We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful landscape n underwater”
Review of Raja Ampat Islands

Raja Ampat Islands
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Sorong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape n underwater”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was one of te best trip I ever had. We had great 8 days Live on Board (live on the ship) with Grand Komodo as our diving operator.
The views were amaziiing. Both up (landscape) and underwater!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melania E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    31
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A place to return to”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent 6 days in Raja Ampat in two different locations. The archipelago is amazing with open waters, hidden bays, spectacular dive sites and great snorkeling. In addition you can do trekking and bird watching. We were there in mid May, thus there were daily showers and it rained a couple of nights. Do not miss to go to on a day trip Waiak and snorkeling around Arborek.
One additional great thing is that it is not crowded, thus you feel privilege to be alone. I hope everybody who goes there takes great care of the environment to make sure that it stays as a paradise

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombok, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Natural of raja ampat”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This very good, these here.
raja ampat is one of the very popular tourist spot in Indonesia.
This place has the status of the marine park is very scenic.
Here also you can pamper your maa primarily to enjoy the underwater scenery like, manta, son sharks, whales, dolphins, and many other types of animals that are very unique to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pariwisata_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kayaking Raja Ampat with kayak4conservation”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Sourcing a high quality touring kayak in remote places is always difficult. You often end up slogging a folding kayak around the world, ending up with a soft hull craft with all its disadvantages. Not so in Raja Ampat, since Tertius, a young South African and a team of Papuans began building kayaks on Kri Island. The brainchild of Max Ammer, who by now is a legend amongst the pioneers of dive resorts in Indonesia ( www.papua-diving.com ), Tertius has started producing excellent kayaks based on a design by Kaskazi ( www.kaskazi.co.za ) from Cape Town. Not only was it a pleasure to paddle the kayak through the islands of Raja Ampat, but meeting a young guy full of energy, ideas and the drive to make a difference in this world will always be remembered. So highest marks for the kayak and Tertius and his team. Tertius is about to train local guides who can accompany guests on multiday kayak trips and some local people built ``homestays`` with the support of kayak4conservation. So kayaking with little logistic hassle.

Raja Ampat itself is a place in transition. 20 years ago when Kri Eco resort was set up it must have been literally a place removed from time. Even today you paddle over stretches of intact reefs, camp on secluded beaches, see parrots dart among the rain forest and marble at orchids growing from the edge of the the limestone islands. But by now you can slowly feel the burgeoning towns of Sorong and Waisei, the impact of 40 live aboards and several resorts. Papua is part of Indonesia, a country with a rapidly growing population and all the problems of the developing world. So depending on currents some of the ``pristine`` beaches are strewn with rubbish of plastic bottles and if you are unlucky, as I was on my first day, you have to paddle through large carpets of accumulated plastic dumped in the seas. You are reminded that you are not on a remote archipelago in the outer Fiji islands, on the clean coast of New Zealand or an atoll in Polynesia. Accepting that, Raja Ampat is still a great place to spend a few days or even a few weeks kayaking and diving. I have only seen a tiny part of the ``four kings`` what Raja Ampat means. So possibly further up north there are still areas clean and pristine as Europeans given to romanticizing would wish for. But already Jean-Jaques Rousseaus ( 1712 -1778 ) concept of the noble savage and the virtues of nature have not stood the test of time. Reading the book by Russel Wallace, who lived at the same time, describing the hardship he encountered in Raja Ampat, and the little I have seen, one only hopes the blessings of civilization will reach most people in Papua as quickly as possible.

So I can only wish Tertius and his team all the best to fulfill what their mission statement aims for : `` Kayak4conservation and RARCC’s mission, is to serve as a development institution for local people of Raja Ampat’s archipelago. We are working to fulfill their overall need for capital, through financing and advisory services.
For us – as stewards of this beautiful creation – ‘eco-friendly’ is not only taking care of nature but of the people who live here in Papua. ``

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Franz and Chris... i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Excellent birding!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I know most people come here for diving but Raja Ampat also offers excellent birding- several species of Birds of Paradise, Parrots and more!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raja Ampat Islands also viewed

 

Been to Raja Ampat Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing