We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emerald Coast of Nicaragua”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Machele's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Machele's Place
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Emerald Coast of Nicaragua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My sister has an construction import business in Managua and invited us to tour the Emerald Coast beach properties with her. We were very pleasantly surprised. Playa Gigante is a small fishing, surfing community with a few new boutique hotel choices. We chose Machele's beachside hotel and pool, just opened 3 months, www.machelesplace.com.

Quiet, clean, comfortable and very hospitable establishment. The property is secured with locked gates and a guard. The restaurant/bar offers daily cooked meals and affordable beers, $1.40. We enjoyed our breakfast with many Canadians partaking in the Olympic Men's Hockey win over Sweden.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MachelesPlace, Manager at Machele's Place, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed our sports bar atmosphere with our local beer choices! We hope you will come visit us again in the future. We wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place! In the middle of what is a rather undeveloped paradise, this hotel is modern and upto western cleanliness standards. Hot showers, which can be hard to find in this part of Mica. They have incredible food, and a wide variety of options (including health food). The poplins great, and just across the street (100ft tops) is one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen. A+++

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyson S, Owner at Machele's Place, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We am glad you enjoyed our "hidden gem" of Gigante. There is no better way to describe our beautiful beach! Thank you for coming and we are happy to know you will be coming back to stay with us again in July! XX Allyson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place, and really loved it despite some opening week hitches. First off, Playa Gigante is one of the nicest beaches I've seen in Nicaragua. The village has just the right amount of development, not overbuilt and occasionally trashy like San Juan del Sur. Machele's has a really nicely designed palapa entry area, nice sized pool and very comfy rooms. Good a/c, cable TV with wall mounted screen, good WiFi. Best of all we were charged only $70. For the quality of the hotel, this is the best bargain I've gotten in a long time. Last point: Machele's sits next to a brackish water lagoon. If you have any interest in bird life, just step outside in the morning and you'll see a wide variety.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Jo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MachelesPlace, Manager at Machele's Place, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate your review. We hope you can visit us next time you are in Nicaragua. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
0.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brio
Hotel Brio
#1 of 1 in Playa Gigante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.9 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
11.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Machele's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machele's Place

Property: Machele's Place
Address: Playa Gigante, Tola 95959, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Machele's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where new world comfort meets old world tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Machele's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machele's Place Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing