We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst new years eve!!!!....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Punta Teonoste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst new years eve!!!!....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

we decided to spent our new years eve 2008 in this place, huge mistake. The distance is not so much the problem, once you arrive the view is worth it. Instead I can't say the same for the rest of the installations; the bedrooms are swarmed with rat and bat droppings, the mosquitos at night will keep you up, they are big and many. Aside from the room the food is sadly an excuse for a meal the prices are extremely high. Do not fall for the free breakfast it's not a deal, they serve 4 small portions of fruits, bread and a coffee that is better left untouch. My recommendation for the owner is to change the administration and the "chef". We had to cut our stay short. The only two things worht it are the staff who are excelllent people and the beach.

  • Liked — The beach and the staff
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ELYINN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    19
    12
    12
See reviews for
35
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

My wife and I went to Nicaragua for Honeymoon, and made a Reservation at this horrible place. Well, we had a reservation for January 6, 2008. First of all we had to drive for about 3.5 hours from Granada, on a horrible street. We got there at 3:00 PM and the guy at the front desk said there was no RESERVATION, so that the bungalo was not ready yet. Then we had to wait for about an hour to get our room (bungalo) ready. When we got in, could see that the place was full of insects, and even worst FULL OF RATS! Then we ran away from that place and drove to Managua (we got there at about 8:00 PM). Never stay in PUNTA TEONOSTE. NOT GOOD FOR HEALTH. Can you imagine how is the kitchen? Besides, they just serve lunch from 11 AM to 2 PM (or something like that). It's not worth going.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fj-aragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

Our agent from Granada - Rodolfo from "Oro Travel" ( was recommended to us by Trip Advisor) recommend us to stay at this hotel. What a great choice! It is eco-lodge right on the beautiful beach. Hotel has few cabanas, restaurant and pool. It is no other hotel or house on the beach so you fell that you have a private deal even though beaches in Nicaragua are public. Each cabana has 2 floors with private terrace and the balcony.
Everything inside of cabanas are made from nature. Bathrooms are outside. It is no hot water but you don't really need it as it is always hot and water gets warm enough to take a shower. No TV or telephones. We feel really isolated. Good restaurant. Staff does not speak English but they really try to help you. Food was so-so.
But the most important thing about this hotel is the beach. This particular area of Nicaragua is famous for turtles. They coming between month of November to January to nest their eggs. Usually at night. We were lucky to see it twice. Not far from the hotel, about 15 km, is turtle reservation area. We went there one afternoon but were told to come back later, around 8-9pm as turtle coming to the beach after sunset. We were very lucky, turtle came right to our beach while we had dinner. Hotel equipped us with flush lights and we all ( about 20 people who stayed at the hotel ) witnessed this wonder of the nature. Beautiful!
I would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

Granted we were there in in the offseason, October, but we were disappointed with our accomodations. The accomodations were simple and nice, but we felt that they were very overpriced in comparison to all of our other accomodations in Nicaragua, which included the same owner's Hotel Los Robles. We paid $150 per night, but we would have been pleased with our stay had it been closer to $70 - 80 per night. I would recommend staying at another hotel in the region and driving to playa conejo to enjoy the bar. This was the prettiest beach that we found in the region.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
10.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
10.2 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
19.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
21.7 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
21.6 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Teonoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Teonoste

Property: Hotel Punta Teonoste
Address: Del puente de Salinas 6 km hacia el Astillero, Tola 505, Nicaragua (Formerly Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Spa)
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Punta Teonoste 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Punta Teonoste. We created a place in which to reconnect with the pure energy of the elements, in a setting of incredible natural beauty. It's our desire to make you indulge into the luxury of an unspoilt surrounding, to see you enjoy our stylish yet cozy atmosphere, the delicious food and the various activities. At the end of your stay we want you to leave with a relaxed smile on your face and a heart full of unforgettable moments. Nicaragua is a year-around destination. All seasons are great for diving and surfing or exploring land and culture. While the months from December to May are completely dry, the months from June to November can produce the typical tropical rain showers which makes the surroundings lush and green. A setting of rock formations, small bushes and trees as well as the ocean promote the significant life forces of nature's energy and welcome you to enjoy your stay with all senses. Punta Teonoste is intimate and relaxed, offering an emotionally intelligent approach to service that begins with empathy. The responsible and caring attitude of Punta Teonoste is the key to an unobtrusive yet attentive service that makes guests feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Punta Teonoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge And Beach Spa
Punta Teonoste, Nature Lodge & Beach Hotel Tola
Hotel Punta Teonoste Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing