We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot off season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Les Andelys
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot off season”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed in junior suite room 10 with view of seine in November. Wonderful breakfast and hostess/owner who prepared me breakfast even though I told them I would not have breakfast the night before. Very cute town

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richied62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    63
    37
    17
    10
See reviews for
27
135
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights with friends and their 11 year old son. We took Mme Stephanie's autumn special offer and had a wonderful meal, if maybe too much good, rich and typically Norman food. Our rooms were enormous with beautiful views of the Seine. And we received extra special service from all of the staff, particularly Bernard and his young offsider (we did not get her name). Nothing was too much trouble. A top place in a beautiful town, and very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poropat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently spent the night after a day visiting Giverny and Chateau Gaillard. We had a river view room, and it was spotless and gracious, with a vintage feel. Our dinner was wonderful- The dining room is beautiful and the food excellent. Breakfast was a typical continental spread, but, served in the dining room with starched linens and a view out onto the Seine, it was far from ordinary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAVoyager1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is in a superb location on the banks of the Seine. Room looked out over the river, locals were fishing and huge barges chugged slowly past. One of the "River Cruise" boats was tied up one morning (they are huge). Room was a little tired small things let the hotel down. Wi Fi was not working, radiator was loose on the floor and had made a hole in the all behind. Room key was very difficult to make work, Staff under pressure due to lack of man/woman power. Garden could benefit from some TLC. No obvious bar area. Food was good breakfast excellent. Room at the end of the hot water run so took a few minutes for the shower to warm up. Overall worth a try but the little things needed attention.

Room Tip: Try and get the red room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is in a magnificent setting beside the river Seine. Their is ample private and secure parking. The bedroom we were staying in was a little "tired" with marks on carpet, walls, etc. and the bathroom was quite also dated. The restuarant was very grand but the food, though well cooked, was over-priced. The wine list began at 28 euros. Rather disconcertainly we sat down to dine with 9 gendarmes in the room, plus their guns! When we arrived we were grumbled at for booking through Booking.com which meant they didn't make so much profit! Not a very welcoming start. The breaksfast cost 12 euros but was quite a bare minimum continental breakfast, with limited choice and no fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is wondefully located in the lovely village of Les Andelys and the setting and views are just as if Monet was just about to set up his easel below you on the bank and capture the shimmering water and willows of the Seine. The rooms were slightly faded but perfectly comfortable and the dinner in the dining room was excellent -once again with the river flowing by.

Room Tip: A river view room is the main attraction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

First time her this month but will be the first of many, we hope! The location right on the bank of the \Seine is stunning! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have the endearing French qualities of charming old-fashionedness whilst still working perfectly satisfactorily - why else do we go to France?
The restaurant is full of character and the menu is interesting and well-executed. Carpaccio of beef or mi-cuit foie gras for example, followed by flavoursome and perfectly cooked magret de canard (pink & soft) then finishing with (we chose) poached pineapple with caramelised spiced bread ice-cream - fresh & delicious. A good and reasonable wine-list too. Mine host is very enthusiastic about France, his hotel, his language and...his cheeses. Let him guide you as you will not only enjoy it more but will receive an entertaining education.

Also, don't miss the attractive terrace overlooking the river to the west side of the hotel where you can enjoy a pre-dinner drink with a view to die for.

The rooms overlooking the river are a must and you will not regret the modest premium.

The village of Petit Andelys is small but pretty with one or two boutiques and cafe/bars. Walks along the river bank are delightful.

The 12th century castle built by Richard the Lionheart is stunning as are the views from it. The history of the area is pretty blood-soaked but fascinating...look it up.

Giverny is 25 minutes away and Paris 50 mins by train.

In all, a charming and stunningly located hotel with comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price...

Room Tip: Do choose a river view although the church or courtyard-facing rooms are very comfortable and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbus92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Andelys
17.9 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,023 reviews
6.9 mi away
Les Canisses
Les Canisses
#1 of 2 in Le Goulet
155 reviews
6.9 mi away
Chateau Corneille
Chateau Corneille
#1 of 1 in Vieux-Villez
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
220 reviews
12.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
281 reviews
6.0 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or

Property: Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or
Address: Le Petit Andely 27 rue Grande, 27700 Les Andelys, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Les Andelys
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Les Andelys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chaîne d’Or gets her name from the history of the 18 th century, when the house was considered as a toll house. A large chain was crossing the Seine river between the rives and the island. Each boat that wanted to cross the river from La Havre to Paris had to pay a toll. The king was getting so much money from this toll, that people were telling that it was a “golden chain”. La Chaine d’Or has been successively an auberge, an hotel, and a coffee shop, just in front of the church, where men were meeting while their wifes were in the church.After world war 2nd, the Boirel family proposed a traditionnal cuisine, which was very appreciated from the local guests. Monsieur Boutineau went on with this tradition. Several years later, Monsieur et Madame Foucault, as new owners, decided to propose a gastronomic restaurant and with the help of the Chef, Monsieur Chevalliez, they obtained a Star from the famous Michelin Guide.When the chef left to buy his own restaurant, Madame Foucault sold la Chaîne d’Or which had a difficult time for a while.Today, Stephanie and Olivier Bicot, their team and the Chef Philippe Lallier are very proud to welcome you and to share their passion for the French gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d`Or Hotel Les Andelys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing