We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall fantastic... golf, sand and surf...it doesn't get much better!”
Review of Hacienda Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Iguana
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overall fantastic... golf, sand and surf...it doesn't get much better!”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Upon arrival we were immediately enchanted by the cared for look and laid back vibe of Hacienda Iguana's grounds. The golf course has been thoughtfully designed and is well maintained, the beach is spectacular and the waves incredible for surfing, body surfing and swimming. Then there is the beach club pool which served as an excellent wading pool for our 2 year old but beware, the Club House's food was inedible and exorbitantly priced... the only let down we experienced.

When discussing the accommodations at Hacienda Iguana, the first thing to say is that not all condos are equal. There are numerous different developments within the Hacienda Iguana gated-community including Iguana Villas, Golf Condos, Golf Townhouses, Rio Dulce Villas and privately owned residences. All appear to be independently owned and managed. Some owners care more than others do about their property which translates into vastly different interiors and vibes. Moreover, some property managers do a far better job at managing the property than others. My husband, daughter and I stayed at Colorado Surf Condo owned by Maggie and managed by Seth and Lindsey. This condo is an example of owners who care and property managers who know how to do their job well. FYI, this condo is located in the development called, Rio Dulce Villas and is advertised on the web using the name 'Colorado Surf Condo'.

Maggie, has done a great job furnishing the 2-bed/2-bath condo in an elegant yet comfortable manner. It did not feel like a vacation rental in the typical sense but rather a stylish apartment where we were able to cook for ourselves and revitalize after a grueling day of swimming, golfing and general sight seeing. The condo is located on the ground floor so the porch seamlessly blends with the manicured garden in front which in turn morphs into a golf practice area which in turn meets the white sands of Colorado beach!!! Amazingly beautiful!!

All in all, we had a GREAT time and are now even considering purchasing a property within the community... a true testament to how much we enjoyed our visit! Thank you Maggie for all of your help in arranging our getaway and congratulations on your vision. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
28
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pownal, ME
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I was here for 10 days and every day was packed with things to do. Hiking over to Playa de Gigante for fine seafood without the pretense, surf casting off the southern point, body surfing on the Colorado surf break, partying with the locals at the Beach Club and a quiet round of golf during the cooler part of the day before the spectacular sunsets show off their vibrant colors at Iguana's private pure white sandy beach. The great thing about this laid back resort is that it's smack dab in the middle of other interesting resorts in the Tola Region that one can visit easily like Rancho Santana or the town of Popoyo to the north and our neighbors to the south like the funky town of Playa de Gigante or the more upscale spa- Aqua Wellness Center where you can enjoy a session of Yoga with beach views!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We have spent the last month at a VRBO condo at Hacienda Iguana. The whole development is beautiful. The beach is spectacular to walk, swim, surf. The golf course is well manicured and pretty to walk around although we do not play golf. The place is quiet. There is not much of a night life here. There is one bar and two cafes. The menus are limited. We have gone to Rivas to shop for food and cook at our rental. Love this place hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2011

The best project in Nicaragua. The quality of their condos and service made me feel like a King..!!!! please come to Nicaragua and Visit Hacienda Iguana. the beach and sunset is beutiful!!!!! more info I got in www.haciendaiguana.com

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Firstly, the beach & surfing, as well as the golf course, are beautiful. Very quiet & clean & safe - but all of this was not enough to make up for the absolute worst service and management we have ever encountered anywhere in our lives.
We rented a condo across from the golf course for one yr and ended up breaking our lease and leaving after 4 months because of the horrendous management.
After 16 hours of travel we finally arrived at our condo only to be told our suite did not have electricity, and did not have a generator even though the website SAYS IT DOES - we ended up without power for 3 days and all of the groceries we purchased on our way to our condo rotted. The only thing management did for us was bring us some candles. B/c of the power outage the sidewalk and entry leading to our door was dug up and we had workers noisily trying to "fix" the problem for 3 WEEKS.
Also, the pool turned green and was taped off and not usable for the entire last 2 months we were there.
The groundsmen were totally unprofessional and stared and tried flirting with me at every time my bf was not by my side. After the 1st time the maids came in they did such a horrible job I had to fight with the owners to explain why I never wanted them to come back even though cleaning service was included in our rent. We also had a termite infestation while there.
Every day the maids and groundsmen took their lunch break right outside our condo - sometimes even breaking in our chairs on our patio! And each time they were loud, obnoxious, screaming, and completely ruined any peace and quiet you could hope for.
Our plumbing once went out - we had no running water, no working toilet. Instead of temporarily moving us to one of the hundreds of empty suites (which we begged for), Gema, the very young manager with zero experience, and daughter of one of the owners of the property, told us she couldn't get someone to fix it for 2 days and that in the meantime we should knock on her door to use her toilet and shower. !!!
The website for this property is nothing but lies! It says there is free wireless internet throughout the grounds but when we arrived we were told there was NO INTERNET ANYWHERE! Then we were forced to "rent" an internet card from Gema at a cost of $60 per month! The website also says there is "fine dining" - which apparently means a sports bar that has 2 things on the menu - wings and overpriced pizza.
When it came time for us to move out, rather than simply doing a count of dishes etcetera as was done when we initially moved in, Gema had herself, her bf, 5 maids, and 2 security guards swarm the condo with a fine tooth comb so they could accuse us of damage which was already there when we moved in. Her bf then blocked our exit with a golf cart and refused to let us leave until we paid $800 in damages that we did not do. B/c we had hired a driver to move us to our new place and had our pets waiting in the stifling hot car we were forced to do as she said, the whole time her yelling at us and saying she "didn't trust us".
Finally when we got out of there, our driver told us many stories about how Hacienda Iguana was hated by many local ppl and that many investors had been scammed, and that he had heard tons of bad things about the place, which after the time we had is absolutely no surprise.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank roxythegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Didn't have that great of an experience here... they had the price of our reservation wrong, wanted us to pay in cash for the room, and then unapologetically gave us the condo next to the bar which had a weird smell. They promised that it would be quiet after 10pm, but it wasn't. One afternoon after spending time at the beach, my cousin ordered an ice cream... but when it came, she didn't eat it because it had obviously melted and been re-frozen. On New Year's Eve, I had the seafood special... it was pretty gross, the lobster, fish, and shrimp were all drenched in a weird ranch- like sauce. The rest of our party stayed in one of the beach houses... it was nice, but the maid was waxing the floor with something like Crisco and ants were pretty prevalent.

All this aside, the beach here is amazing. I could sit and watch a sunset there every night. So I have to say that I might be willing to put up with all of the other junk just to spend time there again.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneSmith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR EXPENSIVE REAL ESTATE AND CROWDED BEACH BREAK SURF, LOOK NO FURTHER!

Iguanas is a private gated development located in the "NIcaraguan Rivera" - 3 + hours drive from Managua (last 40 min on dirt road). We stayed at the Condos directly on the beach, 5 min walk to Ponga Drops surf break, 15min to Colorado.

There are NO Services currently functional in the Iguanas Development (other than a golf course and a small resturant built in the very back of property-10 min walk away from beach). The onsite rental agency does NOT accept credit cards, the nearest bank-ATM 40 min drive on dirt road.

Beach front condos are nice inside (VERY expensive at 200-250 a night), however no amenites avail in complex other than a pool.
If you are coming here you are paying to be staying directly on the beach.

**There are NO stores in area, you must bring all food in and fill up on gas in Rivas.

However, if you are coming to surf, be warned the breaks here are VERY busy. I found out during my stay that the real reason they call the surf break ponga drops is that every 5 min another ponga shows up and drops off another boat load of surfers.

The vibe here can be wierd as the everyone who comes to this area is looking for uncrowded world class surf. The surf in this area can be very fun, however, be warned there are a lot of people surfing in this area. One day I counted 5 pongas moored at ponga drops, along with all the people staying at the the large group surf rental houses (Mark &Brians & NSR house to name a few) and dont forget to add the people staying at Iguanas Beach condos and everyone else who lives in area, and it makes for a crowded lineup.

It is a nice beach with fun surf, but does not live up to what Iguanas is charging top dollar for.

  • Liked — Location on Beach
  • Disliked — Price and lack of services for price paid
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank HawaiianStyle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
2.6 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
2.1 mi away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.9 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
18.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Iguana

Property: Hacienda Iguana
Address: Tola, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Iguana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hacienda Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Iguana Hotel Tola
Hacienda Iguana Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing