We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Kecubung Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Kecubung Hotel
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, before and after my Tanjung Puting trip. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very pleasant. The pool was a real pleasure on a hot afternoon and breakfasts were delicious. The only criticism I could have is that the bathrooms in the old building are a little dated, but I'm sure an upgrade is on the cards. A great place to stay if you are spending a few nights in PB.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley_Finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    51
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
16
45
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here before heading to tanjung puting. The room was very clean and the pool was great. We had a wonderful breakfast that was included. The staff was very helpful. The wing we were in was not quite finished and you could see down the elevator shaft. Not a big deal and will be great when it is finished.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwilenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setiawan S, Managing Director at Grand Kecubung Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Salam Hangat... Thank you for staying at the Grand Kecubung Hotel - Pangkalan Bun. It is indeed a privilege to have you stay with us.

We are glad to know that your visit was a very pleasant one.

The elevator shaft that you mentioned is now complete. It is made of stainless steel and mirror finished. We had to choose very carefully to make it look the best.

Once again, thank you for your compliments,. Your appreciation of our staff's efforts will truly motivate them and we look forward to having you back at our hotel.


Yours Sincerely,
Setiawan Siemon
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in the hotel after being on a tour of the Tajung Puting Park for 3 days. We were shocked to find this "European" decor/styled hotel. I'm not positive they know what the overall theme of the hotel is, but it was clean, provided a very nice breakfast and pool setting. We stayed one night, and at the cost of 650,000 Rup, it was expensive but afforded us a nice rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonatha1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setiawan S, Managing Director at Grand Kecubung Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Salam Hangat... Thank you for choosing Grand Kecubung Hotel as your preferred hotel in Pangkalan Bun. It is a privilege to have you stay with us.

We are delighted to hear you like our hotel best compared to others. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed your breakfast and the pool. Indeed, Our swimming pool featuring children's pool and jacuzzi are most desired by guests.

We will maintain the standard of breakfast that you like by adding few more items to give a variety of selections.

I will share your lovely comment with the team to maintain our service standards.

Once again, thank you for your generous comment, and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,
Setiawan Siemon
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

First time in kalimantan, Impressed by the hotel lobby
But we got the old room maybe because other rooms are in renovation.
The bed matress wasnt comfy,the room was dark as well as the bathroom.
The water smelled bad ( too tired to ask why to the staff)
Breakfast was ok, staffs were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canineLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setiawan S, Managing Director at Grand Kecubung Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Salam hangat… Thank you for staying at the Grand Kecubung Hotel – Pangkalan Bun. It is a privilege to have you stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our level of service. Regarding the issue that you mentioned, we are taking your input seriously, and we conducted a meeting with the related departments to insure that this rare event does not happen again.

Your comment regarding the staff is greatly appreciated, and we will pass them on to keep up their commitment to excellent service.

We invite you to return to our hotel and experience our Grand Deluxe Room, located in the new wing, the Grand Deluxe Room is an exclusive product of Grand Kecubung Hotel, featuring modern and elegance design.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Kecubung Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Setiawan Siemon
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

For many years we have stayed at this hotel -known as the Blue Kecubung (named after the local gem) until quite recently when it became the Grand Kecubung. Perhaps this new name coincides with the new second wing built in 2012. For Kalimantan (Indonesian Borneo) I would actually rate this hotel excellent, but I think most Western travelers would probably then be expecting some 5 star resort. Every time we've been here (sometimes for weeks at a time) we comment on the cleanliness of the hotel. The employees are polite and eager to make your stay a good one. The bed is comfortable. Rooms have a portable air conditioning unit which do a surprisingly good job of cooling. The rooms have large windows which make the rooms sunny, but the windows do not open. In equatorial heat and humidity, you probably would not want this anyway. Sometimes our shower has only cool to lukewarm water, but that seems to vary with the time of day. The location is convenient to the town of Pangkalan Bun. Unless the kareoke lounge has just reopened as of late 2012, we are surprised to see pictures of the Kareoke area featured as it has it has been closed down for years beginning in late 2007 and was still closed when we were there a couple of months ago as of this writing. There is a restaurant in the lower level. They have a nice buffet breakfast with both Asian and western type foods, juices, coffee, tea, and eggs made to order. Box lunches can be ordered if so desired, although most tours as well as the klotok boat tours provide food for their guests. This restaurant also serves dinner nightly. Rooms have hot water pots with baskets of tea bags and snacks in the "bar" area-shown in our bedroom photo. Laundry service is available for lengthy stays. Over the years, the television service has expanded greatly from just a couple of channels to several, and the last few years this has included an English speaking news channel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fine.There really isn't a "bad" or "good" room. This i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasVegasTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setiawan S, Director at Grand Kecubung Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Salam hangat... and thank you for choosing the Grand Kecubung Hotel as your preferred hotel in Pangkalan Bun.

It is indeed an honor to have you as one of our loyal guests. Nothing pleases us more than hearing that you are delighted with our service and facilities.

I will share your lovely comments with our team to motivate them in maintaining that standard of service at Grand Kecubung Hotel. There have been many changes since your last stay with us.

Our swimming pool, along with the jacuzzi and children's pool, has opened at the end of the year; The Grand Deluxe rooms featuring modern and elegant design are now available for your comfort; Our Grand Deluxe Terrace rooms have direct access to the swimming pool; The new restaurant, featuring outdoor dining area overlooking to the pool, offers a romantic dining experience; And much more...

We hope the new facilities will better accommodate your needs and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our newly refurbished hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Setiawan Siemon, Director
Grand Kecubung Hotel - Pangkalan Bun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I think most people would agree that the foyer and seating area is very attractive and comfortable at The Blue Kecubung.

There was some confusion when we checked in as I had booked and paid for an Executive Room (bit of a language problem but I think there were none avail) but we discovered later that we were actually given a New Delux Room. The only difference I think between the two rooms is the Executive has tea and coffee making facilities and a safe. They possibly would have compensated us for the approx $8 difference in price per night (we were there for 2 nights) if we had made a fuss but we didn't bother. The room was quite nice and had obviously been refurbished. Clean, comfortable bed, good air con. spacious enough.

The restaurant is not air cond. so it is very warm despite the ceiling fans and appears a bit on the dingy side - in need of some TLC I guess? We were pleasantly surprised when a waiter (whose English was good) remembered our names immediately and called us by name whenever we saw him - we were quite impressed! (How embarrassing I've forgotten HIS name!) He was lovely and eager to answer any of our questions. (In fact we found all the staff at the hotel were friendly and a very nice Manager too). We had a couple of meals at the restaurant and I enjoyed a delicious chicken & veg stir fry one night. It was not an elaborate meal but exactly what I wanted - lots of veges and chicken in a simple sauce with rice.

The breakfasts were fairly basic but quite adequate. You could have an omelette or waffles if you fancied it?

We had laundry done during our stay - efficiently and neatly folded - not expensive either.

The hotel is expanding next door so there are building works being carried out at the moment but it didn't interfere with us.

We would stay there again if we ever return to Pangkalanbun.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tembomamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nawaites, Director at Grand Kecubung Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Salam hangat… and thank you for staying at the Grand Kecubung Hotel Pangkalan Bun. It is a privilege to have you stay with us.

We are very delighted to hear that the services provided by our staff exceeded your expectations and you would stay with us again if you come back to Pangkalan Bun.

I sincerely regret the confusion regarding the room and on behalf of all the staff I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. Should you come back to our hotel, please let me know (my email is setiawan@bluekecubunghotel.com). I would like to personally assure that you will be fairly compensated and properly served so that you will have a memorable stay with us.

Once again thank you for your insight and we are looking forward to having another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Setiawan Siemon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Until recently Hotel Blue Kecubung in Pangkalan Bun (Western Central Kalimantan) was the lead Hotel. As a result, it used to be over priced but visitors had no choice but to settle for Hotel Blue Kecubung. At a rate of Rp625,000 per night, it is more expensive than leading 3 star hotels in Jakarta.
Facilities available are minimal, & rooms need urgent refurbishing,
I would not recommend this hotel to visitors but instead tell them to check out the newer hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setiawan S, Director at Grand Kecubung Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Salam Hangat... Thank you for your valuable comments. It is indeed a privilege to have you stay with us at the Grand Kecubung Hotel Pangkalan Bun.

We understand that you were not satisfied with your room since it had not been refurbished. We would like to apologize for the discomfort.

As you can see on our web page, we had a major refurbishment to our facilities and most of the existing rooms. Also, the rest of the rooms have been closed for renovation. This assures that all guests will have a newly refurbished room.

We are also building new rooms (Grand Deluxe and Suite Rooms) and other facilities which have been in operation at almost 80 percent since October 2012. We plan to be fully operational by the end of the year, providing a higher standard of experience to our premier guests who always seek the best.

We offer competitive rates. Our published rates start from IDR 500,000/night. We often have promotions up to 50 percent off the published rates.

Should you come back to our hotel, please contact me (my email is setiawan@bluekecubunghotel.com). I would like to assist you in finding the best promotion to suit you and personally ensure your stay is a pleasant one.

We are looking forward to having another opportunity to welcome you to our newly refurbished hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Setiawan Siemon
Director Grand Kecubung Hotel Pangkalan Bun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pangkalan Bun hotels
1.7 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
#1 of 2 in Pangkalan Bun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
15.7 mi away
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pangkalan Bun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kecubung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kecubung Hotel

Property: Grand Kecubung Hotel
Address: Jln. Domba No. 1, Pangkalan Bun 74111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkalan Bun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Kecubung Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Kecubung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kecubung Hotel Pangkalan Bun, Kalimantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing