We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Spot in Nicaragua!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Surf Popoyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Surf Popoyo
Ranked #2 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Spot in Nicaragua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

not only is this place beautiful, cheap, and the cleanest place i've stayed in central america, it is run by an amazingly warn italian couple, Barb and Filipo. The are from Sardinia and make delicious italian cuisine nightly, a welcome change from constant chicken casado. They are friendly, young, funny, generous, environmentally conscious, and can help you with almost any part of your trip. The beach is right there and the surf and everything else is great if it's not, filipo will get you a boat. Our surf guide on the boat was wonderful and not sketchy like people ive been "guided" by in mexico. this couple has lived in nicaragua for years and truly contribute to the local scene and any trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonipittenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Surf Club is a execelente choice for those seeking a pleasant stay.
The accommodations are simple, but very comfortable, with air-conditioner and hot shower. The kitchen offers a varied choice of menu, and at night you can eat a good Italian pizza.
Surfers from around the world are there and can share their experiences after a good day of surfing.
The location is great, with good waves at the beach of Popoyo a few minutes walk.
Finally, I must mention the hospitality and willingness of the owners, Philip and Barbara.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamonSaavedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Club del surf hotel ( Popoyo- Nicaragua ) is really the best option to stay for surfers in Popoyo.
Nice acomodations, good vibration and very nice atmospherea, the right place to meet others surfers and make friends.

Despite of the location witch is very close to Popoyo and outer reef, there is also a beach break just in front of the Hotel. It is also the ideal place to find others surfers to share a boat trip to others spots like playground and manzanillo.

Aloha,

José

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel is right on the beach with a sweet surf break right out front or a point break a bit further up the coast all within a short walk. I spent the first few nights in SJDS looking at real estate and picked this place to spend the last few days of my trip surfing. I was really happy from the very beginning. The owners (Filipo and Barbara) are from Italy and picked me up in person to bring me to the hotel. The hotel has everything I needed from a low price tag, clean, 24-hour security, accepts credit cards w/o surcharges, excellent food and great ambiance. The other hotels in the area are more "surfer hostel" types and although that might have worked for me when I was younger, at age 43 I found this more my speed. The real bonus was the authentic Italian wood fired pizzas made by Filipo and Barbara right in their outdoor kitchen! Who would have thought I would have the best pizza in my life in Nicaragua!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surferpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

This beach front spot is ideal for travelers who want to catch some waves, relax in the hammocks, or drink a "cold one". The service was laid back, but accommodating while the restaurant menu sported a wide variety of dishes. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and chilled out people we met.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

I went to Nicaragua, Popoyo, in the summer of 2008. I got the contact from a friend that had stayed at this espectacular hotel a year before and i had the best trip ever! The hotel is located at the beach front, maybe 10 metres away from the beach, has a great accomodation, confort, and the best restaurant in the world!!! I was with my brother and a friend, and we had the time of our lives! We surfed everyday, the hotel itself gan get you into the best boattrips in the region, and can get you also by land to every surf spots. We soon became friends with all the staff, and particullarly with the owner, Fillipo, a great fried that showed us around the sites, the beaches, and welcomed us the best way, as fri ends. Therefore i recommendthat if you are going to nicaragua, and this particular region of Popoyo, for a surf trip, adventure or even a honeymoon, this is the place!
High quality accomodation, the best of food around, a great staff, and a owner that is commited to get you the best deal in every situation. A MUST GO! Gracias Fillipo! Hasta breve!

Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

.15 days at Club Surf Popoyo have been incredible, 2 weeks of fun, surf, tours and great food! The staff is very competent and friendly! The hotel is built as a colonial house typical of Nicaragua with a big garden with tropical plants and flowers. The restaurant is an open air palm rancho, really cool and fresh! The menu of the restaurant offers a wide selection of Italian delicacies, try the "linguine a la pescatora"! The rooms are very cozy and comfortable, air-conditioning equipped, private bathroom and free fast wifi! Our vacation at Club Surf Popoyo was unforgettable! The next year we' ll came back to this small hotel, a real oceanfront paradise in Nicaragua!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsurfsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
2.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
7.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.0 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Popoyo
Hotel Popoyo
#3 of 5 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Surf Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Surf Popoyo

Property: Club Surf Popoyo
Address: Popoyo Beach, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Surf Popoyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Surf Popoyo Hotel Tola
Club Surf Popoyo Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing