We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
70
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
70
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty shop fire pit toasting marshmallows no electricity vending machine tea lights fresh eggs wildflower meadow every morning great holiday bring tea water bottles hot and cold running water bbq utensils fabulous experience stayed here last week framlingham castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was the most expensive glamping experience we have had in the four years of our annual glamping holiday. The tent was very spacious, the beds very comfortable and the shower/toilet facilities very good. Two gas burners were available – excellent for tea/coffee making. The tents were spaced well apart. This is fine if you want privacy but not so good if you want children to be able to mix and play together.

We enjoyed visiting Suffolk – Southwold, Sutton Hoo and Thorpeness.

But this was a disappointing camping holiday. The site was effectively a wildflower meadow with many thistles in the long grass and mown paths leading to each tent. We asked for the long grass to be mown so that children could mix and play together. This was not done but a larger area in front of our tent was mown. Either the farmer wants to grow a wild flower meadow or provide a camping site where families and children can play and mix together. At the moment his priority is to have a wild flower meadow. The farm has no animals and crops are grown and no effort was made to explain what the farm does and how it operates. There was no farm tour.

The tent was poorly equipped in the kitchen area and we had to ask for BBQ utensils and a bottle opener. The farmer did not answer telephone calls and their phones were not set to switch to voicemail. So they were difficult to reach. We had to go down to the farmhouse and only after repeated knocking did we get to speak to the owner. The steps to our tent were full of stinging nettles so we had to be careful with bare feet.

The shop was the most poorly stocked one we have experienced. It was such a change from last year where, on a different glamping site in Dorset, we were able to order croissants, pizzas and bread daily.

We shall not book with Lantern and Larks next year if their other sites are similar to this one. There are much better glamping sites available. What we learned for next year is to pay attention to the spacing of tents, ensure children have space to play and mix if they want to (and they usually do) and ensure the farm has animals. They are such a focal point and everyone enjoys the usual mixing with animals on the farm tour.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Volmer565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternandLarks, Manager at Lantern & Larks - Sweffling Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Volmer565

Sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations.

We are committed to creating a wildflower meadow on site & do restrict grass cutting to the paths & the central play area. Some people love that, but sorry you didn’t.

The nettles & the inventory are areas we will check up on, but most guests find the tents are very well equipped – as is shown in the other TA comments. Thanks for the review & sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday.

Regards
Jeremy Duckworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

We rented two tents for a 4 night break. We were lucky with the weather which enhanced our stay. The tents are huge and beds comfortable. The wood burner works well as long as you give it time. We had 8 children with us ranging from 10 to 17 and they enjoyed themselves off their phones! The tents are very spaced out so private and the field is long grass. There’s no electricity and cool boxes for cold food which work ok. It’s back to basics in some ways but luxury eg duvets and proper beds. The fire pit was lovely at night and you’re near lovely places to visit. Thank you Laura and Andrew.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Wuziwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for a wonderful 3 nights and enjoyed it very much, especially the kids. The beds were so comfy and the tent was so big and spacious. Lots of space outside for the kids to run around and explore. We loved building fires and cooking the food outside on the fire pit. The tent was well equipped, just had to bring our own condiments/seasoning etc. The only negative thing was so many flies kept going inside so maybe bring something to deter them. Build the fire inside a couple hours b4 it gets chilly at night so that it gets nice and cosy and first thing in the morning. There is an honesty shop with a fridge/freezer which was handy although not really for storing your own stuff. And also an electrical socket in there if u were really desperate, otherwise there is no electricity on site. Bring tea bags and sugar! We went with 3 families and we all had an awesome time. There were picnic benches outside and lots of seating. Would have been more awesome if there was a play area for the kids although they managed to make their own fun and never got bored! I would definitely return

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 608sauyeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Met up with some friends here recently and didn't quite know what to expect, pleasantly surprised by what i did find though. Comfy beds and really well equipped "tents" made it really enjoyable. Only stayed for a couple of nights but would have been nice to spend more time there, clear night sky was really spectacular and by far the best I've ever seen it. Given the chance i'd love to go back again in the future and look around a bit more.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Goose1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Have just returned from a family escape to the dark nights of Suffolk. I wanted somewhere special to celebrate our daughters twenty-first and have some family time before the girls returned to university. The dog had to come to, said the girls! We had two nights of cooking on the wood burning range and fire pit; and then star and satellite spotting! The tents are extremely comfortable with great beds, duvets and pillows. The tea lights and hurricane lanterns help to create the atmosphere, and some ‘ magic fire’ sachets from the Honesty shop helped to change the flames of the fire pit to blues and greens. Fresh eggs from the farm made for a delicious breakfast. A special family break.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank B5113AQnancyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews