We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Iguana
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The best ever over the Americas if you are thinking about spa, relax, surfing, enjoy beach and sun and golf. This is not an hotel and that is because you will be dissapointed if you are looking for finest service. There are not a deluxe restaurant, no a fitness center, but you will have internet. I think is the best in central america and caribean for relax. Come with your family. Come with your car o rent a car. Bing your basic meals in order to cook it or eat in the average restaurants. If you think in the best experience for relaxing come here. If you think in the best service go to a 5 star hotel (Granada or San Juan del Sur).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GERARDO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
28
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place, hard to access is not what you want to see of Nicaragua.
They own the whole beach and it's all big condos American style.
You barely see Nica life around. Great beach, sure, but I do not recommend it. Do not go unless you absolutely want to surf Colorado.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joannnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We rented a GOLF CONDO and had a very similar experience to another reviewer- “worst service ever - rude administration- scam specialists”

It is important to note that the Golf Condos are a seperatly owned (Augusto Montelegre) and operated from the rest of the Hacienda Iguana Resort. Hacienda Iguana has beautiful homes and condos that are ocean front and professionally managed. Rent these, not golf condos!

During our stay we also met other travelers who were experiencing the same problems (w/ the Golf Condos) as Ana C. wrote in her review- washer and dryer promised and not provided, internet promised and not provided. We were promised a battery backup, which was not provided.

Our experience was summed up at check out; we were charged for items they said we broke, or were missing. They also attempted to refuse to return our security deposit! After literally three hours of a check out process I did get the secuity deposit (minus the absurd charges for missing or broken items).

During our stay we learned that the Golf Condos are known to be scammers. We were told that some of the golf condo units are owned independently, but the management will not inform the owners when their unit is rented and pocket the money. Please keep in mind this is hearsay, but from my experience wouldn't surprise me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Surf431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the entire month of March at Villas Iguana and are already making plans to go back next year. We made numerous connections with other renters onsite and everyone there was having a great time! I agree with Roslyn S from Nicaraguas reveiw. The property manager/unit you have make a HUGE difference in the quality of your stay. We also had Seth and Lindsey as our property managers and could not have been happier! Any small issue we had was taken care of right away by Seth. One has to remember this area is a littlle bit remote and you must purchase supplies or food in Managua or Rivas before arriving. We "supplied up" in Managua at the La Colonia which we highly recommend and went into Rivas once in a month for more, as you can purchase lobster, fish, fruits and vegetables locally and the vendors will deliver to your unit! Seth supplied us with the appropriate phone numbers. Don't count on the local "restuarant" and "sports bar" for food - see other reviews. The electricity also goes off now and again, along with the internet, but this is Nicaragua and one just needs to go with the flow. As far as surfing goes, I never found the surf "crowded" as per one reviewer, but this was March. One day at Pangas there were 15 people surfing, and they were spread out. Jack, who lives there and also owns a condo, commented that was quite busy for Pangas. Colorados was about the same, maybe 20 surfing, but spread out even more, so I never had an issue with a crowded lineup at Iguanas. This beach area at Iguana is also a great place for a walk, as at low tide, you can easily walk the 1.5 miles of beach. In closing, I highly recommend this area, as it is just a great place to live that healthy Nica lifestyle!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDS_SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have been a renter in the Playa Iguana condos for the past 2 years. I love it here here. The condo unit I live in is clean simple and spacious. It has all the amenities I need to live comfortably - TV/DVD, good sized fridge, washer/dryer, AC, fans, cleaning service and swimming pool access to name just some. The walk to the beach is short - five minutes or fewer. And the beach is as good as it gets. I have had an excellent experience with the managers in particular Gema and Augusto Montealegre. When things break they make sure they are fixed in a timely manner. I have access to great surfing, golf and fishing. I highly recommend anyone planning a trip to Nicaragua to consider Hacienda Iguana and the Playa Iguana condos.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelontreadlightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

A few years ago I spent my christmas holiday vacations at this place. It was then administered by nice, honest people.
Last Christmas, my family and I decided to spend an entire week for new years holidays. We reserved and were told that we had to pay 50% of the total service in advance....we paid.
When we checked in at the hotel, they charged the rest of the bill (the other 50%) without informing us.
Before we arrived I had asked for internet connection. Administrator (Augusto Montelegre) guaranteed that we would have a connection. We arrived and there was no internet connection anywhere.
It is important to mention that we rented 3 condos. In one of the condos, neither the refrigerator, nor the washer worked. The administrator sent some people to do the proper fixing, with no success. Washer and Refrigerator never worked.
When we did our check out and they went in the condos to do the inventory.
A guy named Marcelo who was supposed to be the supervisor, yelled at us and accused us of stealing a dvd player (that was actually never there, or at least not there when we checked in).
We refused to pay for the dvd player since we obviously did not steal it.
A few weeks after we realized that they had not only charge $70 that we assume are for the stolen/lost dvd player + $30 dollars that we have no clue....
Agusto Montealegre never showed up, did not respond emails nor phone calls.
A real SCAM AND DISASTER. NOT RECOMMENDABLE. WORST SERVICE AND ADMINISTRATION EVER.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Upon arrival we were immediately enchanted by the cared for look and laid back vibe of Hacienda Iguana's grounds. The golf course has been thoughtfully designed and is well maintained, the beach is spectacular and the waves incredible for surfing, body surfing and swimming. Then there is the beach club pool which served as an excellent wading pool for our 2 year old but beware, the Club House's food was inedible and exorbitantly priced... the only let down we experienced.

When discussing the accommodations at Hacienda Iguana, the first thing to say is that not all condos are equal. There are numerous different developments within the Hacienda Iguana gated-community including Iguana Villas, Golf Condos, Golf Townhouses, Rio Dulce Villas and privately owned residences. All appear to be independently owned and managed. Some owners care more than others do about their property which translates into vastly different interiors and vibes. Moreover, some property managers do a far better job at managing the property than others. My husband, daughter and I stayed at Colorado Surf Condo owned by Maggie and managed by Seth and Lindsey. This condo is an example of owners who care and property managers who know how to do their job well. FYI, this condo is located in the development called, Rio Dulce Villas and is advertised on the web using the name 'Colorado Surf Condo'.

Maggie, has done a great job furnishing the 2-bed/2-bath condo in an elegant yet comfortable manner. It did not feel like a vacation rental in the typical sense but rather a stylish apartment where we were able to cook for ourselves and revitalize after a grueling day of swimming, golfing and general sight seeing. The condo is located on the ground floor so the porch seamlessly blends with the manicured garden in front which in turn morphs into a golf practice area which in turn meets the white sands of Colorado beach!!! Amazingly beautiful!!

All in all, we had a GREAT time and are now even considering purchasing a property within the community... a true testament to how much we enjoyed our visit! Thank you Maggie for all of your help in arranging our getaway and congratulations on your vision. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
2.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
2.1 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.9 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
18.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Iguana

Property: Hacienda Iguana
Address: Tola, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Iguana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Iguana Hotel Tola
Hacienda Iguana Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing