We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organized adventure”

Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Book your place on one of our orangutan tours and our experienced guides will unveil a world rarely seen – wild orangutans feeding on the banks of the Sekoyner River and other amazing wildlife sightings in Borneo’s Tanjung Puting National Park.Meet rehabilitated orangutans at the famous Camp Leakey, along with macaques, Proboscis monkeys, gibbons, and other mammals.On our wild orangutan tours you’ll travel leisurely along the river, spotting crocodiles and monitor lizards basking in the sun, and watching stunning kingfishers swoop in front of your klotok. If you’re lucky you’ll hear the deep flapping sound of hornbills overhead, or find delicate and beautiful butterflies landing on you.This is the camping experience with a difference! On your orangutan tour you can spend a night under the jungle stars in the comfort and safety of your traditional klotok river boat – where the sounds of the forest will lull you into a gentle sleep, and awake you at dawn with a magnificent chorus of exotic birds and insects.Exploring the Borneo rainforest really is the trip of a lifetime. And to ensure your wild orangutan tour is absolutely perfect, we’ll design your own, unique itinerary. To find out more about our unforgettable tours, and what we can arrange for you, get in touch through our contact page.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We did a 3 day - 2 night tour with our 17 year old daughter and had a wonderful time! Right from the start, everything was very well organized and smoothly run. Our guide Nina met us at the airport and quickly took us through the local registration process and right onto the boat. We met our captain, first mate and cook and off we went, quickly reaching the river estuary and entering the peacefully quiet passage into the jungle. As others have mentioned, the food was fabulous and abundant and the bottled water was always available. The whole atmosphere on the boat was like luxury camping and we were encouraged to just relax and enjoy the ride - which we did! Along the sides we saw many long-tailed macaques and proboscus monkeys as well as a couple of crocodiles (no swimming!). But of course the highlight was seeing the orangutans - a few along the side of the river and about 30 among the three feeding stations that we visited. The boat docks and we walked into the forest about 1km to the platform, the bananas were dumped on top, and then we wait - as the guides make hooting callsto draw the apes! Soon, you could see far away trees start to sway as the orangutans made their way towards us and they would come from all directions and even pass right through the clearing to get to their fruit! It was fantastic and very much an "in the wild" experience.
I think the 3D/2N time frame was perfect and wouldn't really recommend doing any longer. If you are not big on the camping lifestyle, even one night would be good. We did have heavy ran for both nights, but the crew quickly put out the awning tarps and we stayed perfectly dry the whole time. Having the mattresses under the mosquito netting also provided great protection - however, we were taking prophylactic malarial medication just in case.
Our guide Nina was very knowledgeable about the area, the local peoples and also the flora and fauna and she spoke English very well. We enjoyed just chatting with her on the boat as we cruised the river.
Hannah was great to work with via email - she was quick to respond and easily accomodated food preferences and schedule changes. She also communicated all our info to our guide.

4  Thank Nbrown900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildOrangutanTours, Owner at Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear NBrown200,

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your experience! It is a great help to future guests, seeing what other guests have written about their adventure.

I'm glad that you got on well with Nina and the crew, and yourselves and your daughter enjoyed your time in Tanjung Puting so much!

All the best, and thank you again!
Kind regards
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our trip with Wild Orangutan Tours in late September was truly amazing. The river trip, Camp Leaky, and the incredible opportunities to view orangutans and other creatures was an unforgettable experience.

What made this trip stand out as one of the best adventures ever, was the wonderful crew, starting with our guide Sabrie. As a former employee of Camp Leaky, his knowledge of orangutans, and the surrounding jungle, are impressive.

Sabrie seemed to know all of the rehabilitated orangutans by name and personality. And his knowledge of other flora and fauna was no less impressive. He led us on a night trek into the jungle... tarantulas galore, a large scorpion, a monster millipede, and a deadly hairy caterpillar were highlights.

Our assistant guide, Mr. Inas, was also very knowledgeable about the orangutans and the surrounding forest. He, too, is a former employee of Camp Leaky, and knows the forest and its inhabitants like the back of his hand.

Norja, the cook, worked in a tiny kitchen below deck to prepare three lovely meals a day-- there was more food than we could eat, with good variety. Boat Captain Basis and Assistant Captain Nordin were also friendly, helpful and hospitable... Captain Basis kept us laughing whenever we were docked.

We would also be remiss, if we did not mention Hannah, whose advise and assistance before our trip was excellent.

My husband and I have travelled and worked extensively throughout Asia, and this trip counts as one of our best experiences ever. We highly recommend Wild Orangutan tours.

3  Thank CGNToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildOrangutanTours, Owner at Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear CGNToronto,

What a beautiful review - thank you so much! We are pleased that you enjoyed your tour so much, and had so many positives things to say about your guides and crew! It is great to hear how it compares to other adventures you have taken, and that you rate your trip so highly!

Thank you so much! All the best for your future!
Kindest,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We did a 4 day 3 night tour withWild Orangutan Tours that was excellent. The booking (we, 2 girls from Australia shared a Klotok with an American Guy we met through Trip Advisor) was handled very professionally and the guide (Mike) was amazing, completely in touch with Nature and a great photographer also. Would highly recommend the tour and also ask for Mike if you can get him as he really cares about the environment and the Orangutans. The food was also very good..We were picked up from our hotel and dropped back after the trip...highly Recommend\

4  Thank marion007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildOrangutanTours, Owner at Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Marion007,
Thank you for taking the time to add your review. We are pleased to hear that your tour went well, and you enjoyed it so much! Share tours can work very well, or not so well, depending on the mix of characters sharing - so we're happy to hear that you all got on ok together.
All the best for the future, and hope your memories of Tanjung Puting live on!
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We travelled to Borneo with Wild Orangutan Tours having booked over a year in advance! Like everyone else you feel a little scary having only dealt with Hannah over the net or occasionally over the telephone. We were delighted to say the least when we arrived at Pangkalan Bun airport to be met by the wonderful Mr Sabrie. He took us on our short taxi ride to Kumai where we boarded the klotok (boat). Our wonderful, once in a lifetime, trip started here. We met the brilliant crew who took great care of us for the following 5 days, 4 nights. We were extremely well fed by Miss Nia who managed to cook the most amazing meals and snacks for us. Our drinks (coke and water) were always chilled and the beer we pre ordered was always kept cold. Although we didn't have any washing facilities on board this didn't hamper our experience - a packet of wet wipes, a can of deodorant and we were sorted! We were most blessed when on our first day we saw Tom the big daddy orang-utan. We were so lucky to see many orang-utan, long tailed monkeys and probiscus monkeys to name but a few. On our third day we went to a turtle conservation site and although in its very early stages was again a great experience especially given the fact that they allowed us to use their fresh water well to shower and wash our hair!!!! All I can say is well done to Hannah for organising these trips and most importantly we would like to say an enormous thank you to Mr Sabrie for looking after us beyond the call of duty. Our invitation to his home was very humbling and we were honoured to be asked. If I had one disappointment about our trip it was that we chose to stay at the Rimba Lodge on our second night- big mistake HUGE not the greatest experience and we wish we had chosen to stay aboard the klotok for that extra night. Don't think about booking with Wild Orangutan Tours - DO IT Theyre brilliant!

4  Thank Sayitasitis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildOrangutanTours, Owner at Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Sayitasitis,

Thank you so very much for your details review of your trip! We're really pleased to read how it went, and to know that everything was to your liking! After you booked so far in advance, we're really happy to know that it all worked out so well!

Glad you got the trip of a lifetime that you wished for!

All the best for your future travels,
Kind regards,
Hannah, and your crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I did a three night klotok tour with Wild Orangutan Tours (WOT) in July 2013, and we had an excellent time. Initially, we were a little nervous booking with WOT over email communications, but our trust in them paid off, as they were incredibly professional and helpful and delivered the tour exactly as they said in the email communications before we left.

Our guide along the trip, Ba'in, was an awesome nature-spotter, and demonstrated an excellent knowledge of the area. He spoke reasonably good English, but most of all we were very impressed with reverence and respect for all living things we encountered (even the fire ants and leeches!). His love of the local nature was always apparent and a joy to experience.

The other boat crew's captain and helper were also very attentive to our needs and very good-natured (at times even serenading us with what they knew of Hotel California). The female cook delivered absolutely delicious and abundant meals for us, despite the fact that we were on a boat in the jungle, and she was observing Ramadan.

In addition to many orangutans, we were able to see proboscis monkeys, gibbons, macaques, a tarantula (during our night walk in the jungle, which was sort of creepy), eagles, and too many other insects and birds to list. I would consider the wildlife viewing opportunity excellent, and I enjoyed seeing the many other plants, animals, and even the insects, as much as I enjoyed seeing the orangutans. Bring a good camera!

The only small issue we encountered was the volume of boats and other tourists. Unfortunately, we had to go in high-season which meant that the feeding stations (especially Camp Leaky) usually had 30-40 other tourists observing the orangutans at feeding time. I'm sure this could be easily avoided by booking outside of July and August.

Also, other tourists should expect that the vast majority of the orangutans were at the feeding stations, which made the trip feel more like visiting a zoo than experiencing a truly wild jungle adventure. This is likely not an issue for most tourists (us included) who gladly sacrifice "wildness" for the creature comforts that WOT offers and the sheer abundance of orangutans that the controlled environment of Tanjung Puting.

2  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildOrangutanTours, Owner at Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and for sharing your tour experience with the TripAdvisor community! We are very happy that you enjoyed it so much, and that you got on well with Ba'in and your crew!

Sounds like you saw some great wildlife, but sorry about the tourist numbers, which can get quite high during the summer.

All the best, and thanks again!
Hannah and the WOT team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Pangkalan Bun, Central Kalimantan
 
Central Kalimantan, Kalimantan
Pangkalan Bun, Central Kalimantan
 

Been to Wild Orangutan Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing