We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Popoyo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Punta Teonoste(Tola)(Great Value!)
$199
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Machele's Place(Tola)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa(Playa Manzanillo)
$400
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brio(Playa Gigante)(Great Value!)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Wellness Resort(Playa Redonda)
$174
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$365
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
64
21
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
21
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel torogreat foodpool areaminute walkbreakfast was includedgreat poolburritopizza placecold beerthe entire staffother guestsplace to staymaximoadonisnicaragualogisticsbuddies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 88 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed 4 nights at Hotel Popoyo. Great experience all around. Had the Deluxe room with choice of any breakfast breakast included in Price. Staff all very nice and helpfull. (they even refrained from laughing at my attempts at spanish) Great food, great drinks. Great bang for the buck. The Grounds, Hotel and Pool are all well taken care of, and attended to daily.
The Manager Maximo, set up a day of Fishing for me with Captain Jeff, and i had a great day on the ocean. Jeff had to work hard as it was low season for fishing. Can hardly wait to come back during high fishing season. Highly recommend Hotel Popoyo to anyone. Just do not tell to many people. See you all again soon.....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Besides the rough mattresses this place is OFF THE CHAIN!!!! awesome place to stay awesome price awesome food and they pick you up from the airport. first time out of the country for me and i stayed here with some friends. Had the most amazing experience ever!!! if you guys want to go on a surf adventure talk to a guy named Jeff he took us out on a boat ride to the reef break at play grounds and he also offers fishing boat charters. the restaurant also takes credit cards as well just in case you run out of cash like i did. the staff is really nice and friendly. make sure your bring lots of sunblock and a fine piece of mind. deff would recommend this place to anyone who wants to go to popoyo even if your ballin on a budget. well worth the time and money. totaly exceeded my expectations, best bang for your buck fo sho!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Popoyo, Propietario at Hotel Popoyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Thank you very much for your coment!! We apreciate your suport.
We are glad that you had a great time in our Hotel Popoyo and want to share it with the rest of the people.

It´s good to know that our clients are satisfied after staying in the Hotel. Specially when they happy to recomend it to other travellers... as you said: "deff would recommend this place to anyone who wants to go to popoyo even if your ballin on a budget. well worth the time and money. totaly exceeded my expectations, best bang for your buck fo sho!!!"

Hope to have you with us again soon,
Best regards,
Diego Blatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We loved staying at the hotel popoyo. the best part was how friendly and helpful everyone that works there is. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a clean friendly place with VERY good food ;O)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbi779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Popoyo, Owner at Hotel Popoyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

We appreciate your comment, specially the staff friendliness recognition.
Our mission is to improve our strengths and work on our waeknesses, so we´ll take note of your words.
Hope to have you here soon and thank you very much!
Diego Blatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were in Nicaragua (our second trip) for 18 days and decided to spend a few nights at the beaches in Popoyo. Hotel Popoyo is the first hotel on the road that lines the beach so we decided to check it out. I was immediately impressed on how clean and meticulously landscaped the hotel was.

They had two types of rooms available - a $45/night plain room or a $62/night luxury room. The luxury room was a little over our budget but it was so nice we decided to treat ourselves for two nights

Our room was wonderfully decorated (the best I've seen in Nicaragua) with a really comfortable king size bed and pillows, satellite tv, ceiling fan, cold a/c, and the hot water shower was welcome after only having cold water showers for the past few weeks on Little Corn and Ometepe.

Wifi was available but we couldn't get a signal in our room. It worked well in the pool area and restaurant though

We only ate breakfast in the restaurant (included with the room) which was delicious - eggs, toast, gallo pinto, coffee and orange juice.

The beach is about a 100 meter walk from the hotel - good swimming without much of a rip or undertow. There are a few restaurants at the end of the road - a 20 minute walk form the hotel. Be sure to eat at Rana Roja Pizza next door to the hotel - really good wood fired pizza made with homemade meats and cheeses.

Cant wait to go back to Popoyo!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

this was my first trip to nica (my partners 7th and my sons 4th trip respectively) and i can't wait to get back. this hotel was positively the cleaniest hotel i have stayed in in a long time and we live in a resort town. the staff was friendly and the food was superb. i would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone going to the coast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtlassiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews