We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Lodge Leisure Ltd
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel Hotel(Halesworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randolph Hotel(Southwold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blyth Hotel(Southwold)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown(Southwold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Southwold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
108
33
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
33
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclay pigeon shootingsunday carverygolf coursefoot golflovely surroundingsjohn bidwellbarn owlseaside townwaters edgetassimo machineco opgreat weekendshort breakround of golffabulous staybeautiful suffolk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 157 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at high lodge for our 1st holiday together. The lodge (Nightingale) was at a very high standard. Felt like home from home. Having a private hot tub was one of the reasons we booked and being away in Mid November this was a perfect evening treat. Loved the secluded location and he scenery was lovely, being able to wake up have a coffee and watch the wildlife on the lake was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, and we are glad you chose High Lodge to spend your first holiday together. We would be delighted to welcome you back to High Lodge should you ever visit the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at High Lodge for a weekend getaway on 1st-4th Nov 2013. The lodge was fantastic (greenfinch) very nicely finished to a high standard, well equipped, beautifully decorated, warm and cosy. Shower lovely and bed really comfy. Added bonus of a private hot tub just outside the door and view over the lake was really relaxing. We used the cafe/bar for breakfast on Sat morning which was really nice, staff and service very good and on the Sunday we booked for a Carvey, it was absolutely delicious! Highly recommended. On the fri when we arrived to our lodge there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the living room, which was a shame, dont know how anyone could spoil these lodges! Mentioned it at reception the following morning and when we returned from our outing they had left an air freshener for us which was nice, and it helped. Overall, a fabulous place to stay, relaxing, unwinding and chilling, loved it! We SHALL return, Well done High Lodge!

Room Tip: They are all lovely..take your pick.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLisa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a relaxing weekend-that is exactly what the luxury lodges and their setting aim to do. All of our lodges are non-smoking, so it is a shame for our guests when others decide to break this rule, but we do monitor it as much as we can. We look forward to welcoming you to High Lodge again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Yesterday I attended a children's charity event at High Lodge, attended by approximately 100 people. Included in the package was a carvery lunch which was first class. Bearing in mind the large number of guests, the service was excellent, there was a good choice of dishes and the food was cooked to perfection and there was plenty available for seconds. There was also a number of superbly prepared sweets to chose from. The event itself was a great success and for me and many others, that I know of, we will be returning to High Lodge to enjoy their wonderful Sunday carvery service in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lecturer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your review on our charity day, in which with the help and support of all of our customers we were able to raise such a huge amount for two very worthwhile causes. Although the focus of the day was the fundraising, we are glad that you enjoyed your day, and had an enjoyable lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Rang Sunday morning to book a table for 12.30. On arrival there was no booking for us but we were told we were lucky as there was a table for 2 available anyway. Chef served the beef and then we helped ourselves to the rest, vegetables were so under cooked I couldn't cut through the cauliflower. I understand they need to be firm, as not to go soggy left in the tins, but I don't think these were even blanched! The gravy was watery and tasteless. Nice Yorkshire pudding though. No call back. Little atmosphere, feels like a village hall with the tired looking red chairs and wipe clean, lime green cloth. When the people near us were offered desserts, there was no menu, just some scribble on a notepad to look at. The waitress then had to find a pen to take the order. Whilst paying our bill another couple were looking to book for the following week, the waitress didn't know if she could do that so asked a colleague, who informed her that she could but neither of them knew how to. Oh dear, perhaps management could look at training the staff so they don't appear so clueless?
We will not bother coming back, such a shame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

I am disappointed and sorry to hear that our carvery lunch did not meet your expectations on your visit. We take all comments, both positive and negative very seriously which is why we ask for your feedback on our comments cards after your meal to help us continually provide the best service for our customers. I have to say that none of the other comments cards completed on the day reflect your experience or issues, and many customers have expressed an interest in returning for future carveries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The lodges are really very lovely. Well equipped, beautifully decorated, overlooking a very pretty lake on one side and fields views on the other. We had a two bedroom lodge with a very nice size hot tub.

The staff are very friendly and you feel genuinely welcome (there isn't a long list of instructions or inventory to go through or any over the top warnings on hot tub usage etc). It's the perfect place to unwind. There's a great little cafe onsite offering various dishes for breakfast and lunch. It also opens until 7pm on Wednesdays.

There also seem to be a regular list of events at the site (there was a craft fayer while we were there). Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and golf is also available.

The only thing that would have made our stay better would have been wifi - to book restaurants and plan our day. It would also have been nice to have the option to have a change of towels through the week (as there is no washer/dryer in the lodges). The welcome pack did state that additional towels were available through reception so this may have been our fault but it would have been nice if they'd been changed as a matter of course - one week with one set of towels isn't really enough (and we brought our own beach towels with us for use with the hot tub).

All in all a great holiday and we would be delighted/hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlodge, Customer Relationship Management at High Lodge Leisure Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay, and that you felt all of our staff made you feel welcome during it. We hope that you would consider staying with us at High Lodge again if you visit this area of Suffolk. Wifi, although available in our clubhouse is not yet available in the lodges, and we do agree that this would compliment our site further. Therefore one of High Lodges future investments will be to extend the wifi to the lodges, although no date has yet been set for this. Thank you for your comments on the changing of the towels, of which we will certainly consider for any future improvements than can be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews