We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jayapura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travellers Hotel Sentani
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Jayapura
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

After 5 weeks and 14 hotels, this is a welcome comfort! Room is spacious and very comfortable. The desk is great for work. The pool is gorgeous, food is good, decent selection of TV channels and the AC works well. The breakfast buffet is standard for a good hotel. Why fruit and veg selection is so sparse in the tropics is beyond me. Always the same tasteless papaya and watermelon, boiled frozen veg salad. The internet cuts out frequently and was unavailable all yesterday. The gym is flashy and full of young, helpful happy people. The staff are very sweet, just a bit slow. Everything takes time - so be warned and slow down to suit it. Makes for a very nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londho_Laine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
6
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bukittingi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Brand new, with swimming pool, fantastic breakfast. If you land in Sentani, instead of heading straight to Jayapura city, where you are not going to find a hotel of this calibre, why not stay at the Travellers? It's not cheap, but, for what it offers, it is not expensive either. For me, it was an excellent way of recovering from the gruelling trip from Jayapura.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedeBukittingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed for a night with friends, transit place before my flight back the next morning.

my first impression of the hotel was clean and neatly placed. the staffs were friendly and checking in was easy, they also showed us how to operate the elevator (because using room key for activated the elevator is quite new in sentani)

we got ourselves a welcome drinks and free fruit platter. nice sentani street view from our room window.

the down side were we got a semi broken bathroom door handle, they just tape it with a ductape and because all of the security, my friends couldn't open the safe deposit box (deposit box also use your room key as ke also) the tech guy got really confused at the beginning but they finally found a way to open it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waxawaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the limited hotels in Jayapura that has good facilities. I was told it was the only 5-star hotel in the city.

Room is spacious, bed & pillows are comfy for a good sleep, service of staff is good. Overall a good hotel to stay with good facilities (pool, restaurant, mini-bar, etc).

Located in Sentani, its only a 5 minute drive from the airport (pick-up & drop-off service provided by the hotel) to the hotel. Its not recommended for people with work-purpose in Jayapura as its a 45-60 minute drive to downtown Jayapura. However, the road heading towards Jayapura has one of the best scenic views. Be sure to bring along a good camera to capture the marvellous views of the hills, Sentani lake & Pacific ocean. Transport can be acquired from the hotel, however hiring a private car (with driver) is a more economical option to go sightseeing.

The only minus point is the limited variety of an international breakfast buffet. The lunch/dinner menu in the restaurant is also limited & just below average. Expected better variety & quality. But the 'Ayam Panggang Jawara' is one of the best grilled chicken I've ever enjoyed, especially with the chilli that comes alongwith.

Wireless internet provided free in the rooms. An important facility for business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RiteshDaswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Travellers Hotel at Sentani is located 5 minutes from Jayapura Airport (DJJ), which is about 40 km from the main Jayapura town. Great if you're looking for a transit hotel, quite a drive if you have things to do in Jayapura town.

This hotel is a 2 minute walk to a small mall. Meals and provisions are not a problem as the mall has plenty of small fast food restaurants as well as a department store, a couple of small sports shops, as well as a supermarket.

Despite just walking in without reservations, the check in process was smooth and the staff welcoming. The hotel itself has an OK restaurant which is fine for breakfast for a couple of days, with lunch and dinner slightly below average.

There is a small pool with a bar & open air restaurant on the second floor.

The rooms are wonderful. Having spent the previous 2 nights in the jungles of Papua, the very comfortable bed, soft sheets, clean bathroom and warm shower were welcomed luxuries.

Laundry service was also wonderful, with my clothes getting back to me within 4 hours, and with no additional charges.

Wireless internet access was available for free (part of my room package), but slow - fine for e-mails and low size use.

Having driven around the Sentani area the following day, it would appear that This is the best hotel around the DJJ airport area, and I've no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor, no problems with noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreyMatter_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A very nice and comfort place to stay. A recommended hotel for any travelers who are plan to travel to Jayapura/Papua to stay in this hotel. The hotel is close to the airport, also to the mall. I don't need to use vehicle to reach the mall from the hotel. The staffs so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nathaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jayapura hotels
15.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Papua
Swiss-Belhotel Papua
#1 of 15 in Jayapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Allison HOTEL
Grand Allison HOTEL
#8 of 15 in Jayapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
5.9 mi away
Citihub Hotel @Abepura
Citihub Hotel @Abepura
#5 of 15 in Jayapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Aston Jayapura Hotel and Convention Center
12.4 mi away
Grand Abe Hotel Jayapura
Grand Abe Hotel Jayapura
#13 of 15 in Jayapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Horison Jayapura
Hotel Horison Jayapura
#2 of 15 in Jayapura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Hotel Sentani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Hotel Sentani

Property: Travellers Hotel Sentani
Address: Jln. Kemiri, Jayapura 99112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Papua > Jayapura
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Jayapura
Number of rooms: 143
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Sentani Jayapura, Papua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing