We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
67
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty shop fire pit fresh eggs vending machine tea lights every morning safari tent fabulous experience framlingham castle hot water great family great idea heavy rain lovely location couple of nights warm welcome lovely site
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Just returned from a wonderful week glamping at Sweffling Hall. Booked without hesitation having read the reviews and decided it was time our kids experienced camping with a bit of luxury added. Laura greeted us as soon as we arrived and gave us a brief low down on what we needed to know. We soon headed to our luxury tent "Kestrel" which was in a wonderful position with amazing views. Once unpacked and having eaten, Laura popped in to check we were all ok and to answer any questions we had. Poor Laura couldn't get away - what an inspiring amazing lady to chat to. Every morning the kids couldn't wait to bound out of bed and make the most of the fields surrounding us to play in. They also loved the honesty shop which was useful for those essentials we forgot. The vending machine for the eggs was a fabulous idea. Our days in Suffolk were spent visiting amazingly unspoiled beaches at Covehithe and The Deanes, stepping into wonderful history at Framlingham Castle, visiting the shops in Southwold, Crabbing at Walberswick and Orford, visiting Snape Maltings and hiring a boat at Thorpeness. There is plenty to do even if it does rain! The fire-pit was a big hit. We cooked many a meal on it and the kids loved to toast their marshmallows on it after. We stayed for seven nights and could have stayed longer. We were nervous campers before but I think we have found our experience very rewarding and would definitely be back soon. Thanks Laura for making us feel so welcome the kids are now longing to return!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

It was our first time glamping and we were not disappointed. We stayed in Kestrel which is in a very secluded spot looking out over the beautiful countryside, perfect for morning yoga and evenings sat around the camp fire toasting marsh mellows. Each evening a beautiful barn owl would swoop over and provide us with our own air display!!

Laura has thought of everything, the 'tent' was very well appointed and comfortable. The honesty shop is a great idea, we were able to collect fresh eggs each morning, and any last minute things we had forgotten. Will definitely be going back to Sweffling Hall.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Nikki787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

Just returned from a magical weekend at Sweffling Hall. We were celebrating my 70th birthday with our family, comprising my husband and I, our two daughters and their husbands and our grandchildren. We arrived with a little trepidation, would everyone enjoy it? With a very warm welcome from Laura and viewing the site and the tents I was delighted. We have camped as a family years ago and I camped as a leader with Guides, but this was the best. It was all the joy of camping without the difficult bits. Hot water, flush toilet and a hot shower made the difference, not to mention the wood burning stove to warm us in the evening as we went to bed. Our grandchildren aged 12, 10, 9, 8, and 3, had a fantastic time, with all the freedom they could wish for, playing football, cricket and flying their kites. The best bit for me was eating outdoors, all the cooking done on the outside fire pit, even breakfast was cooked outdoors, and sitting around the fire in the evening chill and just being happy together in the glorious countryside.
Thank you Lantern and Larks and especially Laura for a fabulous experience,

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

We’re a big fan of camping...but I think that may be spoiled for life. Glamping with Lantern & Larks was so much fun. We arrived and straight in to our luxury tent with beds, shower and kitchen. We had great weather all weekend and our two boys (son and nephew) spent the whole time outside running in the fields and having fun. So much to do nearby. We went to Framlingham Castle which the boys adored and we were staying the weekend of sweffling Hall country show which was fantastic. Highly recommend and I’m sure we’ll be back.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jemima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Sweffling Hall for a last minute weekend away as 4 adults. We enjoyed a glamping stay at the Rutland site earlier in the year and our friends were desperate to try a new site before the season ended, so off to Suffolk we went.
The sites are so fantastically different in settings and Laura and her family offer freshly laid eggs in the most fun vending machine I've ever experienced! We even got some double-yolk eggs on our breakfast table throughout the weekend, nothing beats fresh eggs on a farm! We stayed in "Kestrel" which is tucked a little further out of the way from the rest of the safari tents and enabled us to drive up to this tent - you can't normally do that, so with an injured ankle, this was a great bonus - (Emma in the office is fantastic for any advice pre-stay, chat your stay through with her and she will tailor it as best she can, really helpful).
The beds are so comfy (oh, a lay in here is the BEST medicine!), it's not camping at all... glamping converts through and through. We were blessed with great weather, if not a little chilly at night, as to be expected in October! The best part is being cosy under blankets on the sofa at dusk, lighting candles, sitting around the fire and drinking wine... heaven.
Laura joined us on the Friday night for half an hour or so to educate us on the noises we could expect to hear from the local wildlife... we enjoyed the calls of the local fox, various owls and birds and hoped to see some deer after her stories of their appearances outside our tent - unfortunately we didn't get to see them.
We had everything we needed to prepare full meals on the firepit and stove, we even enjoyed marshmallows over candlelight during the heavy rain... nothing would stop us from enjoying every element of our glamping stay!
Aldeburgh is so close, we enjoyed wandering on the beach, chips on the seafront and the countryside is perfect for dog walking. We had neighbours for the weekend, but barely saw them, this is the ultimate in a remote/but not far from civilisation weekend away.
My advice... turn off your phones, don't panic about signals and batteries.... light the fire, pour a glass of wine and enjoy being back to nature for a few days, it will seriously recharge your own batteries. We could have stayed for another night or two at least!
We didn't get to meet the famous 'Teddy" and his honesty shop stall was bare, but I hear he grows fantastic vegetables on the farm, so be sure to support his pocket money stall, it's a real gem.
We will be off to a new location next year, we love Lantern and Larks, even my friend, who swore she would hate it as she "doesn't do glamping" is a total convert!

Room tip: "Kestrel" is a fantastic tent for seclusion and easy access through a private track.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews