We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Expereince”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Unique Expereince”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not Rimba Lodge necessarily, but in staying at this facility you need to put into context the fact that you are deep in the Indonesian Jungle and typically are at this location because you are visiting Camp Leakey in the Tanjung Puting National Park. We boarded a Klotok in Kumai Harbour after having flown from Jakarta to Pankalang Bun (PB). From the time of getting off the Air Trigana flight at PB, until being dropped back at the same airport 5 days later, we had an amazing and memorable journey. Rimba Lodge is basic, as it should be for an Eco Lodge in the middle of nowhere. It is basic, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is basic, the rooms are basic and generally the surrounding is well suited to the environment, with monkeys happily playing in the tress overhead. The staff are wonderful and very helpful, and always with a big smile on their face. We spent very little time at Rimba, as we weren't there to sit by a pool and drink cocktails. We were there to see Orangutans, plain and simple. And that's what we did. It was amazing. We highly recommend the fantastic guides and staff who work on the klotoks that traverse the Sekonyer River. We can't wait to return to this amazing location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samoht103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thankyou for this report and especially your comments about our staff. These are greatly appreciated and we will try and improve our breakfasts. Yiu are right, the main reason for coming is to see Orangutans and we have been described as the best place in the world to do this. We exist as a Conservation company, using only local people to empower them with a strong motive to protect the forests, the vital habitat of the orangutan.

With regards,

Alan Wilson, Chairman of the Board, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    86
    40
    18
    11
See reviews for
58
104
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I (experienced travellers, early sixties) had 3 nights at Rimba Lodge having booked a package where our flights, transfers, meals, guide and klotok boat were all included. Given that one visits Rimba only for the wildlife, it is appropriate that this review is in the context of the complete experience. The booking and payment was efficient and well organized, even when the airlines had several late schedule changes which meant reorganizing a connecting flight from Jakarta to Denpasar after we left.

Getting there: Jakarta to Pangkalanbunn with Kalstar, left and arrived on time. "Andy", our guide was at the airport to meet us and quickly hustled us into a taxi, arriving at the Kumai waterfront shortly thereafter. The klotok took about 2 hours travelling up the Sekonyer River, stopping at the third feeding station where we had our first encounter with the orang utans. We arrived at Rimba late in the afternoon as the local proboscis monkeys were competing for tree space with the resident macaques and creating a very noisy and chaotic scene!

The accommodation: Rimba is a jungle lodge, several pavilions (each pavilion containing several rooms) connected by timber boardwalks erected over swampy water. The Emerald Room was large with a/c and hot water (there are more basic rooms also) and the bed comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. A couple of minor gripes - the a/c was very noisy, my wife fell through a rotten plank on the boardwalk and nearly ended up in the water ( could have been a major one), and the food was a bit hit and miss (loved the gado gado and spring rolls though).

The experience: Awesome! From the time we stepped off the plane until the time we re-boarded for our departing flight, this was a gob-smacking experience. Andy, our guide was informative, knowledgeable and a great deal of fun. The klotok crew were keen and as quick as anyone to sight something of interest and Desy, the lodge manager very helpful. Of course, I haven't mentioned the orang utans which was the main purpose of the trip. Over two days we saw over 30 individuals, some wild along the river bank, some at the feeding stations but, best of all, a very close and intimate encounter with several deep in the forest (thanks Andy).

This was a memorable experience and we feel privileged to have been able to enjoy it. We would thoroughly commend Rimba Lodge as a most enjoyable and hassle free way to meet the orang utans.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for this report which clearly understands the lodge and the difference between our lodge and a resort. We are a Conservation company using only local labour to empower them to assist the protection of a vital forest habitat. Thank you for staying with us as you support the future of orangutans on this planet.

With best regards,

Alan Wilson, Chairman of the Board, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

l stayed at Rimba Lodge for 7 nights, lucky me. You are here to see the wildlife and experience life in the Bornean jungle, and it is entirely appropriate for that.
The aircon was bliss after a long day in the humidity and heat.
The staff were great, and very friendly.
Laundry service was excellent.
Hot water was plentiful.
The food was absolutely fine.
Personally l was happy not to have wi fi, it is good to get away completely, and as for comments re no evening activities, when you are up to be on the klotok at 6ish every morning, early nights are good.
At some point upgrading of decor and bathrooms will be necessary, but until then enjoy it for what it is - a lodge in the jungle, you are privileged to be there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christinemsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for this report about your 7 day stay at the Rimba. It summarises very well the many aspects of our the lodge. We are trying to improve every year and have the bathrooms in our sights.

With regards,

Alan Wilson, Chairman of the Board, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I will not comment on the room as we have to acknowledge that we are indeed in the middle of the jungle. They were clean with hot water and working AC.
The main concern is food! The dinner is correct but nothing special, they use sugar in every dish. The meal cooked on the boat were way better.
But the worst was really the breakfast: only beverages were coffe, tea and water ...don t expect a canned juice.
Then you have two pot with some eggs( first day, blackish scrambled eggs) and a savory dish( nasi goreng on the second day, awarded the worst nasi goreng of my 3 years in Indonesia). Try to eat on the boat!
The office clerk was not really helpful regarding our tickets ...
I would not recommend this lodge, except to people only hoping for a good night sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We do not accept the description of our food in this review. However we do accept that we must improve in all aspects of our management and that we do have OFF days, especially when our chief Cook is on leave. Luckily we have many supporters of our food. For example the famous Emirates Airlines in a recent article in their airline magazine and many web reports. We are a Conservation company and only use local foodstuffs some of which come to us by boat.

Alan Wilson, Chairman, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We pensioners booked direct with Ecolodgesindonesia for a trip to see the wild orangutans. We were not disappointed and were thrilled to see so many. We opted to stay in the lodge as opposed to a Klotok as we felt at our stage of life we wanted ac and hot showers. The lodge is basic but what one would expect in a jungle. The staff are polite and helpful. For us the menu was limited but adequate. It would have been nice to have had a little more variety. There was no choice of evening meals for us. We stayed in an Amethyst room which was fine; we were not bitten although we did use repellent diligently, but we saw no mosquitoes or 'creepy crawlies' The shower worked well and we slept well.
We talked to people staying on Klotoks, and it appeared their food was excellent with many local treats. We took a 3 night, four day trip. The lunch on the Klotok the first and second days was very nice, although our boat was not the best. We had to change boats on the 3rd day and used the Rimba boat which had no catering and we returned to the lodge for lunch. Apart from lunch we had very little else offered to us on the Klotok, peanuts and fizzy drinks, whereas our friends staying on the Klotoks had treats like deep fried bananas. We felt a little 'short changed' although it certainly did not spoil our enjoyment and thrill of seeing the orangutans and other wild life. We had lots of early nights as there was little else to do in the evenings.
Our only hiccup was when Trigana Air cancelled our flight (Apparently not an uncommon occurrance) from Jakarta to Pangkalan Bun, but somehow we were rebooked on Kalstar and so this did not disrupt our trip up the river.

Room Tip: Pick an airconditioned room, preferably the more expensive ones, but ours was adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for this report which showed positives and some negatives. We will look into your complaints re the boat and thank you for supporting us.

Alan Wilson, Chairman of the Board, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Rimba lodge is accessible via the river about an hour and a bit from the mainland, the journey in is like leaving civilisation behind and feels like you are in the middle of no where but with comfy rooms, great restaurant and lovely staff who speak English as well. The macaque monkeys wake you with their noise and running over the roof, the monitor lizard hides under the lodges and geckos catch the bugs, the rooms have mosquito nets but these are more curtains than true nets but you will need mosi repellant anyway - we went in oct 2013 and only encountered a couple of bites.
From this base you chug out down the river to explore the jungle river side for orangs and proboscis monkeys, trek to feeding stations, visit local villages and buy and plant trees to help with the reforestation. Blissful

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with air on - the humidity is high an you'll be grateful for it on your return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your report which is gratefully received. Your positive comments about all aspects of our lodge especially our food is appreciated.

Alan Wilson, Chairman of the Board, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in October and enjoyed the stay. It was very similar to a place we stayed in the Amazon so we knew what to expect and at least Rimba had a/c and electric light which the Amazon didn't.

We had an Emerald Room at the front of the property with a view of the river. The room was clean although, as others have mentioned, the shower drains down between the floorboards so it feels a bit odd. Flipflops are provided but I had my own. There were mosquito nets and a mosi killer provided and we were not bitten during the day or the night although we were wearing a lot of repellent at all times.

The breakfast was limited, especially when a group arrived and they served a buffet. Before that we were asked what we wanted from a menu and it was freshly cooked - the pancakes were excellent. The buffet breakfast was pre-cooked and basic.

Dinner was chosen from the menu earlier in the day and was fine. No alcohol is served but they do have a limited selection of soft drinks including, I believe, a non-alcoholic beer, although we didn't try this.

The thing to remember here is that you are here for a reason. You are out all day on the klotok, your lunch is served on board (our cook was first class so we enjoyed those meals more than any at the lodge). You are here to see the orang utans and we certainly saw plenty of them, both wild and rehabilitated.

We also saw a couple of snakes, gibbons, proboscis monkeys and lots of butterflies but were surprised at the lack of birds.

We visited the local village which was interesting and bought a carved orang utan as a souvenir. I think they are missing a trick here as I wanted to buy cuddly orang utans to bring back for my grandchildren but there was nothing like that either at Rimba, the village, the airport at Pangkalan Bun or even Kuala Lumpur airport. A fundraising opportunity perhaps?

The staff were all friendly and polite. A couple of the youngest were a little shy and their English was limited but given where the property is and that they are using staff recruited from the local village they are doing a very good job and providing plenty of opportunities. The village appeared to be quite prosperous in comparison with some others we saw.

Whatever the limitations of Rimba it has to be more comfortable for those, like ourselves, of mature years, than sleeping on the boat.

All in all Rimba Lodge was exactly what we expected and we enjoyed our stay. We wish them well in improving the business and the opportunities for local staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for this comprehensive, realistic and excellent report. We are exactly as you say and always need to improve. Our main aim is to empower local people to assist in vital conservation of a key species of ape - the orangutan

With regards,

Alan Wilson, Chairman of the Board, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkalan Bun
15.4 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
#1 of 2 in Pangkalan Bun
157 reviews
14.7 mi away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
50 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Kecubung Hotel
Grand Kecubung Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antoneri Lodge
Antoneri Lodge
#6 of 8 in Moni
51 reviews
15.9 mi away
Gloria Rooms
Gloria Rooms
#5 of 8 in Pangkalan Bun
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Property: Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
Address: Sekonyer River | Kumai, Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Pangkalan Bun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge Pangkalan Bun, Kalimantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing