We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The furthest East of the Indonesia Archipelago...but not yet a jewel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Papua
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Jayapura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It took me almost 7 hours to get to Jayapura and I was really looking forward to a nice warm bed. The road to the hotel was pleasant enough, with views and scenery reminicent of Australia and NZ than one would normally associate with Indonesia. The first view of the hotel looks inviting enough (although I must say than the corporate picture looks better) and the rooms are.......adequate. I stayed for 1 night on business and thus I was not too concerned at things I would have if this was a vacation, for a longer stay, and with family. Bed was ok. Decor was functional if boring. Internet is expensive and even so only at the restaurant do you get WiFi. Ask for the sea view; otherwise the view of the street will be both noisy and boring. Breakfast spread was quite considerable in terms of quantity and choice but it was not my favourite.
Check-in staff were courteous and efficient. And if you want to catch a beautiful sunset, this is the place to be as it is at the bottom of a bay that faces West. Either watch it from your room, or from the restaurant downstairs.
If you are staying in Jayapura, I believe this is the better of the 2.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, sea facing room. You might just catch a lovely Papua sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfasud14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stay for a night in this hotel for a business travel. The room is good, especially if you stay at Deluxe type room. The view of Jayapura port you can see clearly from your room. Unfortunately, the reception service is lack. Check in need a long time and breakfast is simple.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I'd loved stay at this hotel....satisfication.....awesome view...good food...and very strategic location to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agustinus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

a friend of mine warned me about traveling to Papua. this eastern-most province of Indonesia might be one of the less developed regions in this country. However I just thought that since I will be staying in swiss-belhotel, well, i wont have trouble. And I was wrong.

1) they had not changed my towel for 3 days in a row
2) they did not clean the dish from yesterday's room service
3) they made me came directly to the manager to solve issue #1 and #2

I know this might be less developed region. But for God sake, they'd better take off their swiss-bel brand name. This was not a swiss-bel standard at all and they charged as if they were par to those standards. Totally disappointment.

Next time I'd better stay at local. same terrible service at much lower cost.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ariavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acting-GM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Papua, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear Valued Partner

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service during your stay.
First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay with us.

We followed up immediately your comment about room service clear up issue with our F&B Manager and Housekeeping Manager. We will have better coordination in regard of clearing up in our guest rooms.

About the towel, actually we have an 'Environment Card' hanging on towel rack, mention that we will change the towel up to our guest's request. This is part of our concern about environment.
We have remind again our Front Office staff to inform all our guest's about this program during check in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-belhotel Papua.
In the next visit you may email me at gmsbj@swiss-belhotel.com.So i will be gladly to welcome you

Best Regards,

Robby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

From the moment we walked in, they were fabulous. Great breakfast buffet. Rooms were fine and had great AC. Welcome drinks hit the spot. LOVED IT! Internet was to slow and expensive but consider were you are and it is fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Repsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acting-GM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Papua, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Valued Partner

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities during your stay.
It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.
We take into our consideration about our internet service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-belhotel Papua.
In the next visit you may email me at gmsbj@swiss-belhotel.com. I will be gladly to welcome you


Best Regards,

Robby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Undoubtedly the best hotel in this town replete of good hotels...but the staff communciations and service attitude leaves a lot to be desired. On our second stay there within a week the wheels really came off. On check-in they discovered they only had one non-smoking room left - we had booked two, as per our our previous stay. Instead of simply accepting their mistake and upgrading us to an available non-smoking room, teh reception dithered and were totally evasive with our agent who argued with them for more than half an hour. The we asked to speak to a manager. They disppeared for a while and told us he was "not available". Eventaully our agent did manage to convince them to upgrade one of us to solve their problem. That night we happened to meet the General Manager and Guest Relations team over a drink and it turned out that the reception staff had made NO attempt to contact him - he had been available all the time!

I mentioned to him that on our previosu stay I had had "the best hamburger outside of the US" in the hotel restaurant and that we wanted to repeat the experience that evening! Famous last words!!! When we ordered two that evening we were told that the hotel no longer had the ingredients! The hotel arranges breakfast from 5am for early flights. By 5:15 am the breakfast room was still deserted although some of the buffet had been laid out the night before. We did manage to rustle up someone who brought along cold coffee and managed to prepare some eggs just before our 5:30 departure.

We'd checked out before 5:00 am and when we were loading our bags into the taxi the reception staff accused us of having "stolen hand towels" from our room!!! Imagine what the service fosus is at 5:00 am in the morning!!! Even if we had stole a hand towel (we hadn't!) it might have been diplomatic not to make this kind of accusation in public!

Howver limited the hotel resources in Jayapura, we will not be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Get one facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acting-GM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Papua, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Valued Partner

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities during your stay.
We followed up immediately your reservation issue and also about our reception attitude.
We do apologize for your inconvenience about hamburger and early breakfast issue, we followed up with the F&B team already.
Last thing I would like to apologize in regard of the issue about the linen during check out, we followed up already with our reception about that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-belhotel Papua.
In the next visit you may email me at gmsbj@swiss-belhotel.com.So i will be gladly to welcome you

Best Regards,

Robby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A comfortable room is important when you travel in Papua for either business or recreation - the Swiss-Bel gives what you need in a simple way. Importantly - bathrooms are clean and attractive, and beds are good for sleeping. The hotel's location on the working port is interesting, although can be a bit noisy. There is a great pool, right on the water's edge - try not to look at the rubbish floating in the adjacent harbour. The city authorities really MUST do something to clean up the water, and the town in general - the rubbish is a big deterrent to tourists. Food is fine (remembering the isolated location), and the dining and bar areas have fantastic views. At night, eat in the simple fish kiosks next door to the hotel - wonderful, simple food. Internet is expensive, and on the slow side. The hotel has quite a lot of functions - so be warned that the locals like their music LOUD.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are quieter than those facing the harbour - but it is interesting to watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rechargexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acting-GM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Papua, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Valued Partner

Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and facilities during your stay. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay at Swiss-belhotel Papua.
We take into our consideration about internet service and the music disturbance from our function.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-belhotel Papua.
In the next visit you may email me at gmsbj@swiss-belhotel.com.So i will be gladly to welcome you

Best Regards,

Robby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jayapura hotels
0.6 mi away
Aston Jayapura Hotel and Convention Center
0.6 mi away
favehotel Jayapura
favehotel Jayapura
#3 of 17 in Jayapura
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Front One Hotel Jayapura
Front One Hotel Jayapura
#4 of 17 in Jayapura
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Horison Jayapura
Hotel Horison Jayapura
#2 of 17 in Jayapura
76 reviews
9.9 mi away
Citihub Hotel @Abepura
Citihub Hotel @Abepura
#7 of 17 in Jayapura
16 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grand Abe Hotel Jayapura
Grand Abe Hotel Jayapura
#11 of 17 in Jayapura
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Papua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Papua

Address: Jl. Pasifik Permai | Pusat Bisnis Jayapura, Jayapura 99112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Papua > Jayapura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Jayapura
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Papua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Papua is the first four-star international hotel in Jayapura, we are proud to set the standard for luxurious living. Choose from 96 plush guestrooms of different sizes: surely one will suit your needs. Each room comes with a whole range of amenities to make your stay with us the best that it could be, including satellite television, an IDD line, and high-speed Internet access.The Hotel is only 45 minutes from Setani Airport and located in the center of the Jayapura’s thriving business and commercial districts, we are a popular choice amongst travelers to the region of Papua. Come stay with us and enjoy the dazzling views of the city, and the gorgeous Jotefa Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Papua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Papua Jayapura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing