We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freaking Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Popoyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Popoyo
Ranked #3 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Freaking Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Besides the rough mattresses this place is OFF THE CHAIN!!!! awesome place to stay awesome price awesome food and they pick you up from the airport. first time out of the country for me and i stayed here with some friends. Had the most amazing experience ever!!! if you guys want to go on a surf adventure talk to a guy named Jeff he took us out on a boat ride to the reef break at play grounds and he also offers fishing boat charters. the restaurant also takes credit cards as well just in case you run out of cash like i did. the staff is really nice and friendly. make sure your bring lots of sunblock and a fine piece of mind. deff would recommend this place to anyone who wants to go to popoyo even if your ballin on a budget. well worth the time and money. totaly exceeded my expectations, best bang for your buck fo sho!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Popoyo, Propietario at Hotel Popoyo, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you very much for your coment!! We apreciate your suport.
We are glad that you had a great time in our Hotel Popoyo and want to share it with the rest of the people.

It´s good to know that our clients are satisfied after staying in the Hotel. Specially when they happy to recomend it to other travellers... as you said: "deff would recommend this place to anyone who wants to go to popoyo even if your ballin on a budget. well worth the time and money. totaly exceeded my expectations, best bang for your buck fo sho!!!"

Hope to have you with us again soon,
Best regards,
Diego Blatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We loved staying at the hotel popoyo. the best part was how friendly and helpful everyone that works there is. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a clean friendly place with VERY good food ;O)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbi779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Popoyo, Owner at Hotel Popoyo, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
We appreciate your comment, specially the staff friendliness recognition.
Our mission is to improve our strengths and work on our waeknesses, so we´ll take note of your words.
Hope to have you here soon and thank you very much!
Diego Blatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were in Nicaragua (our second trip) for 18 days and decided to spend a few nights at the beaches in Popoyo. Hotel Popoyo is the first hotel on the road that lines the beach so we decided to check it out. I was immediately impressed on how clean and meticulously landscaped the hotel was.

They had two types of rooms available - a $45/night plain room or a $62/night luxury room. The luxury room was a little over our budget but it was so nice we decided to treat ourselves for two nights

Our room was wonderfully decorated (the best I've seen in Nicaragua) with a really comfortable king size bed and pillows, satellite tv, ceiling fan, cold a/c, and the hot water shower was welcome after only having cold water showers for the past few weeks on Little Corn and Ometepe.

Wifi was available but we couldn't get a signal in our room. It worked well in the pool area and restaurant though

We only ate breakfast in the restaurant (included with the room) which was delicious - eggs, toast, gallo pinto, coffee and orange juice.

The beach is about a 100 meter walk from the hotel - good swimming without much of a rip or undertow. There are a few restaurants at the end of the road - a 20 minute walk form the hotel. Be sure to eat at Rana Roja Pizza next door to the hotel - really good wood fired pizza made with homemade meats and cheeses.

Cant wait to go back to Popoyo!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outer banks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

this was my first trip to nica (my partners 7th and my sons 4th trip respectively) and i can't wait to get back. this hotel was positively the cleaniest hotel i have stayed in in a long time and we live in a resort town. the staff was friendly and the food was superb. i would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone going to the coast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtlassiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We wanted to visit the beach during our short visit to Nicaragua, but we wanted to be sure that we went to an area that wasn't so touristy (aka steer clear of San Juan del Sur). That took us to looking at Popoyo beach. And we had heard great things about Hotel Popoyo (the hotel was formally known as "El Toro")

Let me tell you -- what I heard was exactly spot on. Hotel Popoyo was great:

*free wi-fi
*a/c in rooms
*beautiful bathrooms
*great wood craftsmanship (tropical hardwoods)
*clean facilities
*FANTASTIC FOOD (restaurant is now called "El Toro"
*Service with a smile
*Assistance round the clock for coordinating tours/transport etc
*Great eating/lounge area (very breezy and comfortable
*other guests were mindful of not being to loud in public spaces, etc
*The price is definitely right for the value

While I did not stay this trip at any of the other locations, some of the other fellow travelers staying at Hotel Popoyo who did stay at other hotels told me that this Hotel was the best in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raisedbedgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
0.0 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Popoyo

Property: Hotel Popoyo
Address: Calle del Toro 29 | Playa Guasacate, Tola, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Popoyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Popoyo is the ideal place to enjoy your surf vacations in Nicaragua, with friends, your loved one, or family. We are a small beach resort, where the guest experience is the most important thing. Enjoy a peaceful vacation while having access to the best waves and sunsets that Nicaragua has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Popoyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing