We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palimo suites, November 2013”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wamena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Baliem Pilamo
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wamena
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Palimo suites, November 2013”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights, the first night I spent in standard room, the room was horrible but the palimo suite were better. Its worth the 6price, for 726.000 idr less than 75 usd youll get a clean and quite well furnished room, yup 3 star.
For breakfast they will serve bread, fruits mostly watermelon, rice-fried rice, and some local food. They also serve puding and juice. The coffee is good, local Wamena coffee.
This hotel 5 minutes to the airport, you can reach it by taxi, bike or becak.
For dinner, you might try Blambangan restaurant across the street, they
serve udang selingkuh, fresh water giant lobster sized shrimp with a crab claws.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditiaputri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
2
22
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is a nice hotel. We stayed at the new Pilamo Suites and the rooms are excellent. They have down pillows and nice firm matresses. This hotel is across a restaurant that serves great food although rather expensive. but everything is expensive in Wamena. Do not expect a four star service here, though, and wi fi is not at all working. The lobby is small and rather shabby, but all in all, it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge for Pilamo suites as their standard rooms are rather shabby. Book well in advance as the Pil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

HI all, I stayed in this hotel just one week ago and I almost disagree with everything is written about this hotel. Yes the hotel is quite modern, at least the new part, but if they move your stuff (without telling you, because your guide Mr. Edison didn't book on time the hotel) in the old part without telling you anything and you have to face with tose kind of rooms..that's very bad!! We had lizzards, spiders mosquitos, the lights didn't work (tv neither, but that's the less important thing) and the shower was not present. The worst thing was that the reception was not kind in facing the problem. Furthermore the hotel was full of police and that's good from one hand but from the other it doesn't make you feel safe...Also mr. edison, who organized the all trip, didn't take care about this kind of problem even if in the hand he gave us back the amount of the room, that we already payed him as a superior and not standard (if we can call the old one standard) room!!

Room Tip: "choose the new part ONLY"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giulia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
611 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Baliem Pilano Hotel in the new Wing on both the 1st floor (garden view) and 2nd floor (with balcony). When we arrived we looked at the room in the old wing and decided in a split second that it was not what we were looking for. The room was dark, run down and rather dirty (probably a one star hotel class), meanwhile the new wing was lighter, cleaner and cozier (3 stars). The room had a medium sized TV with both Indonesian and English Channels! The bathroom was ok and it had enough warm water.

Breakfast was standard for a 3 star hotel. We did not try the internet connection. Instead we used the Papua.com Internet cafe instead. The airport is 10 min away by bike. On the other side of the street there is a small good restaurant Restu Ibu

I would recommend Baliem Pilano Hotel for anyone who needs to stay in Wamena.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The place itself is fine, on Jl. Trikora, and short car ride to the airport. It is clean and smart. Food is 1987 hotel cuisine, ALWAYS wrapped in clingfilm. For convenience (in case you start leaking, but more on that later).

Location-wise, it's convenient. Shopping can be had through the naked hill tribesmen, who stake out the entrance. Unless there are roving bands of soldiers firing indiscriminately (full-auto) on Jl. Trikora, which is a fair description of my experience on 6 June. In such a scenario, the hotel's central location might be liability (i.e. if you wanted to make a hasty exit from Wamena). With that said, the hotel shutters up nicely and its lock-down mode is rapid and effective. The walls are really thick too, so it would take mortar-fire or an RPG to breach the perimeter walls. Which is where the clingfilm comes in; were you to be winged or sustained a shrapnel injury, at least your plastic-protected sliced fruit and cornflakes wouldn't be blood spattered!

Will I be going back? Um, let me get back to you on that!

Room Tip: Choose a room with as many walls between you and the low-intensity conflict being waged outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here 10 days ago for 2 nights with a group of 13. This is the best place in town, so look no further. The location is excellent, the rooms are nice, the food is good and the service is average. They have several different categories of rooms, so book accordingly. This is the sort of place where it is best to pay a bit more. They have a very modern and new wing of rooms at the back of the hotel, and these are the best rooms available. The cheaper rooms closer to the reception are noisier and older (i.e. spartan). The modern rooms have lots of space, as well as tv's, etc. No need for a/c in Wamena, so don't worry about it. No need for fans either. The staff are very helpful, though not always very useful. Slow is the word. The food in the restaurant is very good, but the service is terribly slow! So, beware. There are only a couple of suitable places to eat outside of the hotel, so you will likely end up eating here at some point.

The hotel is just 5 minutes from the airport, and there are a few shops nearby for souvenirs or cold drinks and snacks. Don't come here looking for a pool or gift shop. There is no elevator. But, you can get laundry done quick and cheap. They will even clean your boots or shoes for a fee after a muddy hike through the valley.

I would rate this place as a 3-star hotel, and would recommend it to anyone. Not sure where else you would want to stay, unless you are really on a tight budget! Also, as security can be an issue in Wamena, there is no benefit in trying to save $$ by staying somewhere cheap.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a higher standard of room in the new wing at the back of the hotel. These rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2006TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel was remodeled in late 2010. It is clean with large rooms and a fully western bathroom. The bed rooms have AC and TV but no clocks. Plenty of hot water with good water pressure. The rooms are a bit on the dark side as they use low watt light bulbs. They are comfortable. The hotel does not currently have a website. Several of the staff spoke good English I do not know what other languages they spoke.

The food was good and you can have room service. The food is mostly Indonesian which was well prepared and generous helpings. The lunch and dinners are tasty and made to order so service can be slow. The breakfast is served buffet so get there early as the food is not kept warm.

Their is no booze for sale in the area so you need to bring your own or do without. They have Wifi in the common areas but not in the rooms. There is an internet cafe a few blocks away. There are a few shops across from the hotel for limited basic needs. Everything has to be flown into the town so choices are limited and more expensive than the rest of the country. It is a small town without much of a night life.

The local tribes are the highlight of tourism. WE were pleased with the hotel and recommend it to our fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in near common areas because people socialize and do their Wifi there and it gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacrosse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Baliem Pilamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baliem Pilamo

Property: Hotel Baliem Pilamo
Address: Wamena, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Papua > Wamena
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wamena
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing