We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Finca y el Mar

La Finca y el Mar
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Translated, our name is The Farm and the Sea. We showcase a locally sourced menu. Relax and soak in the ambiance of the archi-tec-ture of La Finca y el Mar which was inspired, in part, by sea-side farm-houses in Andalucía, Spain. Open-air ter-races frame stun-ning views of the Pacific as well as rolling hills, flow-ers and rock formations. Buen Provecho!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had dinner with my family at La Finca y el Mar and also was there for a few Happy Hours.
Overall the quality of the food is outstanding. It is expertly prepared, the only hints that you're in a small town in Nicaragua are the local ingredients and reasonable prices.
The setting is spectacular, we kept coming back to Happy Hour to enjoy the beautiful sunsets (and drink specials).
If you are in the area eating at La Finca y el Mar is a must.
Reservations are required. I emailed for a reservation in Spanish (my native language) and never received a reply; my wife emailed in English and received a friendly confirmation within the hour. I guess they like US$. Despite this poor start the location and food were so great I'll just believe my email didn't reach them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    11
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'd Give It Six Stars If Possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Rented a gorgeous beach front home within a very short walk to the clubhouse and restaurant. Our group of eight people sat down for the 8 o'clock thanksgiving meal seating. The atmosphere was so festive and all the traditional Thanksgiving courses were prepared and cooked perfectly. I felt that we we dining in an exclusive 4 Seasons Hotel or a Ritz Carlton, yet it was more casual and the atmosphere much more friendly. And the crashing of the waves as a backdrop put it over the top.
This was just one of several great meals that we all experienced at La Finca y el Mar during our week's stay at Rancho Santana. Hats off to Chef Calley and her wonderful staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casarosa343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We ate several meals at La Finca y el Mar during our stay and we loved each and every one of them -- the food is amazing and fresh and the service is equally as good!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

La FInca y el mar is on the Rancho Santana property located, literally, right next to the ocean. The view is amazing and the food is top notch. Most, if not all, of the vegetables are sourced from the garden on the property. The seafood is sourced from the ocean, just steps away. Be sure to try the fish tacos for lunch!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank briyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Finca y El Mar = Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This restaurant is all that you could ask for in the paradise that is Rancho Santana. The food is excellent; the service is impeccable, laid back, and friendly (special thanks to the OUTSTANDING Esmeralda); and the view is, well, perfection. You feel like family after spending time with Brian, the general manager. I only wish I had thought to book this place for my wedding. While I was visiting, I watched the events director, Erik, work his magic organizing a sweet ceremony and reception for a very happy bride and groom. What a stylish affair!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuttut435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Finca y el Mar also viewed

Popoyo, Rivas Department
 
Popoyo, Rivas Department
Tola, Rivas Department
 

Been to La Finca y el Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing