We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domina Zagarella Sicily
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Flavia
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here as our final destination on a tour of Italy. We chose it beacuse of the reviews and also the the stunning pictures on the website. We got off the train and expected a few taxis it was a ghost town we hadnt a clue where we were going. We walked to a little cafe and asked the man there how to get to our hotel. Luckily he had English and told us. We started our trek in the blistering heat to the hotel. A tip for anyone would be to contact the hotel and arrange a taxi as with suitcases and bags its too much! We were greated by the reception staff they were so friendly and gave us a great welcome. We chose a room with a sea view and it is def worth paying that bit extra. The view from our balcony was amazing! The room itself was nice we were on the red floor- each floor has a different meaning ours was show cars. On our first night there we had a slight problem we wrote a letter to the manager and it was dealt with in the most efficient and professional way. Eleana the manager met us in person and we were given VIP treatment. She did everything she could to ensure that we had the most enjoyable stay possible. This showed us that this hotel management put customer service and satisfaction first. There are 3 swimming pools. The one in the main area is quite noisy and there are alot of children there. We chose to go down the steps to the other pool and the sun loungers that overlook the sea. This location is so peaceful and relaxing. There is a diving centre that organises scuba diving unfortunatly we were going home the day of the next trip so didnt get to try this out. We ate in the restaurant and the food was outstanding, beautifully presented and the taste was mouthwatering. We passed by the buffet however the look of this food did not appeal to us. The reception staff organised a taxi for us to the airport for 60 euro. However we noticed that other people on our flight were staying at the hotel. 3 seperate groups (of 2) going to the airport at the same time went in 3 mini busses that could hold 8 or more...this seemed a bit silly. Overall we had a fantastic time in this hotel and would def return to should we visit sicily again!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SarahBridget87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lovely situated on a hill with two pools by the main building and stairs leading down to the next pool area and the Lido. Breakfast a bit on the sweet side but otherwise good. Clean spacious rooms with free, but slow, WiFi. 7 euro per day for parking. A bit expensive to eat and drink at the hotel but there are quite a few good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrinHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this Hotel. I have to say the Hotel is very spacious, very clean, well air conditioned. Room was modern, great sea view, great bathroom ( apart from the Glass door ). Being half sicilian i am used to good food, well unfortunately this wasnt the case here, being a four star hotel the food was not very good at all. The food we had was very expensive!! The bar staff were not friendly and i waited quite along time before i got served, whilst others that arrived after me were being served before myself, this happened alot and to others. One thing that wasnt told to us was that you must not hang any towels or swim wear over the balcony, if you do you get a visit from a man who is very intrusive.. We had an early flight and my boys had gone to the pool and we had a sleep in the afternoon to be woken up by someone banging on the door and when i opened the door he just spoke at me as if i was nothing!! The Reception staff are very friendly and helpful shame the rest of the staff werent,
Reading the other reviews i agree you do need a car, we felt prisoners here.. The local area is run down, but for me i was visiting family. The pool is great though and is cleaned every day and during the day. Would of be good to have coffee making facilities in the room as i did get fed up of waiting for a drink!!!! Won't return to this Hotel again, shame as it could improve..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were there in July 2012 and rented 2 villa's with view on the sea. Zagarella is an ocean of peace and rest. I loved the very friendly staff (from cleaning to reception, porter, etc...) For diner we chose the nearby Baja de Fenice at walking distance (same owner as Resto in Zagarella, but much better and cheaper food) . The hotel, the rooms, the villas, pools and infrastructure are very clean, modern and safe (important for kids). We took part in some of the superb excursions and enjoyed every second of our stay. Definitely a place to visit !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We will finish our stay in hotel in couple of days, but all I can say about hotel is that whoever commes will really enjoy. Although it does't look so big hotel is quite big. We booked one of the villas in the hotel, it is not really villa, but it is separated room, quite spacious, looking like small house, but with amazing view. It worths every penny :). Parking is very convinient and reasonably priced. 
The only thing missing is better variety and service when it commes to food. If they make one more small step and make service (waiters) go arround beach and pool area, i would give excellent to this hotel. 
Breakfast can be a bit more adopted to italian food, more cheese and local hams. 
Aside of this small remarks hotels is excellent and I would definetelly come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagarella, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domina Zagarella Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Sinisa D, we are so grateful to you for your valuable review. Our hotel accommodates guests from all over the world and we try to please everyone’s taste offering a various breakfast buffet. Thank you for your precious idea, which might come in handy as we are constantly looking for innovation, in order to garantee an unforgettable holiday to our customers. It’s great that you’ve enjoyed your stay at the Domina Home Zagarella and we’ll be glad to welcome you again in our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

After thorough research we decided on this hotel. The hotel is very nicely decorated. The only downfall to the decor is the glass door for the bathroom. If someone needs to use the bathroom in the middle of the night the light is bright enough to wake the others in the room. An eye mask could solve that problem. The buffet "special dinner" was not that great. The worst for me is that we had a late check in - after 9 p.m. and the front desk told us about the dinner. We arrived because the front desk told us that it was still available - we didn't even ask about it -and the waitstaff had to scramble to pull out a table for us and then the food was not replenished and we were left unsatisfied and still hungry. The breakfast was great and sufficient. I would stay here again and not participate in the special dinner especially because there is a restaurant right near the hotel that is reasonably priced and quiet good. The pools are great as are the bathrooms outside. The staff will want you to put all purchases on your room which was annoying one time because I didn't want to. We traveled by car to Palermo, Mt. Etna and Corleone. I recommend a rental car if you stay here as there isn't much to do near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagarella, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domina Zagarella Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear amyknows, we are pleased that you chose our hotel for your vacation. Thank you for appreciating the hotel’s interior design, where each detail is taken into consideration. It’s of vital importance to choose the right material keeping intact balance between beauty and utility.
It’s great to know that you enjoyed your breakfast, although, it’s a pity that you arrived too late for dinner to appreciate the variety of dishes and food quality. We are glad that you tried local Sicilian food and we hope that next time you stay in our hotel you’ll visit any of the two hotel’s restaurants. The staff try to do their best to guarantee a carefree stay to our guests, charging for the services at the time of checkout. Anyway, a client is free to pay the service at any time he/she wants.
The hotel’s location allows you to enjoy the peacefulness and natural beauty of the surroundings. You can walk to the archaeological site Solunto or visit the wine cellar “Cantine Corvo”, although renting a car might be your best option for independent exploring.
Thank you for your time to leave us your comment and you are always welcome to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The decor and style of the hotel is cool. Very different. However we found the staff unhelpful. They seemed to tolerate guests. Also the dinner options were not good quality (either the buffet or the a la carte)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPSoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagarella, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Domina Zagarella Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear JPSoshea, thank you very much for leaving us your comment. The thematic hotel room design is made to create an ideal atmosphere for a relaxing holiday. Our mission is to offer an exceptional holiday experience in a welcoming and elegant environment with attention to providing high quality service to our guests. Thus, we pay particular attention to continuous training and professional development of our staff.
We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel design and we hope you’ll visit us next time you are in Sicily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Flavia
57.9 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
56.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
39.4 mi away
Hotel Baglio di Scopello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
120.4 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
124.8 mi away
Hotel Village Suvaki
Hotel Village Suvaki
#1 of 17 in Pantelleria
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domina Zagarella Sicily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domina Zagarella Sicily

Address: Via Nazionale 77, 90017 Santa Flavia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Santa Flavia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Flavia
Price Range: $124 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domina Zagarella Sicily 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Domina Zagarella Sicily expresses a fresh and surprising style, who took inspiration from the sparkling era known as “La Dolce Vita”. The result is exclusive and charming, thanks to the special location and unique atmosphere. With a privileged position on the coast of Palermo, just 15 km from the city centre, Domina Zagarella Sicily counts with 330 rooms with all comforts, most of them with sea-view, and 38 villas plunged into the lush Mediterranean vegetation, perfect for an upscale guest. Exclusive services as the “La Zagara” Restaurant, real pride of Domina Zagarella Sicily, hosted in a warm and unique dining room designed with a special touch, some remarkable lounges as “D Club”, where our guests can enjoy a private food experience, “The Positano” pool bar & Piezzeria, a wonderful starting point for a journey to discover the best spirits and food labels of this territory. This experience is enriched by a wide choice of gourmet delights at the “Capo Zafferano Restaurant & Terrace”, direct over the sea, to enhance and harmonize the tasting of an excellent glass of wine with the best local seafood. To complete the offer our Private sea-shore & sea-pool area where our guests can swim and relax with a drink from the Lounge Bar, enjoying the breathtaking view, comfortably lying on their chaise-longues. To be part of the Domina Zagarella Sicily experience, discover also the Fitness room, the Tennis and Beach-volley Courts, the Diving Centre for sea-lovers and the Kids’ Club for the youngest. Domina Zagarella Sicily renews also its long-standing reputation for the MICE market with a balanced offer of 8 large meeting rooms and many break-outs, indoor and outdoor exhibition spaces for events up to 900 persons in total for meetings, banqueting and gala dinners: the maximum flexibility and expertise for Clients needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domina Zagarella Sicily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Zagarella Hotel Santa Flavia
Hotel Zagarella Sea Palace
Zagarella Sea Palace Hotel
Domina Zagarella Sicily Santa Flavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing