We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/18/21
Hotels.com
$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/18/21
Agoda.com
$43
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/21
Priceline$51
Booking.com$51
eDreams$51
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
147
181
126
39
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
147
181
126
39
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 514 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

After a poor experience at the JE Meridien, I tried for one night the Swiss-Belhotel and now I can confirm that this is a very good choice in Sorong.
Rooms are comfortable and very quiet, the hotel has a nice pool, there is a quite average bar at the lobby, and breakfast is very good.
Price is a little higher than the Meridien, but for sure it's worth it.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank JCA10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi K, Executive Assistant Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sorong, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Dear Sirs,

Warmest greetings from Swiss Belhotel Sorong,
It is wonderful to know even in your very short stay you have time to write a nice hotel review for us. We will share this with all team member to let them know that they effort were being appreciated with your kind comments.

I guess we are going to see you again soon i presume..

With kindest regards
Santi Kartikasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

Going to and coming from Raja Ampat we had to stay in Sorong and stayed in the Swiss Belhotel which is appearantly the best there is fdin that city. The room we had during our first stay was not clean, sheets and towels were not changed, dirty bathroom. The room we had during our 2nd stay was much better and cleaner, and also had clean sheets and towels. During both visits the fridge was not working and we had to ask for toiletpaper. We had dinner in the restaurant which was ok (nothing more and nothing less), and there was cold beer and tonic water. Also the breakfast is ok. Keep in mind that many things which are available in other parts of Indonesia are not available, or at a very high price, in Sorong, which you can see when you visit the big Saga supermarket. Both times staff at reception was very helpful, friendly and efficient.
We only had a small "issue" the 2nd time: we moved a glass in the bathroom and it cracked. When we left they charged us 12 euro (!!) for an ordinary drinking glass which we thought was outragious. My partner became very upset and after talking to the manager we ended up signing a paper. As what I understood Swiss Bel is one of the best options in Sorong but in any other (big) town I would recommend to look for another hotel.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank marjos_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi K, Executive Assistant Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sorong, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Dear Mr/s. Marjolijn,

Warmest greetings from Swiss Belhotel Sorong,
Seeing your review for our hotel during your stay on January we understand how disappointed you must have been. Since January we have been working very hard to improve quality standard of service as well as the room facilities. Guests feedback are very important for us and therefore we really appreciate it.

As for our prices compare to other hotel and Sorong surrounding we feel that its still very competitive. But again thank you we will surely look into it.

With kindest regards
Santi Kartikasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017

After a homestay in Ambon, the Swiss-Belhotel was heaven. Water in shower not very hot, room was excellent (but get an extra key to keep power on if you are wanting to charge phones or laptops). Restaurant is good, but limited. No liquor or wine, but serve Mocktails, smoothies, and Bintang beer. Pool is advertised and is clean and decent, but not so much for "lounging by the pool" as many vacationers like to do. It is more for swimming laps or cooling off. Hotel overall is very clean, staff is very courteous and helpful. Limited English, but make to the effort to help you to the best of their ability. Took a tour of the city with a "rental car", which essentially meant a driver with a car. $180,000 for 2 hours, roughly $13 US, but he charged me 120,000 for the next hour (which was only 15 minutes of the next hour). I was ok with that because I am blessed to be able to afford this trip and the extra $8 US could be put to better use for his family! Hotel offers very reasonable massages, which I unfortunately didn't try due to time! I strongly recommend this hotel over the ones I saw around town. Some of the other hotels allow smoking in the lobby, but Swiss was smoke free inside. Most guests are Indonesian, Asian, European, or awaiting/returning from live aboard diving in Raja Ampat. NOTE: hotel informational notebook says the water in the room is not safe for drinking, but they do supply two bottled waters per day for guests. I brushed my teeth with bottled water to be safe. Will add pics later. Also, as with most of Sorong, walking around just outside the hotel is not fabulous, a bit dirty and very busy traffic, so explore with care. It is safe as a far a crime. You can also take a yellow cab, $5,000 ID (37 cents US) anywhere. Quite an adventure as you may share the cab with school children, fishermen, or whoever. There are certain routes, so check with hotel for which ones to use. Drivers most likely have next to know English. Not sure of other languages.

Room tip: Outside balcony rooms will have early morning and late evening noise for "call to prayer" and traffic. Ask for an interior room.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi K, Executive Assistant Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sorong, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Dear Sirs,

Warmest greetings from Swiss Belhotel Sorong,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed every moment you spent here in Sorong. And even to share your experiences with other travelers who are planning their trips to come to Sorong, we really appreciate that.

Our homework to ensure each and every guest have their enjoyable moments are not finish yet. Rest assure we will strive harder to achieve that. Once again thank you and hope to hear from you again soon..

With kindest regards
Santi Kartikasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

New hotel, located half the way between the airport and the harbor with swimming pool and all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay.
Friendly and well prepared staff, spacious and clean room. Pretty much all you need to pamper yourself after a long trip. Restaurant is ok but don't expect too much if you look for western food, remember you are in West Papua and you better go for something local.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank enricop702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi K, Executive Assistant Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sorong, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear Mr. Enrico,

Warmest greeting from Swiss Belhotel Sorong,
Thank you for taking the time to write us your kind review for our hotel. Ensuring our guests to have comfortable and enjoyable stay were an ultimate goal for every team member here. For sure we will improve the western menus as well as the local promotions.

Until then we hope to see you again in your next holiday

With kindest regards
Santi Kartikasari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

stayed here two nights while waiting for our scuba live aboard. We travel a lot and have enjoyed our stays at large hotel chains like Marriott (over 800 nights @ 150+) as well as small mid range hotels in Asia ($25- $50) and we rarely write bad reviews but this place deserves it. Although the room rate is comparable to other western hotels in the area, lower your expectations...or consider staying elsewhere. The rooms and facilities are decent but the hotel fails on service prices and the level of service provided.

- not walking distance to anything.....you have to take a bus (communal yellow taxi) or hire a car 200k IDR (minimum) for 2 hours if you want to eat out.
- eat out! Food in the hotel was not good. Anything outside the hotel will be a lot cheaper and probably much better, even if you pay 200k IDR for a car rental. A small bottle of water is 30k IDR...8k at nice restaurants outside hotel, 4k at a shop. Meals are at least double, or more, than at the much better restaurant that the front desk will recommend. Food was even more expensive than the Jakarta Marriott which has awesome food. A simple and not good dinner for two with a coke and a mineral water was 400,000 IRD. Don't feel ripped off like we did. Eating out will also be quicker it was just over 1 hour from the time we placed our order until our food arrived.

The rooms are not bad except our window only looked at the neighboring balcony 10 feet away and the balcony was directly above the smoking area.
- they now have 2 towels in the room but no hand towels or washcloths
- room has internet...but very slow!
- no business center as advertised so we had to hire a car to transfer some files.
- pool looked nice but the smoking area for the conference center and restaurant share the pool deck which is quite small. At any given there are 5 to 20 smokers next to you while you are sitting by the pool very unpleasant and unhealthy. You also have to run the smokers gauntlet if you want to use the gym.
-water in shower not hot in am or pm. Cold showers on a rainy day suck!

This is our first at a SwissBel Hotel, it is likely to be our last.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank MsBearkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi K, Executive Assistant Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Sorong, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear Ms. Kelley,

Warmest greetings from Swiss Belhotel Sorong,
Indeed you have pointed many areas that the hotel need to improve and for that we really appreciate it. Although we would say that our prices is still quite competitive than other hotels in Sorong. Surely we will share these comments to our House Keeping, Restaurant, Maintenance and the rest of team member.
We would be very happy should you ever change your mind and stay with us again in the future to see the progress that we make..

With kindest regards,
Santi Kartikasari


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews