We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Nearby Hotels
Machele's Place(Tola)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
70
40
22
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
40
22
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirt roadnature trailceiling fanlove naturehidden treasuresurrounded by natureyour luggagehorse ridingsurf boardsperfect wavesopen airtide poolsturtleshutbugsbungalowgranada
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 157 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

1. The beach and the sights are amazing. The scenery's tranquility is only interrupted by the crash of waves and the singing of colorful finches. The cliffs very cool and there are tons of places to walk. If you want to surf give it a shot, but be careful as the tides can become quite violent. Also, I have never seen more stars in my life. I believe I counted 5 shooting stars in one night.

2. Biking around the immediate area is recommended if you are adventurous. They need to get new bikes (the ones they gave us were old and did not work well at all). There are a ton of very strange, but quite excellent looking mansions around the area. There are also some of the poorest, but nicest people you'll ever meet. (do speak Spanish)

3. The food is so-so. Some meals were splendid and some were quite lacking. There are few options for vegetarians. Drink lots of Tona (which is a beachy, crisp lager full of flavor)

4. The lodge and the Cabanas are flat out awesome. Well constructed, each cabana affords amazing views of the foamy surf. Often times the horses will feed just outside your room affording some great pictures. While we were there we had them move the main bed to the second floor (northern cabanas). The outdoor showers is very cool also. The rooms are quite clean and very comfortable.

5. The service is very good. They are obviously new at the whole resort game, but they work very hard to please you. At times they seemed terrified.

6. Walk the nature trail. While it comes to a dead end, it is cool to see what they were originally going for but failed to complete.

7. Check out the hot springs. You'll hang around some locals and the staff of the hotel will make you feel special with tiki torches and wine.

8. Watch out for the turtles. They are ever present and very cool to see.

9. Ride the gentle, well-kept horses. Watching the Sunset on horseback is extra special here.

10. I really would like to know more about this place. It is interesting in the sense there are some plans that were attempted but never completed (the nature trail). I understand this, in parts, is a Swiss owned venture. I would not be surprised at all if this was a front for a money laundering operation.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cabana to the north of the lodge. Buy water and before you get here (its out of control expensive).
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GozerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuntaTeonoste, Gerente at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Hello GozerTraveler,

Thank you very much for all the compliments. Indeed our resort is a very special place where you can relax, come to yourself and enjoy nature.

Concerning surfing and the waves, depending the time of the day and season, waves are from 1 meter up to 4-5 meters and that makes Resort Punta Teonoste the best surf location resort in Nicaragua making it up to your skills which waves you prefer to ride. We have a great surf teacher available on request, who has also great experience working with children. After a day of surfing and if needed, we can offer a good massage from our Spa, where several Spa treatments are available.

A Swiss/Nicaraguan family, who decided to build this resort throughout the years, owns the resort. Slowly up, from one villa to sixteen in total, the whole resort was completed finally three years ago. The Club House is a beautiful indigenous structure with Restaurant, Spa, Lounge, Bar, Yoga and Reception area. We are now in the process of updating our villas again, as an ongoing process of updating our resort to service our Guests the best we can.

Slowly our resort receives the international appreciation for our conservation work for the Turtles, exceptional Kitchen and great Surf experience. Our staff is from the area and as they say in the country side life is very "sana" here in Nicaragua, means they are friendly and almost shy. Therefore, their English is not that good, but it is improving and slowly they feel confident to speak it and communicate better with our Guests.

Surf & Turtle Resort Punta Teonoste is ready for international Guests, who love Surfing, Turtles, Nature tours and good kitchen. You may ask our kitchen to make something special, especially for you and your partner or family, they love to do that, our staff loves to take care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I'm Italian and I've been there with my family for a holiday in September 2011. I discovered it by accident and initially I wanted to stop for one night but then I decided to stay for another 3 nights. The staff is excellent, very helpful, by the owner, a lady famous French chef with various medals Nicaragua. The person who has been at the heart of my son is Mr. Alberto who made himself available for every need and that has worked hard throughout. We loved the release of sea turtles in and contributed directly. It 'been a great, unique and unrepeatable, like the beach, the sea and its people very hospitable. the place is ideal for newlyweds and families.
Patrizia Dettori & Federico Simonti
Son Cosimo Simonti

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATRIZIA90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We REALLY wanted to like this hotel and stayed for one night before getting out of the place the next morning.

With a few minor fixes in the huts and better-trained staff, this place COULD be fantastic.

The good:
One of the best secluded white beaches in Nica, utterly gorgeous.
Incredible unspoilt location.
Turtle hatchery.
Staff friendly and try to be helpful (when asked).
Gorgeous clubhouse and views over pool to sea.

The bad:
Rooms look good but designed badly/dysfunctional by luxury standards.
LOTS of bugs. We had to ask for the (seemingly decorative strips of) mosquito netting to be added to the 4-poster bed, only to find that the central fan had been fixed so low in the ceiling that the netting had to be left open above the bed to allow it to spin round (!)
Bug quota not helped by the smelly stagnant water nearby, which clearly attracted lots of mosquitoes.
Lacking in atmosphere - we were the only guests and only stayed one night.
Menu is horrifically expensive even by London standards...fancy European style food and there's no alternative but to eat there as hotel's so remote (steak for $43, shrimp pasta for $17).
Service culture unfortunately lacking - staff were really helpful when asked, but didn't really foresee guests needs...we were the only 2 guests and despite there being a number of staff hanging around, we had to carry our own heavy bags when we arrived and were initially offered one of the second row huts, with no view and in a shaded area with lots of mozzies. When we swum in the pool (watched by all the staff!) we had to ask for pool towels. We were given the wrong key to room, had to wait an hour for room to be cleaned despite being only guests and arriving at 4pm, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear ClaireW14
I appreciate your writing about our hotel.
We are glad that you had a positive experience at Punta Teonoste overall, and you have given us some advise to improve and take care of the minor fixes you have pointed out, to be fantastic!
We offer villas that integrate to the nature. The bedrooms are equipped with mosquito net on the windows, to avoid the entrance of mosquitos to the room. There is a large ceiling fan on the bed, which would allow mosquitos to fly around the bed. In spite of it all, we are sorry to learn you were not satisfied with the mosquito net on the bed.
Our menu is high cuisine, and our most expensive steak price range is US$16.00 to US$22.50 plus taxes. Pasta prices ranges from US$9.00 to US$17.50, being the last one prepared exclusively with jumbo shrimps. Menu prices start at US$8.00.
We appreciate your comments about service. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly. We are committed to hire locals and train them as part of our Social Enterprise Responsibility Program. We need however to work harder, since they do have to learn to anticipate to our guests needs.
Your comments will sincerely contribute to our committed improvement!
Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Living in Managua my wife and I spontaneously decided to spend a weekend at Punta Teonoste. Quiet secluded, the hotel is located at a stunningly beautiful bay unspoiled by mankind. All amenities are arranged with great care, and your "Honeymoon Villa" (Oregano) - the closest to the beach - lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just came back from a yoga teacher training at this resort. It was perfect for our group, as it was extremely secluded and had a lot of space for us to spread out.

The villas are amazingly beautiful! I highly recommend sitting in the hammock and taking an afternoon siesta. The food was great and they were always very accommodating with all our special requests.

One disturbing thing I did see, would be sea turtles nesting their eggs on the beach, and whoever sees that turtle first gets to take her eggs, so a lot of locals scope out all the beaches and claim a scary large amount of turtle eggs. The hotel has no say in this, so if you see this happening, you may be able to buy the eggs off the poacher. I'd highly recommend you do buy the eggs, and if you do, give them to the security guard or hotel staff, as they have a safe place to hatch the eggs and will release them into the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missalicia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuntaTeonoste, Propietario at Hotel Punta Teonoste, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear Missalicia001,

Thank you for your comments.

It was a pleasure to host the yoga retreat at our resort. We are happy you enjoyed your accommodation. Our restaurant was proud to be able to provide your special diet requests.

We are making big efforts to protect the sea turtle eggs from any depredator. Nowadays, humans are responsible in lager scale for their endangered extinction. Traditionally, locals have eaten the eggs. The new laws of Nicaragua prohibit this practice. However, since the coasts are of free transit to everyone by law, we cannot close the access to the locals, who try to take the eggs. All our staff is committed to the eggs protection. We have also hired special staff to protect the eggs and guarantee their birth in our hatchery. Many of our guests see the problem of protecting the eggs, and decide to “buy” the nest from the locals, when we were not able to arrive first. We do not believe this is the best option, but unfortunately it is the only one left to save the nest.

We want to thank you again for your support, since you have contributed to save more than 100 newborn sea turtles, making a contribution to the wild life of our planet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews