We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Tola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I wasn't even surfing and it was fantastic. Safe, easy, and the vibe was perfect. The food was a bit more expensive than you may expect, but really good and there really aren't a ton of options around. If you want to save money on a long trip, bring snacks like anywhere. Beds were oddly really comfortable and the staff is all amazing and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brantonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    39
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
119
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you want to stay near/around Popoyo and love having the beach all to yourself... look no further stay at Buena Onda Beach Resort which is a 25min beach walk to the actual Popoyo Beach. We were so glad we stayed at Buena Onda/Playa Santana vs Popoyo Beach.

Buena Onda is good for all ages, surfer or non-surfers, beach or pool bums... you get the picture!

Sarah, Filipe and the staff offer family style hospitality in a well groomed and gorgeous grounds fitted with a beautiful pool, restaurant/bar and excellent accommodations.

We stayed in the Asia room. It was a large room with a clean double bed and a massive bathroom with an excellent hot shower!

The food ranged from $5.00 to $10.00 and it was of upmost quality and super delicious. Even though we NEVER got tired of eating there, there are other options walking distance. Like Rancho Santana, a 15min walk up the beach. Rancho Santana is a high end, exclusive resort which only opens for dinner to the general public and you need to make reservations ahead of time. We had Christmas dinner at Rancho Santana and it was worth it.

We also enjoyed eating lunch at a nearby family restaurant on the beach. You can't miss it... it has two boats right in front of it. It is a 5min walk on the beach from Buena Onda. The fried Red Snapper was memorable - YUM!

We also ventured (quite) often to Magnific Rock for sunset Cocktails... A MUST! Lunch was really good and I would recommend the burger and fish tacos! And they make the most amazing & fresh Pina Colada! BEST EVER in all my travels.

Buena Onda also organizes tours in/around the area... ask them for details and venture out of the resort as that area is stunning!

I want to thank Buena Onda for hosting an spectacular x-mas eve dinner (family style) for all the guests. It's a memorable one!

Also, on Christmas Day, Filipe and Sarah (the owners) gave all their guests a "x-mas loot bag". I great indication of how amazing these hosts truly are.

If you travel from Managua, make sure you use Buena Onda's drivers and try to travel during the day as you miss a lot of the scene and at one point it is a bumpy, curvy road to Buena Onda. Having said that, the driver was skilled, professional and I felt very safe!

I would go back in a flash... no questions asked! I miss the deserted beach and watching the skilled surfers... but most of all Alana, the resident toddler who is absolutely adorable!

Step outside your box and travel to NICA! One of the best places on earth!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

great hotel in a great location. Seemed a little pricey compared to other Nica options but when you weigh the benefits and comfort it's totally worth it. Very secure, safe, welcoming place. Owner are great. Great surfing options steps from the gate. Board rentals there are slightly limited, as is rentals anywhere in the area. Bring your own if you're picky! Food is delicious, although their are a few cheaper options down the beach towards Rancho Santana. Magnific Rock is a short walk and well worth it, especially for sunset. If you take a cab from Managua, and arent going in rainy season or bringing boards, use a Managua cab company instead of the Santana/Popoyo company that charges 120. I used Nica Roads and it cost 85

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0n_the_road_again62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Buena Onda was amazing!!!! We spent five nights and four days at this resort and still ran out of time. Philip, Sarah, Conny, and Paul did a wonderful job making all their guests feel comfortable. The food served was a great value but the overall atmosphere was even better. I loved how close we became with the other guests during our time.
The rooms let in enough light each morning that you couldn't miss a minute on the beach. We were up by 630 am every morning. If you are a surfer the Santana beach offers nice waves (way above my ability). And for beginners the beach below Magnific rock (15 minute walk) is perfect to work on your surfing skills. Best of all- this place is still off the tourist map. I almost don't want to say too much, because I would love to keep it a secret.
The best part of my stay here was the turtle trip! As a science teacher I loved watching baby sea turtles emerge from the sand and begin their first journey to the sea. I can't believe some people are stealing theses eggs. But Paul made several trips to the turtle beach so we could all (most of the guests while I was there) be part of the conservation process.

Thanks for an amazing experience!

Room Tip: If you want a single room book early! This place is great and fills up quick. If you are thinking ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yva_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We looked around on line for awhile before we decided on Buena Onda, and then after doing a day trip of checking out the other beaches we confirmed that Buena Onda is the best combination of resort facilities -- clean rooms with hot showers, strong fans and fresh air, wifi (though a little weak -- book Asia or close to it), cool, swimable pool (with a proper deep end -- nice break from the wind and sand), nice long beach (I was able to walk one hour south RT and two hours north RT) and good, easy to get meals -- all without resort excess and prices. Connie, Sarah, Phillip and Paul all go out of their way to do all that they can for you, and they draw a wonderful clientele -- people came and went, as did we, and all were friendly and engaging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed 3 nights at this resort and will be coming back again soon. Can't say enough good things about this place - it was like being at an all-inclusive without all of the all-inclusive nonesense. We were well looked after by Connie, Paul, Phillip and Sarah at various points during our stay - the other staff were friendly, attentive and made for a comfortable stay. The property itself is wonderfully laid out between the different types of accommodations, pool and main palapa for food and drinks. Our room was clean, spacious and nicely finished right down to the stunning shower fixture made from a massive piece of wood. Buena Onda is ideally located along a gorgeous stretch of beach making for textbook sunset watching, long beach walks and plenty of waves to frolick in for us non-surfers.

We are already looking forward to our next trip to this lovely piece of paradise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The title of this review is a direct quote from Conny the manager at Buena Onda. She's right. This resort, owned by a Swiss couple, has the cleanliness, attention to detail, and operational efficiency you'd expect from the Swiss. However all this goes on with a relaxed, friendly vibe. So you will chill, surf, swim in the pool, or have one of their great meals and enjoy the hard work that has obviously gone into this resort. Thank you Conny, Paul, and all the excellent staff in the kitchen, the wait staff, room maintenance and landscaping. We had a wonderful week.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
15.2 mi away
No photo provided
6.1 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
586 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
318 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
372 reviews
5.6 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Beach Resort

Property: Buena Onda Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santana, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seaside hideaway is just a stones throw from one of Nicaragua's finest beaches, Playa Santana - where our nearest neighbors are grazing cows and howling monkeys. We have superb, consistently breaking, barreling surf right out front. Sunshine, tropical warmth, warm water and off-shore breezes 300+ days a year, comfortable (and affordable!) Accommodation, and most of all, BUENA ONDA (good vibrations) morning, noon and night. Your Swiss hosts, Philip and Sarah, will make sure that you spend your well-deserved holiday hassle free, in style and that you are well looked after during your stay. Come and explore - we'd love to share our little piece of paradise with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Buena Onda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Beach Hotel Tola
Buena Onda Beach Resort Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing