with the same idea wandering back to their vans as well. Looked like it was open again Wednesday..!!! Who knows? Tuesdays everybody’s day off maybe??
I did Facebook message the site to find out why but so far, no response!
By all accounts the entertainment wasn’t much. Some stuff for kids during the day (extra costs folks), Bingo & what?? No idea....there was no programme or listing..
If we’d have known this before we booked. We wouldn’t have bothered paying for passes tbh.
Park overall is well maintained. Didn’t use the indoor pool so can’t comment - looked newish.
If you fish it might be your bag with 2 x lakes.
It was an ok stay. A bit dull, not much going on on-site so bring a pack of cards or something.
Autumn half-term visitors beware.
We won’t be rushing back.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Klubfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroncann12345, Front Office Manager at Carlton Meres Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We really do listen to all feedback and learn from it all.

We are really Sorry you experienced so discomfort during your stay, The Tuesday night we are sorry to say that we had a power cut and due to health and safety we had to close the complex for a short while.

Thank you again.

Arron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous break here, it was just so relaxing. The staff were very helpful and the caravan was spotless on arrival and well equipped. The check in process was quick and efficient. The only negative point was that our car was keyed and the was no CCTV in place. The facilities are excellent and the pool is very clean. There is no dryer for your swimming costume but that is the only negative thing I can say. All staff were very helpful. Booked to go back next year.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellavilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroncann12345, Front Office Manager at Carlton Meres Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We really do listen to all feedback and learn from it all.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our amazing team looked after you and your family so well,

we really look forward to seeing you again

Thank you again.

Arron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The biggest caravan we have ever had. BUT although booking with SUN holidays we paid a lot more for this one than at other sites. It seems this site doesn't have standard caravans. We were happy to pay more for the better caravan but we were really disappointed with the entertainment, or lack of it! Just some disco music being played, you couldn't even ask for a particular song that we wanted to dance to. Felt a bit cheated by having been told we had all inclusive entertainment when it was rubbish . We didn't have any food or go to the swimming pool so can't comment on that. The site is well laid out with a security guard at night. The caravan was not the cleanest we have had, had to wash out the cutlery tray lots of crumbs.The shower also leaked, not suficient sealant between the doors, so each morning we had a mini lake to mop up! Having said this the location is just right as we wanted to visit Minsmere several times during the four days.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 49Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroncann12345, Front Office Manager at Carlton Meres Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We really do listen to all feedback and learn from it all.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our amazing team looked after you and your family so well,

we really look forward to seeing you again

Thank you again.

Arron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The campsite is very well appointed and is suitable for families. We had a large, well kept, cleaned and maintained caravan, with a large double bedroom with ensuite, a small double room with 2 single beds, perhaps a bit too small, a separate bathroom with shower, a large sitting room with t.v., pull out bed settee, galley kitchen with all appliances and utensils. There are 2 heated swimming pools, one indoors, one out.Gym, A beautiful large lake for fishing, my grandson learned to fish and got excited when he caught one.A small shop for essentials. A large entertainments area with bar and restaurant. A small complaint, perhaps the restaurant could be separated from the stage area with a wall or doors to reduce the sound of yelling and shouting from the excited kids.. Be carefull if using a satnav, because it takes you to an adjacent camp site, but a couple of miles by road.
Nearbye Aldeburgh is a quaint little seaside town.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroncann12345, Front Office Manager at Carlton Meres Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback. We really do listen to all feedback and learn from it all.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our amazing team looked after you and your family so well,

we really look forward to seeing you again

Thank you again.

Arron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews