We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, friendly, safe adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Haven, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, safe adventure”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at Buena Onda over Semana Santa (Eater week) in April, 2013 with my family –my wife, her Aunt and our 3 young children ages 4 to 9. It was one of the greatest trips we’ve taken. Here are some details:
Our flight landed in Managua in the evening, so we stayed at the Best Western directly across the street from the airport – clean and comfortable. Philip arranged transport from Managua to Buena Onda the next morning. We could tell right away this was a unique and special trip. The friendliness of the Nicaraguan people, the rough and tumble drive to Buena Onda, even stopping for groceries on the way was especially interesting and really fun.

Philip and Sarah welcomed us with open arms and we immediately felt the warmth of Buena Onda. We rented one of the 2 bedroom villas. There was plenty of room, it was clean, welcoming and had amazing views from the second floor deck. Right across from the house is the restaurant and bar overlooking the pool. The food is great and there was never an issue finding something delicious for the parents or the kids. We ate most of our meals there – the daily specials were a hit every time. There is also a small breakfast and lunch place on the beach where you can have eggs while overlooking paradise. Rancho Santana with a full restaurant and bar is a walk down the beach.

The beach is sensational – rugged, natural, beautiful with of course tremendous surf. The surf can get pretty rough, but there the break is usually further out so there is room to wade out into the shallow whitewater before you get to the big waves. We had to keep a very close eye on the kids, but that would be true no matter what ocean beach you are visiting. There were very few people on the beach as everyone is in the water surfing.

We were in the minority traveling to Buena Onda with children, but it was never an issue. The kids were welcomed and had the time of their lives. Our boys spent a good part of everyday skateboarding on the halfpipe, watching the surfers, collecting shells and swimming in the pool. Philip and Paul took us out fishing one day and when we came back they prepared our catch. My oldest says it is ‘the best meal of his life’. Our little girl made fast friends with Philip and Sarah’s daughter. They were able to meet locals and see a life that is far different than what they know or have seen in their travels.

Since the resort is small and a bit off the beaten track, it attracts ‘travelers’ as opposed to ‘tourists’. That along with how Philip, Sarah, Connie, Paul and the staff manage the resort gives the place this really cool sense of community that you only see at truly special places.
We take a big trip every spring and this year we are going BACK to Buena Onda. This is the first time we’ve ever gone to same pace twice – Buena Onda is worth it!

Room Tip: Families should defintiely rent a villa; stop for groceries on the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kstraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    39
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
119
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The pricing, service & location can't be beat. It's a great beautiful and relatively private beach with great amenities inside the compound (clean pool, plenty of chairs, shade & sun). I wish we would've known just how remote it was so that we would've brought more food (and beer) with us. However, the pricing at the on-site restaurant, and how they just add up your tab throughout your stay, made eating and drinking very easy. We didn't have to worry about a thing at Buena Onda. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you're ok without AC (which, in Feb & Mar, we were fine), the standard rooms are just fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sguid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Connie who gave us all the information we needed about Buena Onda. Paul gave us all the information about the various surf beaches in the area. The staff was amazing as was the Villa we rented. We stayed in the Don Pedro villa, which was big and beautiful. It can sleep up to six people. It has a full kitchen, so if you want to do some cooking you should stop at a market along the way. To be honest there is no reason to cook. The food at BO is delicious and a plate can be shared. Fresh fruit and fish everyday and all meals were under 10usd. We did bring coffee and picked up milk and cereal and some snacks for our day trips to other beaches. Pool was refreshing and the hammocks all around the compound makes it a very relaxing and zen atmosphere. I particularly loved the outdoor furniture and decor. I met the owners Phillip and Sarah and they were warm and inviting, making us feel like we were at home. It was a wonderful trip and would highly recommend to anyone , both surfers and non surfers. I will say you just like nature to visit Central America , you have to get used to the little lizards - they are harmless and help keep the bug population down. If you have room in your suitcase try and bring some items for the locals, we brought school supplies for Una Escuelita and some clothes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villa which was worth every penny!! I didn't have the opportunity to see any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBSurfGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Visited this hotel several times during my stay at a nearby property (cheaper accomodation half the price and also on the beach) to eat at their restaurant. Meal was excellent ..four lobster tails for $9.95 is a bargain when one tail costs that price at home in the supermarket!! Also had their cerviche which was wonderful. Not so keen about their wine by the glass but in a place where the surfer residents seem to be all beer drinkers not surprised if a bottle sits open for a few days and in the heat wine does not mature very well!! Otherwise went back a second time just for the lobster. Hotel grounds look lovely well cared for and the beach is a short walk across their adjoining property..and a great beach especially for surfers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I spent 10 days there with a small group of friends and this place had it all. The price was right for the villa and had an incredibly friendly staff. Paul and Connie the managers are great people with an incredible heart.
My only complaint and it's not even a complaint would be to extend the lunch menu. The daily specials are all great dishes but when you don't want it you have to order from the lunch menu.
I ate practically everything on that menu and liked it all but by day 5 I definitely wanted something different. Quesadilla's or something like that would be a great addition.
Overall I highly recommend this place and intend on going back within the year.

Room Tip: For group of 4 and over get the villa. It's private. You'll spend a few extra dollars but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had an excellent week at Buena Onda with my wife, 2 daughters (6 and 8) their grandmother, 71. We rented one of the villas which worked out well. The entry to Buena Onda is a dirt road lined by an amazing row of 60 foot mango trees. Even in the dry season, it feels lush and shaded. The owners have done an excellent job of landscaping, and over the years, it's only going to improve. Attention to detail is superb in all things, including furniture and architecture. The sound of the waves is constant. We had a 4x4, which was useful when driving to the main break and rancho at Popoyo since you drive across sand when taking the short route. The staff was great; highly available and accessible. Food excellent quality. We ate every meal except one at the restaurant, and regretted missing one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Modern, clean & attractive resort. Lovely beach, nice pool & communal areas. Staff are really nice and very helpful. It's a bit more expensive than we anticipated but the standard is very high. It would be nice if there was a communal kitchen as eating out 3 times a day adds up quickly!!

Room Tip: Our room was very warm but when asked fans are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binfrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
15.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
20.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
6.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
21.7 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
5.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Beach Resort

Property: Buena Onda Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santana, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seaside hideaway is just a stones throw from one of Nicaragua's finest beaches, Playa Santana - where our nearest neighbors are grazing cows and howling monkeys. We have superb, consistently breaking, barreling surf right out front. Sunshine, tropical warmth, warm water and off-shore breezes 300+ days a year, comfortable (and affordable!) Accommodation, and most of all, BUENA ONDA (good vibrations) morning, noon and night. Your Swiss hosts, Philip and Sarah, will make sure that you spend your well-deserved holiday hassle free, in style and that you are well looked after during your stay. Come and explore - we'd love to share our little piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Buena Onda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Beach Hotel Tola
Buena Onda Beach Resort Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing